We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big, mainstream, but man is the view wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hermitage Hotel
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Big, mainstream, but man is the view wonderful”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Admittedly I was sceptical- the Hermitage Mt Cook is after all on the route for every coach traveller in NZ. However get into an upstairs room in the new wing and the view is simply awesome- a word I find excessively used but actually fitting here.

One tip if you are going to walk is get going early as after about 10.00 the tracks get busy and in summer, warm.

A stunning location and well worth 2 nights.

Room Tip: Any room looking to Mt Cook, we were on the 10th floor (i think) and the view was just great. In fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Andrew M .
Thanks for staying with us at the Hermitage hotel, Mt Cook and that you were able to experience one or more walks / activities surrounding the hotel. The rooms in the hotel all have great views of the mountains, mainly due to our location in the village being the prime spot. Being in one of New Zealand iconic locations, we are a busy hotel and our rooms are in demand, we focus heavily on the maintenance and cleanliness of the rooms to maintain our standards.
I agree with you that Mt Cook is definitely a 2 night stay to fully appreciate the views and activities.
Thanks for your score and positive comments and hope you had an overall great holiday
Rodney Young
Executive Assistant Manger
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mt Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    695
    409
    144
    62
See reviews for
374
1,130
77
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NZ
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We brought the star gazing package deal which we were really looking forward to. This gives you a premium room. It is not my idea of premium to have a shower curtain over a bath. Premium to me would be separate bath and shower. The view from the room was amazing and we were lucky with the weather to see this spectacular mountain, however if the bed was on the other side of the room you would have woken to be looking directly at the mountain. We brought the buffet dinner but at $62 / head this was disappointing. Everything in the entrees were seafood and the mains were very average. For a major tourist spot in New Zealand I would love to see this place step up. We can showcase New Zealand from within this building so much better, just lift your service and food and upmarket the rooms a bit. Also thought in this setting an indoor heated pool and spas would have been great. There were no extras like this and for the price this would have been nice.

Room Tip: I think the superior rooms would be equally good a view as the premium so wouldn't spend the ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MagFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Mag family.
Thank you for the feedback from your recent stay with us, we have noted your comments and discussed with the team. I happy to see that the weather played the game and gave you clear views of the mountain, definitely is spectacular. I agree with you that it would be nice to face the mountain directly from the bed, but unfortunately the room shape and structure limit us to how we configure the room so our placements of furniture is best to allow free movement around the room. I am disappointed that you did not like our buffet dinner as it is an area that get many great comments, concerning the entrees, this section is displayed in three different areas, seafood, simple- compound salads and cold cuts (seafood including sushi) due to this division you may have not realised the extent of the section, seafood covers about 35% .
Thanks for your additional thoughts and we will definitely keep in mind.

Rodney Young
Executive Assistant Manger
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mt Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butte, Montana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The Hermitage has a spectacular view of the glaciers located on the east slope of Mt. Cook. All rooms have great views with the comman rooms facing the West, thus having the best views of the mountain. All residence rooms have great views of either the mountains or the Lake and valley.
As we were in the transition time of summer to winter, the resturants were not geared up for large crowds,so meal times were uncrowded and the food was very good. The buffet, served three times a day, had a good assortment of different foods.
The area is geared to the outdoors person, with activities such as star gazing, hiking, mountain climbing, ( Sir Edmund Hillary climbed here,) and kayaking.
If one is driving themselves to the attraction, they will find several places where the road narrows from two lane to single very quickly, forcing one to always watch the road.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second, third, and fouth floors have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Phil C.
Thank you for your comments and sharing your experiences on your recent stay with us at the Hermitage Hotel and delighted you enjoyed the views and time with us.
Yes we are now heading into our low season, so to maintain our standards of freshness of product we have re adjusted our operations slightly. Glad you enjoyed the buffet, our food often get great reviews and our buffets are one of the highlight’s for many guests after a long journey or busy day of activities.
Driving oneself is a great way of visiting the area the views are breath taking, having the ability to stop for a snap shot is a bonus.
Hope you had a great holiday not only in Mt Cook but New Zealand.
Rodney Young
Executive Assistant Manger
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mt Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robina, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Friendly helpful staff at reception.
Professional service in the Panorama Restaurant with an exceptional menu. Room (436) very comfortable, warm and gorgeous view of Mt. Cook.
The cafe has an very limited menu and closes early evening. Nice area to relax and look out to Mt. Cook.
Only had one night, but would recommend two nights to be able to see more of the area.
I definitely recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed in the Motel Studio room which is separate from the main hotel- 800m from the main building. Last year we stayed in the Premium room in the main complex which was also lovely.
The motel room is well equipped with a full kitchen- fridge, stovetop, microwave, oven. The crockery was unexpectedly stylish and there is a full array of kitchen utensils. It was in the first row of rooms and therefore had unimpeded mountain views.
Unfortunately it rained the whole time we were there so didn't get to see Mt Cook at all! (although we had amazing views last year so could do a bit of creative visualization to insert a mental picture of Mt Cook through the mist!). Due to the heavy rain we were cooped up indoors the whole time and ended up with a temporary pond outside the backdoor. Several beautiful local ducks took up residence in the pond for the 2 days which was delightful. Just as we were checking out it started to snow making the village look like a Christmas card- very pretty.
Minor issues in that the bed and sofa were a bit saggy, the Sir Edmund Hillary Cafe also ran out of cake (disaster!!) in the afternoon long before closing time which was probably due to everyone being indoors from the rain instead of tramping or other activities.
A continental breakfast in the Alpine Restaurant is included with the room rate however we upgraded to the full breakfast. There is a good range of options including Asian style breakfast options of rice congee, tofu and pickles. There is even vegemite. The shop in the main building is well stocked with souvenirs, cold weather gear and basic groceries.
Reception and restaurant staff were friendly and efficient.
Will stay again.

Room Tip: stay in the first row of motel rooms if you want a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Momofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Momofan.

Thanks for your review of your stay and very happy that you enjoyed our facilities and service. Unfortunately the entire South Island is being hit by a cold front at the moment, so long distance views are not so clear but the positive as mentioned the short distance views are stunning like a Christmas card or picture postcard.
Our motel rooms is a great option for our guests, it’s self-contained with kitchenette many guest enjoy this facility especially the choice to cook. The Chinaware that we use is a well-known South Island brand from Temuka (Temuka pottery) around 2 hour’s drive from the hotel.
Thanks for the feedback on the sofa and cafe I will investigate with the team.
Hope to see you back in the Cook for a third time in the future.

Rodney Young
Executive Assistant Manger
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mt Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The most amazing aspect of my stay at the Hermitage was the drive into the Village past the magnificant Lake Pukaki where I was able to take the most stunning photographs - very clear sunny day and mountains were stunningly reflective. We were booked in for 2 nights in their premium area as wanted direct views to Mt Cook. The room and what it provided was great. What wasn't great was that it was early September and we became acutely aware, it was not in the 'right season' as the ONLY eating facility that was open for dinner in the village was there so-called Panoramic Restaurant - with the potential to dine looking at the wonderful mountainous vista the entire restaurant was shrouded in heavy crimson drapes and the waiter was clearly in 'off season' mode and seemed almost resentful that we were there as there was only one other table and we had planned on a leisurely dinner. Apart from his attitude the food for there premium restaurant was 4/10 and in no way 'show-cased' NZ cuisine at its best. Our Glacial trip was cancelled prior to our arrival so we checked out after the one night feeling very deflated as we were contemplating that this would be one of the highlights of our Sth Island trip. This is my one and only negative review and have been reluctant to write this but felt compelled to - I would still recommend to go there, BUT in the 'right' season.

Room Tip: Premium rooms have balcony with direct view to Mt Cook and the sunset was amazing and once again som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 425christana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear 425christana.

Thanks for taking time to posts your comments on tripadvisor. I must definitely agree with you the drive to Mt Cook is magnificent and Lake Pukaki and its turquoise colours are amazing.
Sorry to hear that you missed the glacial trip on your journey south, unfortunately we do have to adjust schedules occasionally, as we must ensure safety for our guests on the lake, rough weather can make the boat ride quite dangerous.
I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your experience in the Panorama restaurant, from my part since September 2013 the menu has changed (1 ½ months ago) as has our Executive Chef and we have been receiving an increased number of positive comments since the implementation of this menu. The concept of the menu, especially now is more promoting New Zealand / local ingredients as the base for the dishes which are more of a modern cuisine rather than purely New Zealand cuisine, we use this same philosophy for our wine list.
Thanks again for your thoughts and hope to have the opportunity to see you back in Mt Cook in the future.

Rodney Young
Executive Assistant Manger
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mt Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

arriving with the first snow of autumn, our stay at the Hermitage was a tonic. The hotel boasts some of the most breathtaking views out towards Mt Cook and the rooms are clean, crisp and warm. The ony disappointment was the buffet restaurant which sadly failed to match the splendour or standard of the surroundings. Distinctly average fare at over-inflated prices which sadly cost this amazing hotel a 5/5 from me.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prosperoproject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear prosperoproject.

We are appreciative of your review following your visit to the Hermitage hotel Mt Cook.
Happy you were able to have a great view of Mt Cook and yes it is very breath-taking, our hotel is perfectly position to receive the best views of the mountain and the surrounding landscape.
Regarding the buffet we your valued comments and will defiantly help as we are currently in the process of revising menus. Our pricing is in line with similar establishments, while is also a reflection of our high costs due to our location.
Thanks again and hope you had a great trip around New Zealand

Rodney Young
Executive Assistant Manger
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mt Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mt. Cook Village
24.6 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,157 reviews
24.4 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,346 reviews
24.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
353 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
0.4 mi away
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
#4 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Hotel

Property: The Hermitage Hotel
Address: 89 Terrace Road | Alpine Village, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7999, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Mt. Cook Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mt. Cook Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Hermitage Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From an intrepid journey through glacial valleys to a mouth-watering culinary dining adventure, The Hermitage Hotel is the perfect 'base camp' to discover your Peak Experience. Choose from premium hotel rooms, motel units or cozy chalets. Add world-class activities such as Glacier Explorers, Tasman Valley 4WD and Argo Tours, Big Sky Stargazing, Encounter Day Walks, scenic flights or the visual extravaganza of the Sir Edmund Hillary Alpine Centre and you have a unique, year-round alpine adventure perfect for the family holiday or your next romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your The Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage Hotel Mt Cook Village
Hermitage New Zealand
The Hermitage Hotel New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing