We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hermitage Hotel
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

The buffet meal was disgusting as was the cooked breakfast. We were booked in for a meal at 7.30, a party of six. Others had bookings after is. Actually 7.30 was on staff recommendation. The meal was very very poor and well over priced and it ran out. Visit Sequoia 88 in Chch and see what a real buffet meal is. Half the selection on the cooked breakfast was also missing . Hotel was nice , warm and the views outstanding . The let down was the meal.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Citizan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Citizen4.

We truly apologize for any lapse of service that you encounter during your recent stay with us. I myself personally followed up on the issues highlighted and have addressed them directly with the parties concerned. Please rest assured that your feedback is valuable and we view them in the serious manner. The team does recall your case and the Executive chef has changed a proceed to help to ensure that the particular dishes mentioned does not run out in future, unfortunately the actual number of guest tripled compared to the reservations, hence the delay in those two dishes.
I have checked with a colleague who had dined at the Sequoia 88 and read some online reviews, they cater to a slightly different market to us, but I will definitely check out next time I am in Christchurch.
Thanks for the positive feedback on the rest of the hotel, hope to have the opportunity to restore your faith in our food service.

Rodney Young
Executive Assistant Manger
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mt Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    666
    403
    139
    57
See reviews for
363
1,086
73
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

2nd stop of South Island roadtrip.

Driving along Mount Cook Road, you will see the hotel nested just below the gorgeous snow cap mountains.

Checkin was a breeze. Had prebook one of the chalet for 2 nights.

Chalet is a short drive from the main building.
Parked right at the entrance which is the kitchen.

Upon entry, we were welcomed by a musty smell. However the glass door at the living area reveals a superb views of the mountain ranges.

Chalet comes with a bedroom with 2 single beds, a big bed in the main area plus a sofa bed.
Kitchen is fully equipped.

Clealiness level 3/5. Old furniture but still cosy and comfy for 5 of us.

A bench located outside the glass doors for those who like to 'chill', or rather freeze outside. That me. :)

You will be visited by ducks loitering outside. No harm. They are friendly and cute too!

Free breakfast provided was simple bread and butter, salad, pastries and fruits.
Need to pay extra if you wish to have the upgraded breakfast with has some meat, eggs, sausages, etc.

Only downsite we encountered :
On the second day, we had ask for a make up room. When we reach back after breakfast, the floor is littered with dry leaves. Housekeeping was poor. No broom also for us to sweep the floor.

Overall, a great place for a short stop.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SupsteeL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Supsteel.

Great choice in deciding to road trip around the South Island, you are in full control to stop and enjoy the views and freshness of the air and best of all nobody’s around!! Thanks for choosing the Hermitage to stay while you were in Mt Cook and am grateful for the nice feedback. Our Chalets are self-contained units, perfect for a private stay, I am happy you were comfortable during your time with us. I will address with the housekeeping team your comments, unfortunately the time of the year there are lots of leaves blowing around, we will look to see if there is a appropriate place to place a broom, but it is only really an issue this time of year.
Thanks again and the ducks are wanting to know when you will next visit?

Rodney Young
Executive Assistant Manger
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mt Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

I stayed here for one night. The hotel is out date and the staff isn't that friendly. The quality of the food lacks flavour. From my entire trip to New zealand i only regret staying at this hotel. I would recommend one should do a day trip to this location and avoid this hotel as it will be a disappointment.

Room Tip: Do a day trip to Mt.cook and avoid from staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hm2852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear hm2852.

Thanks for your time to post your feedback on Trip advisor. I am disappointed that we did not reach your expectations and especially that you didn’t find our staff friendly as in has always been one of our key strengths.
Mt Cook is one of New Zealand’s main tourist attractions and our hotels main guest component are international travellers. Over the past year we have noticed a changed in geographic mix of our guests verses previous years, hence we are currently in the process of adding additional condiments to our buffets / outlets to help with the taste profiles of our new guests.
Thanks again hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip around New Zealand.

Rodney Young
Executive Assistant Manger
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mt Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chula Vista, CA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

My husband, 2 adult children, and I spent one night in the "Motel Family Room". Rooms in the area are extremely expensive - this was very good considering the alternatives. The unit has 1 bedroom: 2 twins, 1 nightstand, a very small closet, and a luggage stand. The main room has a queen bed with a comfortable inner-spring mattress, a 3-seater couch, coffee table, 2 nightstands, clock, ~40" TV with 8 channels, and square dining table with 3 chairs. "Kitchen": 4 burner electric stove with oven, 1/2 size refrigerator with SMALL freezer, 2 pots, no frying pan, dishes for 4, toaster, and microwave. The bathroom has a walk-in shower and hairdryer. The unit has black-out curtains. There is a shuttle that will take you to the main hotel for breakfast. "Continental buffet" is included in the rate which consists of cereals, yogurt, breads, fruit, beverages. Hot items are extra. Internet is available for a fee. Free parking is directly outside one's unit. There are 3 places to eat for dinner: the Old Mountaineers Cafe is privately owned (not a part of the hotel), more reasonably priced and has a fair selection of offerings. In spite of the high cost, the experience of being in the middle of the Aoraki Mount Cook National Park is worth the one night's expense.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CathieLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Cathiel
Thank you for your feedback and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and especially delighted that you were able to experience the awesome view of Mt cook and the surrounding landscapes.
It was a great choice for you to check into one of our motel units, perfect for families. The motels all have small kitchen and we try hard to set enough equipment for the guests to cook, I must thank you for your observations with a lack of frying pan we will definitely look into adding to our inventory. Hopefully you and family had lots more great memories during your holiday in New Zealand.

Thanks for your
Rodney Young
Executive Assistant Manger
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mt Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
125 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed in one of the Hermitage's chalets and found it clean and adequate. Really appreciated the free shuttle bus service from the chalet to the Hermitage. The laundry was the most expensive I've ever encountered so have lots of $2 coins. I do not resent this however as there is much expense involved in providing power and water to this isolated community. Continental breakfast at the Hermitage was included in the tariff. It was excellent.

Room Tip: We booked one with a view, but alas there was low cloud while we were there or it would have been st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosieterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear rosieterry.

We are appreciative of your review following your recent visit at the Hermitage Hotel Aoraki Mt Cook. I am glad you enjoyed our accommodation and were able to make use of our free shuttle service, as our hotel is split into four areas; we provide this complimentary service, as we want our guests to be able to experience all aspects of facilities and the village.
Thanks you again for your comments and hope to see you down in the South Island for another visit in the future, I hope the clouds are a bit higher next time.

Rodney Young
Executive Assistant Manger
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mt Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed here for one night and could have stayed much longer, the property location is ideal to wondring the area of Mt Cook. Breathtaking views from all rooms and scenic landscapes is just wonderful. Not many options for food and one does have to eat at the hotel. We had the restaurant buffet which was nice but a little bit on the pricy side.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donny15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear donny.

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback on your recent stay. We're deligthed to know that you appreciated our location and buffet, unfortunetly due our remote location the buffet price is effected in order to cover costs, but am happy that you enjoyed our large spread. We hope you had a great holiday.

Rodney Young
Executive Assistant Manger
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mt Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manly
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed it the hermitage for 3 nights. I've got to say its a great location, fantastic scenery and great walks etc. So if you've got the chance to visit Mt Cook do it. The Hermitage however was a major disappointment. Service was lacklustre, the restaurant very average, and the buffet a lesson in crowd control. Bar service was incredibly slow and the head barman was, in his words "unfamiliar with the wine list." It seemed to me that the lack of competition and captured market that Mt Cook provides to the Hermitage has made them very mediocre. I wouldn't stay there again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rcb_manly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear rcb_manly.

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and thanks for your time to share comments with us here on Trip advisor. We are how ever sad to learn that we did not meet your expectations during your stay and we sincerely apologize for the poor service in our bar. Our buffet is very popular and can get very crowded especially if you eat earlier, unfortunetly you where not able to try our Panorama restaurant which provides ala carte in a much quiter enviorment. The teams have reviewed your comments and are working on our process.
Thanks again

Rodney Young
Executive Assistant Manger
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mt Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mt. Cook Village
24.4 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
24.6 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
24.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
0.4 mi away
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
0.3 mi away
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
#4 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Hotel

Property: The Hermitage Hotel
Address: 89 Terrace Road | Alpine Village, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7999, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Mt. Cook Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mt. Cook Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Hermitage Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From an intrepid journey through glacial valleys to a mouth-watering culinary dining adventure, The Hermitage Hotel is the perfect 'base camp' to discover your Peak Experience. Choose from premium hotel rooms, motel units or cozy chalets. Add world-class activities such as Glacier Explorers, Tasman Valley 4WD and Argo Tours, Big Sky Stargazing, Encounter Day Walks, scenic flights or the visual extravaganza of the Sir Edmund Hillary Alpine Centre and you have a unique, year-round alpine adventure perfect for the family holiday or your next romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage Hotel Mt Cook Village
Hermitage New Zealand
The Hermitage Hotel New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing