We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing for a major milestone.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hermitage Hotel
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing for a major milestone.”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The hotel is located in an exceptional place. Beauty surrounds. My wife and I have stayed at the hotel in 2011 to attend a wedding and had a room on the 7th floor in the Aoraki Wing. For my 40th we decided to go for the premium plus room Autumn Stays package with a room on the 10th floor which included dinner and breakfast in the buffet restaurant. The package price $590 for the night. For that premium price, premium service is generally expected.

Check in was ok but the receptionist was not aware our booking was a package and made no mention of the meal inclusions until after being questioned. It felt as though this information was not on the system.

The room itself was on the 10th floor and the view was outstanding. Having stayed 3 floors lower only 3 years ago I did not see that the view was at all any different and definitely not worth the premium.

As a surprise my wife ordered a birthday cake to be delivered to our dinner table at a certain time. 15 minutes after it was due it had not arrived and my wife went to enquire where it was. Before she got back to the table, and with only two people in our party of 8 at the table, a waiter delivered the birthday cake to the table, without candles, and placed it in front of the my sister in law and said, "here's your cake", even though the cake had written on it, "Happy 40th Birthday Mark". Very disappointing. On leaving the restaurant we were required to sign for the full price of dinner to be charged to our room as the restaurant had no knowledge of our accommodation package and just advised we would have to take it up with reception on our departure.

The room facilities were of a higher quality than a standard room but again I would not recommend anyone to pay for the premium or premium plus rooms as the price premium is not justified.

The following morning we arrived at breakfast and we were advised that our package included the continental breakfast only. For the price a fully cooked breakfast should have been included.

Overall we believe the hotel is ok to stay at but the service is quite lacking and process improvement needs to be improved and more inclusions to make the higher priced rooms, value for money.

Room Tip: Do not go for anything but the standard rooms as the premium rooms do not offer anything over the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear MarkG.
Thank you for returning back to the Hermitage Hotel, Aoraki Mt Cook and I am very disappointed that we did not reach your expectations. I am glad you did enjoy your stay on our 10th floor; I would like to explain further the value in staying on this floor vs. a 7th floor room, the 10th floor with the higher elevation does not give you a big difference in view of the mountain itself, but the view you do receive a more natural - cleaner, as you receive a less of a view of the hotel complex and lower landscape. The 10th floor rooms also are provide with increased amenities, complimentary Wi-Fi, additional linen and bathroom apparel and these items are of higher quality (increased thread), coffee machine and larger television size are the major differences. Hope that helps to clarify the two room types for you.
Regarding the your comments on your stay, I have personally investigated and would like to apologise for any negative experiences that you received and I have already provided retraining to ensure service remains to our normally high standards.
Again we appreciate your constructive comments and hope we have an opportunity to restore your faith in our hospitality and welcome you back to the Hermitage Mt Cook in the future.

Rodney Young
Executive Assistant Manger
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mt Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    696
    409
    144
    62
See reviews for
375
1,130
77
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
255 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed here as part of a tour for one night. Internet available for a fee. Washers/Dryers available for a fee. Great view from my balcony. Beds comfortable. Dinner at the hotel restaurant was buffet style with lots of choices but very long lines. The hotel does have a lot of tour groups, so it does get crowded.

Room Tip: I was in room 241 and it was a far walk to reception and the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millie4t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear millie4t

Thank you for taking time to convey your feedback on your recent visit to the Hermitage hotel Aoraki Mt Cook. Glad you found our beds comfortable and were able to experience the great view of the scenic landscape surrounding the hotel from your room’s balconies.
Our buffet is always a highlight for many guests especially the tour groups; unfortunately they do tend to eat at the same time so the buffet counters can be a little congested when they first start their dinner. Also tours tend to eat earlier so to avoid the rush of people, best is a delay dinner for 30-45 minutes with a pre-dinner drink, a fantastic option would be our Snowline bar with its large open wood fire, the perfect place as winter approaches.
Hope your trip to New Zealand was a great one and welcome you back in the future Mt Cook.
Thank You

Rodney Young
Executive Assistant Manager
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mt Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The stay was good because of the scenic landscapes. The hotel is way too overpriced. The food at the restaurant was super expensive too. The location of the hotel is perfect if you want to visit Mount cook.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akash135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Akash135

Thank you for your valuable feedback on your recent stay with us at the Hermitage Hotel, Aoraki Mt Cook and hope you had a great holiday. The landscape is definitely is stunning and drive up, especially around lake Pukaki and approaching the Mountain is a once in a lifetime experience.
Our prices are a reflection of our remote location and l having the prime spot in the village. There are many costs involved in operating in such an area, concessions paid to the government being the main cost as the national park is free to enter but costs to maintain come partly from the operators. But I am very glad that your saw value in the overall trip.

Thanks again

Rodney Young
Executive Assistant Manager
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mt Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a beautiful location with great views of Mt Cook & easy access to walks around the park. Whilst the staff are friendly, like many others on this website, i have to question whether it's value for $$. There is really no competition, hence the high prices. Due to its design, there is little ambience at the hotel. The Edmund Hillary centre is excellent but does seem like an extra grab for $$. The free on demand shuttle to the Chamois bar is a plus. Save your $$ & eat at gage chamois bar or the old mountaineers cafe

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwisok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Kiwisok

Yes the view is beautiful up here, definitely great place to visit and to work and thank you for your time to give feedback on trip advisor. I am happy that the team where very hospitable and friendly during your stay.
Mt Cook is one of the top sights in New Zealand and yes agreed that there is not much competition for accommodation providers, one reason is that due to the location, in a national park the costs to operate especially and for a property of our size is extremely high, so there is not a lot of companies willing to open up here. Unfortunately some of these costs are reflected in our final pricing. Regarding your remarks on the décor we have pipeline plans to improve the ambience.
Once again thank you and have a great day

Rodney Young
Executive Assistant Manager
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mt Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADELAIDE
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is my second visit to The Hermitage. When I first visited in 2003 a number of things were included in the cost of a Premium room and the property felt special. This time, nothing was included in the Premium room tariff (not even WiFi) and the whole property felt like a pit stop for bus tours. I would like to see this property offer something for the high end tourist, perhaps a day spa (?) Otherwise I would suggest the backpackers...we ate there, as both restaurants at The Hermitage were booked because of tours and were lucky enough to check out one of the rooms. The view is just as cool and the beds just as comfortable. Save your money for the wine at Mt Cook which is very costly at both the backpackers pub and The Hermitage.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Kim N

Thank you for returning to our property and for posting your review on Tripadvisor.com. Your thoughts and feelings are well noted and I’m happy as it fits with our plans moving forward in reviewing our offerings. Our location and its high costs limit us somewhat to revert quickly, but we do continuously strive to search for more costs effective options so as to help facilitate any changes we plan. Case in point our bed/bedding which you experienced, were upgraded to add comfort as we wanted our guest to have a great sleep as the journey in and out to Mt Cook can be quite long and the many outdoor activities we provide can tire one out.
Thank you very much for giving us the time for some great feedback it is much appreciated by the team.

Rodney Young
Executive Assistant Manager
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mt Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aveton Gifford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Having splashed out on this particular leg of our trip, we were looking forward to a special experience and a bit of luxury. Sadly the hotel seems to rely solely on its spectacular surroundings. Our room was no better furnished or equipped than in places where we had paid half the price, but had the view of Mount Cook. The bar was a rather gloomy space that served as a thoroughfare to the restaurant, not somewhere for a chat over a leisurely drink. The service was perfunctory with one or two exceptions in the area where they dealt with bookings for excursions, where people were very helpful. We had booked, months in advance, a meal in the Panorama Restaurant, but the booking was made for the wrong day and the promised call to advise us that it was sorted never came, leading to some treatment at the restaurant desk that first evening that bordered on rude, though we did get an apology afterwards. Not the mark of a well-run hotel and we felt that the staff were not performing as a team. The view and the food in the Alpine Restaurant were both better than in the much more expensive Panorama Restaurant. Mount Cook Village is a wonderful spot to stay in but we would have had the same access to walks and excursions had we stayed in one of the more modest establishments there, and the same view though not directly out of our window.

Room Tip: Paying for the Mount Cook view is possibly overrated, unless your experience of being among mountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Anne F

Thank you for taking your time to post your comments on line, we appreciate your thoughts and I sincerely regret that you were not overly satisfied with your recent stay. I will personally look into your reservation issue and experiences in the restaurant, which some what surprises me as especially in the Panorama restaurant the comments on service are often very positive. I am delighted that the team activities desk was able to provide better service for you and I will pass your nice comments on to them.

Thanks again for your thoughts it give us some focus areas as we move forward.

Rodney Young
Executive Assistant Manager
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mt Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is drab, old but they hugely cash in on the fact that it's located amidst beautiful surrounds. But the service itself is cold & clinical, food is average and they aren't customer oriented. Best bet would be to stay elsewhere you can drive on your own to take in the views. Not worth paying the earth for this service which actually adds no real value to the overall experience!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tee432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Tee432
We appreciate the time you have taken in giving us feedback on trip advisor. It is very disappointing to know that our service and our facilities were not able to meet your expectations during your stay with us. Your comments are very important and I have already shared your comments with the entire team to make sure that we can focus our training.
Once again thank you for sharing your constructive comments.

Rodney Young
Executive Assistant Manger
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mt Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mt. Cook Village
24.6 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,158 reviews
24.4 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,346 reviews
24.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
353 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
0.4 mi away
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
#4 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Hotel

Property: The Hermitage Hotel
Address: 89 Terrace Road | Alpine Village, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7999, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Mt. Cook Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mt. Cook Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Hermitage Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From an intrepid journey through glacial valleys to a mouth-watering culinary dining adventure, The Hermitage Hotel is the perfect 'base camp' to discover your Peak Experience. Choose from premium hotel rooms, motel units or cozy chalets. Add world-class activities such as Glacier Explorers, Tasman Valley 4WD and Argo Tours, Big Sky Stargazing, Encounter Day Walks, scenic flights or the visual extravaganza of the Sir Edmund Hillary Alpine Centre and you have a unique, year-round alpine adventure perfect for the family holiday or your next romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your The Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage Hotel Mt Cook Village
Hermitage New Zealand
The Hermitage Hotel New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing