We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hermitage Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels(Mt. Cook Village)
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Lake Matheson Motel(Fox Glacier)
US$92
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook(Mt. Cook Village)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,195)
Filter reviews
2,195 results
Traveller rating
703
799
455
161
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
703
799
455
161
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspanorama restaurantpremium roompanorama roombuffet dinnernew zealandmount cookthe main hotela la carteaoraki wingtop floorwakefield wingbuffet stylepublic areasglacier explorerssir edmund hillaryhotel roomamazing views
Filter
Updating list...
1,095 - 1,100 of 2,195 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is my second visit to The Hermitage. When I first visited in 2003 a number of things were included in the cost of a Premium room and the property felt special. This time, nothing was included in the Premium room tariff (not even WiFi) and the whole property felt like a pit stop for bus tours. I would like to see this property offer something for the high end tourist, perhaps a day spa (?) Otherwise I would suggest the backpackers...we ate there, as both restaurants at The Hermitage were booked because of tours and were lucky enough to check out one of the rooms. The view is just as cool and the beds just as comfortable. Save your money for the wine at Mt Cook which is very costly at both the backpackers pub and The Hermitage.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Kim N

Thank you for returning to our property and for posting your review on Tripadvisor.com. Your thoughts and feelings are well noted and I’m happy as it fits with our plans moving forward in reviewing our offerings. Our location and its high costs limit us somewhat to revert quickly, but we do continuously strive to search for more costs effective options so as to help facilitate any changes we plan. Case in point our bed/bedding which you experienced, were upgraded to add comfort as we wanted our guest to have a great sleep as the journey in and out to Mt Cook can be quite long and the many outdoor activities we provide can tire one out.
Thank you very much for giving us the time for some great feedback it is much appreciated by the team.

Rodney Young
Executive Assistant Manager
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mt Cook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Having splashed out on this particular leg of our trip, we were looking forward to a special experience and a bit of luxury. Sadly the hotel seems to rely solely on its spectacular surroundings. Our room was no better furnished or equipped than in places where we had paid half the price, but had the view of Mount Cook. The bar was a rather gloomy space that served as a thoroughfare to the restaurant, not somewhere for a chat over a leisurely drink. The service was perfunctory with one or two exceptions in the area where they dealt with bookings for excursions, where people were very helpful. We had booked, months in advance, a meal in the Panorama Restaurant, but the booking was made for the wrong day and the promised call to advise us that it was sorted never came, leading to some treatment at the restaurant desk that first evening that bordered on rude, though we did get an apology afterwards. Not the mark of a well-run hotel and we felt that the staff were not performing as a team. The view and the food in the Alpine Restaurant were both better than in the much more expensive Panorama Restaurant. Mount Cook Village is a wonderful spot to stay in but we would have had the same access to walks and excursions had we stayed in one of the more modest establishments there, and the same view though not directly out of our window.

Room Tip: Paying for the Mount Cook view is possibly overrated, unless your experience of being among mountains is very limited.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Anne F

Thank you for taking your time to post your comments on line, we appreciate your thoughts and I sincerely regret that you were not overly satisfied with your recent stay. I will personally look into your reservation issue and experiences in the restaurant, which some what surprises me as especially in the Panorama restaurant the comments on service are often very positive. I am delighted that the team activities desk was able to provide better service for you and I will pass your nice comments on to them.

Thanks again for your thoughts it give us some focus areas as we move forward.

Rodney Young
Executive Assistant Manager
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mt Cook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is drab, old but they hugely cash in on the fact that it's located amidst beautiful surrounds. But the service itself is cold & clinical, food is average and they aren't customer oriented. Best bet would be to stay elsewhere you can drive on your own to take in the views. Not worth paying the earth for this service which actually adds no real value to the overall experience!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Tee432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Tee432
We appreciate the time you have taken in giving us feedback on trip advisor. It is very disappointing to know that our service and our facilities were not able to meet your expectations during your stay with us. Your comments are very important and I have already shared your comments with the entire team to make sure that we can focus our training.
Once again thank you for sharing your constructive comments.

Rodney Young
Executive Assistant Manger
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mt Cook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We arrived expecting a great hotel and were not disappointed. The reception service was excellent and they were quick to change our room when it was clear the room was unsuitable. The room was spacious and comfortable. The buffet style dinner and breakfast were more than adequate with a wide variety of well prepared dishes. Bar service was a little slow and the view would be improved if the windows were cleaned. Overall a good experience

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJandR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear DJandR
We are delighted that you had a great stay with us at the Hermitage Mt Cook and thank you for your compliments on our service and facilities. I am delighted to see that we were able to react quickly to your room change needs and the buffet suited your tastes.
I will definitely address with the bar team on their service sped and the window are cleaned regularly but due to the weather can be soiled soon after.
Thanks you again for sharing your encouraging comments and I will be great motivation for the team.
Rodney Young
Executive Assistant Manger
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mt Cook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed in one of the self-contained units (like duplexes) walking distance to all the facilities (restaurant/cafeteria in main lodge); you can park your car right up to the unit. The unit was clean and well-stocked for all your needs and the price is right. If you want to stay in the village and are not looking for a hotel full of rooms and people then try this option. The back of the unit had a sitting area with views of Mt. Cook or at least one of the many snow-capped mountains. Just gorgeous.

Room Tip: Get a room on the end.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear julede2014.

We are extremely grateful for your nice feedback you have left for us! Very happy that you enjoyed your time at Mt Cook and you enjoyed the great views surrounding the hotel.
Glad you were able to try our self-contained units motels or Chalet, they are defiantly the prefect option for those travelling with a family.

Thanks again.

Rodney Young
Executive Assistant Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews