We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Scenery”
Review of Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hermitage Hotel
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I think the best thing about this stay was the stars and the amazing scenery. We found everything a little overpriced for our liking, but i guess you can do that when your the only hotel/shop. The first night we stayed and ate at the buffet which was very very expensive, it was an ok buffet but not outstanding, i would call it very store bought. The second night we ate at the backpackers and it was half the price for a great meal, i would recommend people eating there. The argo tour we took was a highlight and they took us up to the glacier and we got to look at it it was very impressive. We ended up staying in the hotel and it was very noisy with japanese tourists going up and down the hallways at night with little regard to others trying to sleep. But we really loved it here the scenery and stars were just breathtaking.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TabithaPenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,975)
There are newer reviews for Hermitage Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

883 - 889 of 1,975 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

This building is an monstrosity of an eyesore and it is hard to understand who can possibly have thought it was appropriate to build it in the shadow of Mount Cook.

On arrival the first notice you see - boldly placed on the Reception Desk - is the unexpected rip off 2% charge for using a credit card.

Our Superior Room with balcony was very comfortable and it had a great view of Mount Cook. This was only slightly spoiled by the noise coming from the air conditioning/extractor fans a long way down below us.

Dinner is an incredibly expensive $66 for a buffet dinner. Don't even consider it – go to Old Mountaineers restaurant a few yards walk down the road instead for a freshly cooked meal, with the same view of Mount Cook, at half the price.

The buffet breakfast was very uninspiring and mostly cold – even though we went in as soon as it opened.

Another rip off is the $20 charge to see the Edmund Hilary Museum in the same building. You only discover this when you ask because the museum appears to be ashamed to display the prices! You cannot buy a museum - only ticket, just one including lots of films in the price. This is valid for 24 hours but is no good for an overnight stop.

Because of its location the hotel seems to simply cater for mass tourism in the form of coach parties and appears quite happy to rip customers off because it has no competition.

Room Tip: Try to have a room as high as possible above the noisy fans and facing Mount Cook
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EssexRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney Y, Manager at Hermitage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear EssexRichard.
Thanks you for taking time to write your comments on trip advisor. I am disappointed that we did not meet your expectation on your recent stay
The hotel was designed to best be blend into the surrounding area, some guests do comment on the colour as it is a bit dull, this is due to being in the national park we are restricted in colours that can be used, so the colour needs to be ascetically pleasing to the environment rather than anything more colourful.
Credit card charges are a common practice in New Zealand and we conduct regular surveys not only in the district but throughout the country, the charges vary and can be up to 5% per transaction at 2% we are around average.
The international dinner buffet is one highlight of the restaurant, many our guests give very positive comments on it regularly, what may have been a better option for you is our award winning Panorama restaurant as like the old mountaineers serves pre plated individual dishes and the price for the plate is less compared to the buffet where you have unlimited food, variety of cuisines and 5 courses.
The museum we have 8 movies / documentaries and the museum, in fact most guest find the cost great value, but we can look into the pricing.
Mt Cook is one of New Zealand’s top tourist attractions; as a consequence we do get tour groups but we do strive to offer great product to all guests. The village where the hotel is located is in a national park where there are no entry fees, the costs to up keep the park is partially funded by the business that pay concession to the government and due to the isolated location freight charges can be higher this can all reflect on all final prices.
Thanks again for your comments and I will look into how we can improve those areas mentioned.
Rodney Young
Executive Assistant Manger
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mt Cook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We spent one night here and were lucky to have a view of Mount Cook for the duration of our stay. This made it worth the visit to this hotel. We had a view up the valley from our room. Reception and the public rooms are large and well appointed, with the bar area making the most of the views. These areas are spacious and comfortable. Dinner and breakfast were very good, with plenty of choice. The room was comfortable and well appointed. All the staff were very friendly and welcoming. This is the only hotel we've seen with a glass sided lift to make the most of the view!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WaywardSouls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney Y, Manager at Hermitage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Andrew W.
Thank you for staying with us at the Hermitage hotel. We full appreciate the full score in your review and are very happy to know that the service and facilities have made your stay with us a pleasant one. Glad you were able to experience the great views, all our food and beverage outlets and the majority of our rooms face Mt Cook set a great backdrop.
Thanks you again and hope you had a great trip in New Zealand

Rodney Young
Executive Assistant Manger
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mt Cook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We had a "Standard Mount Cook View" room but were lucky enough to be on the same level as a big terrace - allowing for a stroll outside the room with great views of the mountains and clear, starry skies.

The room was quite large with a large, comfortable bed and all the amenities that you would expect of a top-class hotel. Reception and check-in were handled well, there's an outdoor shop should you have left something behind and want to go hiking (plenty of great opportunities here!) and the restaurant was very good with a huge buffet for dinner and breakfast. The restaurant catered to most tastes thanks to the largely international patronage.

The rooms are a little expensive but there aren't too many options here and the Hermitage offers the best range of luxury rooms. The views on their own are enough to warrant a visit.

Room Tip: Any room with a view of the mountains.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikey0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney Y, Manager at Hermitage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Mikey0308.

Yes the views are amazing and from a balcony view is an added bonus, in fact if you come now the views are even more spectacular as we are experiencing a cold snap and the surrounding areas are covered in a pure white snow. I am glad you enjoyed our services in the hotel; our buffet is one of our high points as many guests give us great comments and hope you did get a chance to experience one of our activities.
Thanks for your time to comment
Rodney Young
Executive Assistant Manger
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mt Cook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed in a chalet in March 2014. There were two couples. One couple used the single beds and one used the double bed. We loved it. The walk up the hill to the main hotel is not far at all. We had a good view of the mountain, I think only two of them actually have windows facing the mountain w/o other chalets in the way. There is a kitchenette for your food and wine! They were clean, quiet, and close enough to walk to all the eateries. Best value for sure!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashmanbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney Y, Manager at Hermitage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear ashmanbrian.

Your feedback is well received and much appreciate the full score. The chalets that you stayed, often receive nice comments, they are very cosy, clean and with the kitchen gives the guest flexibility when deciding on dining options or like yourself kick back for a snack and a nice wine. Best way to holiday.
Once again thanks for your time to comment and hope you had a great trip.

Rodney Young
Executive Assistant Manger
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mt Cook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Had one night stay here. It is a decent hotel serving good variety of food over breakfast.
The view is outstanding and the location of the hotel is good for an easy walk to the mountain.
The overall service is decent.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney Y, Manager at Hermitage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Ivy2013.
Thank you for taking time to comment on trip advisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay, having a chance to enjoy one of the many walks near the hotel and were able to experience the fantastic views.
I hope that you had a great holiday during your stay in New Zealand and wish to see you again at the Cook.
Rodney Young
Executive Assistant Manger
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mt Cook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Had 2 nights stay there. It is a decent hotel with decent rooms considering how remote it is.
Stranded inside of the hotel for a whole day because of the horrible storm. So I spent most of the time in their explorer centre with documentary films, which I liked very much. Thank god the next day is sunny and the view from the room is amazing!
The staff are really good, they even help us to get rid of the snow and ice from our car windows. The food at the fine dining restaurant is really great even though it is very pricey. The buffet is just so so. I would save money to try the fine dining for one night instead of having buffet dinner for two nights. You can also get some cheaper choice at its cafe upstairs for lunch and sports bar near by for cheaper dinner.
By the way, it is little bit difficult to find the hotel entrance if you arrive at a raining night and driving.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 223lt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney Y, Manager at Hermitage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear223It.
We appreciative of your review after your recent stay with us on Mt Cook. A shame the weather on the first day didn’t play nice, but did give you a chance to experience one of our many indoor activities. Glad the second day was more memorable, yes the view is great from the warmth of the room and you enjoyed our new menu in the Panorama restaurant.
Thanks again for the feedback

Rodney Young
Executive Assistant Manger
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mt Cook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mt. Cook Village
24.6 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,203 reviews
24.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
24.4 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
0.4 mi away
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
#4 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
343 reviews
0.5 mi away
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
#1 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Hotel

Address: 89 Terrace Road, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7949, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Mt. Cook Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mt. Cook Village
Price Range: £84 - £535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hermitage Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From an intrepid journey through glacial valleys to a mouth-watering culinary dining adventure, the Hermitage Hotel is the perfect 'base camp' to discover your Peak Experience. Choose from premium hotel rooms, motel units or cozy chalets. Add world-class activities such as Glacier Explorers, Tasman Valley 4WD Tours, Big Sky Stargazing, Encounter Day Walks, scenic flights or the visual extravaganza of the Sir Edmund Hillary Alpine Centre and you have a unique, year-round alpine adventure perfect for the family holiday or your next romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage Hotel Mt Cook Village
Hermitage New Zealand
Hermitage Hotel New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing