We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should've been better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hermitage Hotel
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Should've been better”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The most amazing aspect of my stay at the Hermitage was the drive into the Village past the magnificant Lake Pukaki where I was able to take the most stunning photographs - very clear sunny day and mountains were stunningly reflective. We were booked in for 2 nights in their premium area as wanted direct views to Mt Cook. The room and what it provided was great. What wasn't great was that it was early September and we became acutely aware, it was not in the 'right season' as the ONLY eating facility that was open for dinner in the village was there so-called Panoramic Restaurant - with the potential to dine looking at the wonderful mountainous vista the entire restaurant was shrouded in heavy crimson drapes and the waiter was clearly in 'off season' mode and seemed almost resentful that we were there as there was only one other table and we had planned on a leisurely dinner. Apart from his attitude the food for there premium restaurant was 4/10 and in no way 'show-cased' NZ cuisine at its best. Our Glacial trip was cancelled prior to our arrival so we checked out after the one night feeling very deflated as we were contemplating that this would be one of the highlights of our Sth Island trip. This is my one and only negative review and have been reluctant to write this but felt compelled to - I would still recommend to go there, BUT in the 'right' season.

Room Tip: Premium rooms have balcony with direct view to Mt Cook and the sunset was amazing and once again som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 425christana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear 425christana.

Thanks for taking time to posts your comments on tripadvisor. I must definitely agree with you the drive to Mt Cook is magnificent and Lake Pukaki and its turquoise colours are amazing.
Sorry to hear that you missed the glacial trip on your journey south, unfortunately we do have to adjust schedules occasionally, as we must ensure safety for our guests on the lake, rough weather can make the boat ride quite dangerous.
I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your experience in the Panorama restaurant, from my part since September 2013 the menu has changed (1 ½ months ago) as has our Executive Chef and we have been receiving an increased number of positive comments since the implementation of this menu. The concept of the menu, especially now is more promoting New Zealand / local ingredients as the base for the dishes which are more of a modern cuisine rather than purely New Zealand cuisine, we use this same philosophy for our wine list.
Thanks again for your thoughts and hope to have the opportunity to see you back in Mt Cook in the future.

Rodney Young
Executive Assistant Manger
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mt Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    689
    410
    143
    60
See reviews for
371
1,124
75
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

arriving with the first snow of autumn, our stay at the Hermitage was a tonic. The hotel boasts some of the most breathtaking views out towards Mt Cook and the rooms are clean, crisp and warm. The ony disappointment was the buffet restaurant which sadly failed to match the splendour or standard of the surroundings. Distinctly average fare at over-inflated prices which sadly cost this amazing hotel a 5/5 from me.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prosperoproject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear prosperoproject.

We are appreciative of your review following your visit to the Hermitage hotel Mt Cook.
Happy you were able to have a great view of Mt Cook and yes it is very breath-taking, our hotel is perfectly position to receive the best views of the mountain and the surrounding landscape.
Regarding the buffet we your valued comments and will defiantly help as we are currently in the process of revising menus. Our pricing is in line with similar establishments, while is also a reflection of our high costs due to our location.
Thanks again and hope you had a great trip around New Zealand

Rodney Young
Executive Assistant Manger
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mt Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We had booked the Hertimage for our 33rd Wedding Anniversary - or at least my husband wanted to stay here. I was a little apprehensive after reading some of the reviews about this resort, but I am very happy to say that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We took advantage of the Winter special on offer which included a room with view of Mt Cook, dinner and breakfast. This deal suited us fine. We arrived at the resort around 5pm after an exceptional day in regards to the weather, with not a cloud in the sky. The view of Mt Cook was glorious to see with the sun shining on the top and as it was full moon a couple of nights ago the moon also lit up the mountain.
The road to the resort is well sign posted and the entrance was very grand, check in was painless as I had already prepaid for the package. All details the resort had were correct, the staff were very friendly and helpful, handed us a key and explained where to park our car and the location of the room. The room was lovely, the view as expected was sensational, the room was well appointed. The only drawback was that the bathroom light also turned on the exhaust fan which is very noisy. We had a balcony to view the mountains.
Our dinner was booked for 7pm - in the Panorama Restaurant - the curtains were drawn so no view of the mountain - a bit disappointed- the food was exceptional. Bread (3 varieties)and dips were first, entree was a smoked portobello mushroom - delicious, followed by mains, a Salmon baked with Lemon Ginger & chilli - this was fantastic and melted in the mouth, my husband choose Merino Lamb and loved it, we are not big wine drinkers, so did not have any, but the list is extensive. Dessert - Chocolate & Ginger Truffle, very rich but beautiful, & Orange and Almond Frangipanne, also delicious, and then to finish off a Baileys hot chocolate - our meal was beautiful. The staff were great and very helpful - took photos of us and attentive, when we mentioned it was our anniversary the desert came out with "Happy Anniversary" written in chocolate on the plate.
Breakfast the following day was as expected for a buffet breaky - with a wide selection of food advailable
The shop and activities centre was very helpful - we wanted to book a skiplane for the next day and they phoned and made the enquires while we were having breakfast.
We had a very enjoyable stay at The Hermitage, I recommend staying here - the view is the best.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of Mt Cook
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceSheree W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear BruceSheree W.

Thank you for your comments and sharing your experiences on your recent stay .We are grateful for the full score given and I am thrilled that you didn’t let any negative comments deter you from visiting this beautiful location. The team works hard to provide great service but we do not always met all guests expectations, we take all comments positive or negative as a opportunity to improve, so happy that our training has made your stay a great one and hopefully future guests. I will definitely pass your comment on to all the teams as it will serve as great motivation.
Thanks you again and I hope you had a memorable anniversary with us in Mt Cook and hope to see you next anniversary.

Rodney Young
Executive Assistant Manger
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mt Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
125 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is an iconic Hotel set in the most wonderful area of New Zealand. The reception area is well set out ---once you find it. A sign outside would be helpful ! The staff are polite and informative. They provide easy directions to your room. The rooms are well set out and provisioned with comfortable beds. The view was wonderful and with stunning weather to sit outside and just take it in was great. The buildings suit the location very well. All staff were polite and appeared happy to be working in such a lovely area. It's a pity more New Zealanders don't work here!

Room Tip: .The less expensive rooms provide a good view of Mt Cook too!,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seaoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear seaoh.

Thank you for taking time to convey your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Hermitage hotel. I am happy the team preformed their duties well and the room was comfortable for your stay.
Great to see that you did appreciate the look of the hotel as was designed with approval from the government (we are in a national park) and certain colours had to be used to ensure that the hotel is ascetically pleasing by blending with the environment. Some guest has commented that we should be more colourful but would spoil the natural look of the hotel and supporting mountains.
Unfortunately the Mt Cook is very much a seasonal location so we would love to balance more New Zealand staff to foreign staff, but this coupled with the isolation does deter some potential applicants.
Thanks again for your nice comments and I do hope to welcome you back to the Cook again.

Rodney Young
Executive Assistant Manger
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mt Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I booked the Hermitage with a little bit of apprehension having read some of the comments but I am please to write that we were not in any way disappointed that we stayed the 2 nights at this hotel.
When we first arrived it was so clouded in that you could not see any of the mountains but that the luck of the draw.
We had booked the premium room on the 8th floor and the room was large with a very comfortable with a large window which we presumed looked out over mount cook
We had a goods night sleep and when opening the curtains all I can say is that the weather had cleared and we had the most spectacular views of the mountains with clear blue sky's.
Just magnificent.
We quickly showered and headed to the airport to get a 50 minute heliworks flight over the mountains(separate review) ... not to be missed if you get the chance.
What else about the hotel:
We ate the first night at the Panorama Restaurant as we don't enjoy buffets. This was a good choice as the food was excellent. Venison cooked to request and salmon. Food was reasonably priced for a hotel restaurant $30 - $40 main meals with a good wine list of NZ wines.
Staff were very friendly and as most were young travellers interesting to talk too about their travels.
The Sir Edmund Hillary Centre is well worth a visit $24 for a 24 hour pass to listen to all the documentaries about NZ. In my opinion it was quite good value for money
Breakfast we had in the Old Mountaineers Café (not the Hermitage) which was also excellent. There poached eggs with bacon were the best we had had in NZ. Also one nights dinner was had here too and this was a good reasonably priced option with things like Organic Hamburgers, Sausage's, Steaks etc
Overall it was a wonderful experience and we had a memorable 2 days at he Hermitage.
Only the one sour note and a thing that annoys me the most about places is the surcharge (2% in the case) on credit card payments. This makes you feel you are being gouged for every cent that that can get out of you. Advise to the Heritage add 2% to the cost of the room then you wont annoy people on checkout

Room Tip: Go for the premium room, Has somewhere to sit at nigjt
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AusScotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear AusScotty:

Thank you for choosing the Hermitage hotel Aoraki Mt Cook. Both the team and I are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and had the opportunity to enjoy some of our hotels and local activities.
Myself and the team focus a huge amount of attention on improving our standards and products in order to exceed our guests expectations, unfortunately we don’t always succeed and trip advisor comments even if not positive do help us find areas that we need to focus on and understand how the guests perceive their stays. Also positive comments as your own help us see how our actions have had positive effect for our guests. Great example our new menu in the Panorama restaurant, our also new Executive Chef focused on the freshness, flavour and seasonality when designing this menu, and we have received many more positive comments since its implementation.
Sorry to hear that the 2% charge did leave a sour note to your stay, but this charge is a common practise as to cover bank charges, I have done surveys of similar establishments around New Zealand and most do charge. We don’t want to add the 2% directly to the room as not all guests pay with credit card, I am grateful for the suggestion.
Thanks again for the feedback and hope you had an overall great holiday in New Zealand

Rodney Young
Executive Assistant Manger
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mt Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
189 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The Hermitage has the best view of all the lodges in the area. The bed was comfortable and they provide Manuka toiletries which I thought was a nice touch. Check-in was efficient and polite. The older wing could benefit from a touch up to the decor.

The lift lobby offers wonderful views of the mountains. A hotel guest played the piano beautifully while I was there which made it a very unique experience.

There are a lot of nice hikes around the area, but it is best if you have a car, as you can cut out the more boring parts of the hikes. Unfortunately for me, it was raining throughout my stay.

For dinner, I highly recommend the Panorama Room instead of the buffet. It's about $40 for a main, but it's high-quality food and filling, compared to the common fare you'd get from the buffet. Service was excellent and attentive, so I ordered a Frangipane ($15) as well. It's a very light sponge cake, with a orange coulis and decorated with a sprig of mint and a candy ring.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryansg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear ryansg.

I am delighted to learn that you have enjoyed the hotel facilities and seems that you had a great stay with us at the Hermitage, Mt Cook.
There are three pianos with in the hotel and we have found many a guests love utilizing it to relax after a long journey or long day of activities, great as it does add to the relaxing atmosphere of the hotel and area.
Our premier restaurant the Panorama restaurant has just changed menu recently and thanks you for the great feedback, I will pass on to the Chefs and service teams.
Thanks again for your comments.

Rodney Young
Executive Assistant Manger
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mt Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The buffet meal was disgusting as was the cooked breakfast. We were booked in for a meal at 7.30, a party of six. Others had bookings after is. Actually 7.30 was on staff recommendation. The meal was very very poor and well over priced and it ran out. Visit Sequoia 88 in Chch and see what a real buffet meal is. Half the selection on the cooked breakfast was also missing . Hotel was nice , warm and the views outstanding . The let down was the meal.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Citizan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Citizen4.

We truly apologize for any lapse of service that you encounter during your recent stay with us. I myself personally followed up on the issues highlighted and have addressed them directly with the parties concerned. Please rest assured that your feedback is valuable and we view them in the serious manner. The team does recall your case and the Executive chef has changed a proceed to help to ensure that the particular dishes mentioned does not run out in future, unfortunately the actual number of guest tripled compared to the reservations, hence the delay in those two dishes.
I have checked with a colleague who had dined at the Sequoia 88 and read some online reviews, they cater to a slightly different market to us, but I will definitely check out next time I am in Christchurch.
Thanks for the positive feedback on the rest of the hotel, hope to have the opportunity to restore your faith in our food service.

Rodney Young
Executive Assistant Manger
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mt Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mt. Cook Village
24.6 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
24.4 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
24.4 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.4 mi away
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
0.4 mi away
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
#4 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Hotel

Property: The Hermitage Hotel
Address: 89 Terrace Road | Alpine Village, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7999, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Mt. Cook Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mt. Cook Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Hermitage Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From an intrepid journey through glacial valleys to a mouth-watering culinary dining adventure, The Hermitage Hotel is the perfect 'base camp' to discover your Peak Experience. Choose from premium hotel rooms, motel units or cozy chalets. Add world-class activities such as Glacier Explorers, Tasman Valley 4WD and Argo Tours, Big Sky Stargazing, Encounter Day Walks, scenic flights or the visual extravaganza of the Sir Edmund Hillary Alpine Centre and you have a unique, year-round alpine adventure perfect for the family holiday or your next romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage Hotel Mt Cook Village
Hermitage New Zealand
The Hermitage Hotel New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing