We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We booked a spa room and were given one of the rooms at the front of the motel. the view was amazing and it appears there are views from all of the rooms. Staff were very helpful and nice. Our room was well fitted out and was very clean. We didn't hear any noise of other guests or cars. Very much enjoyed our stay and would stay again if we come back here. Wish we were staying for longer because Mt Cook is amazing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harrisfarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Hello harrisfarms and thank you for your wonderful review. It is very pleasing that you enjoyed your stay with us and loved the view that your room had to offer. It is fantastic that all our rooms can offer views of the surrounding mountains. We hope to see you back here sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,545)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,343 - 1,349 of 1,545 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

In reading many reviews of this accommodation, we were looking forward to staying here but unfortunately, our experience was not great. The location of the Village/Cabins is AMAZING and the mountain is stunning... The rooms are nicely styled and the views from the windows are spectacular AND the beds are comfy, but there are some important things which are not up to standard... We are not normally picky but... ours was not a 5 star experience. There is a toothbrush/toothpaste holder in the bathroom - ours had left over spit/toothpaste and hairs in it. My husband found numerous hairs in other locations around the room also. We did not get what we paid for and requested on line - which was a spa room. - Being told there was a leak in that room and no others were available was very disappointing! We would have appreciated being notified of this prior to us unloading all our gear and walking into a cabin. Some of the cups and cooking utensils were not overly clean either. The rest of the room WAS clean. We were put into a cabin which had a car park (incl a car) and other cabins taking up half of the view from the window. There are good things about the Aoraki Ct Motel, but it was not what we expected.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyOzTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Hello Happyoz Travellers. It is with great disappointment that we read your review on your stay with us at Aoraki Court Motel, especially given we were totally unaware of any concerns you had.

As explained to you on your arrival we had to shift yourselves and the quests from the other four units in that block due to a major fault with one of our boilers which provide hot water for the units. This happened on the day of your arrival. Subsequently we could not provide customers their original requests and in your case all of our other spa studio units were full. We apologised for this on your arrival but did not think it was such a problem as all our units are the same in quality, views and price. We cannot understand your comments regarding having a "blocked view". All of our units have beautiful views of the surrounding mountains, especially the uninterrupted views of Mt Sefton directly in front of each unit. This is noted by nearly all other Trip Advisor reviews of our property.

The final concern to us was your comment on the cleanliness of your unit. We have systems in place that ensure all of our motel units are thoroughly cleaned and then checked after each clean. It is our intention to provide complete customer satisfaction.

If you made us aware of any of your concerns whilst you were here we would have rectified the situation immediately or offered something as a form of compensation. It is always frustrating for us as operators to only hear about these things once quests have left. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels within New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Most of the furniture in the hotel is very well maintained. Full kitchen facilities as well. Wifi was a slight annoyance due to Zenbu the provider. Views were nice and very accessible to the Hillary Center and the local cafe. Owner was friendly but kept reminding us that the check out was to be at 10am. Probably the most bang for the buck Motel in Mt Cook Village.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachBumFromSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

hi BeachBumFromSG.
Thank you place a review about Aoraki Court Motel. We are pleased you enjoyed your room and the facilities we offer. Our internet is fine when all the instructions are followed but sometimes with our weather and thunderstorms it may be slow. Sorry if you felt my remainder of a 10am checkout was excessive, but due to the weather conditions we have here, it does make our job difficult to have our rooms ready by 2pm for people to check in. An example when the weather is bad we do have people arriving as early as 11.15am wanting to check in, we can tell you many stories, but I won't go there.
Hope you enjoy the rest of your New Zealand holiday and hope to see you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We booked a Heli-hike from Mt. Cook and Aoraki Court was highly recommended from our B&B in Dunedin. The rooms are less than a year old and as such look new. Great views of Mt. Cook from our room and top rate service from the staff. Ample parking and a good wifi connection.

Two suggestions for the motel: it would be nice to have more than 9 channels of TV, and we thought $9.00 ($4 to wash, $5 to dry) to do self service laundry was a bit too much. In Wellington for example, the motel self service laundry was $3 to wash and $4 to dry.

Overall, A great stay! Thanks!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank englishman252525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Hello englishman252525. Thank you for taking your time to place a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your room and the general Mount Cook experience. Thank you for your two suggestions, we will review the number of TV channels, but we feel the laundry is a fair price for our location. Being in a National park we do pay higher prices for services like rubbish removal, water and electricity than in cities. Thank you once again and hope the rest of your holiday around New Zealand goes well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My partner and I recently stayed at this motel. The views of the mountains and lakes as we were driving to the village was amazing. Heather and Paul are very friendly and offered us great tips for the area. The room was immaculate and they provided one of the best rooms for us with a stunning view of Mt Cook. The room was exactly as in the pictures which is a relief when booking online. As with some of the other hotels we stayed at on our trip, they weren't as pictured. The room was very clean with everything you could need to make food if you wish. The spa bath was big and relaxing. The bed was very comfortable too providing us with the best sleep of all the hotels. What is probably nicer is that it is privately owned and no tour buses with large amounts of people coming and going to disturb you. Heather recommended the Old Mountaineers Café Bar and Restaurant for dinner. We went the two nights we were there. Privately owned and they make a beautiful dinner. Food is top notch. These two businesses are amazing and I really am missing Mt Cook. Will definitely visit again as you could never get tired of looking at those mountains...or the many lambs along the route to Mt Cook. Thank you Heather and Paul for a beautiful motel in a beautiful place!

Room Tip: Book early if going during peak periods. We stayed in an executive studio with glorious views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissEmilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thank you MissEmilia for your great comments about Aoraki Court Motel. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to your liking.The views are amazing and we are lucky to offer this in all our apartments.Thank you for your remarks saying "what you see on our website is exactly what you get" This certainly sets the standards when you first walk into our rooms.Hope to see you back sometime for another enjoyable holiday in New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The motel is very reasonably priced with spacious, clean, and very modern rooms. I particularly liked the modern bathroom with a spa bath and an excellent shower. The views were, of course, fantastic. The only downside was the free WiFi, which we frequently had difficulty connecting to.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Hi Stacey M, many thanks for your comments about Aoraki Court Motel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and yes the views are great. Sorry about the Wifi as the provider was up grading the server and there was a few issues, but all working now.
many thanks and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed a week hoping to do most of the day walks in the area. Aoraki Court Motel is very new, very clean, and very well equipped. A great place to come back to after a long day hiking. We planned on preparing most of meals and our unit came with everything we needed to make this possible. As others have written, the rooms are tastefully decorated and quite comfy. The staff were friendly and helpful.

On all but one day the weather was stunning. This allowed us to do some extra hikes suggested by the staff at the local Department of Conservation Visitors Centre.

Room Tip: Not all of the rooms have a full view of the mountains, best ask for one with a view if that's i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank digitaltrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Hello digitaltrails..what a great review, thank you. The weather plays a big part in what people have planned, but as we say "get out and do it". You made the most of what Mount Cook has to offer while you were here and that is great. Hope that you will call back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mt. Cook Village
0.4 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel
The Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
2,036 reviews
24.6 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,427 reviews
24.8 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
696 reviews
19.2 mi away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
0.1 mi away
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge
#3 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village

Address: 26 Bowen Drive, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7946, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Mt. Cook Village
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mt. Cook Village
Price Range: £91 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New Motel Complex situated within the stunning Aoraki Mt Cook National Park with every unit having absolutely stunning view of Mt Sefton and the surrounding mountains. 24/7 Reception, daily housekeeping and private bathrooms in all units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing