We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

We were doing a 2 week road trip around the south island and this was the first place we stayed at in this country. We stayed here for two nights and it was absolutely wonderful. It was roomy and comfortable with amaaaazing views and lovely service. Climate control was a big plus; the bathroom was clean and big with a giant jacuzzi jet bathtub and comfortable shower head; the mini kitchen was well equipped with a fridge, pots and pans, dishes and utensils; and a great flat screen tv. Even though we didnt mind the con, I'll mention it for reference: con is that the closets were a bit small. I actually cant complain anymore than that. Having now finished our 2 week trip, we look back and see that this was by far our favorite place we stayed in in the country (and we went to some pretty nice places too)!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank cppycks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Hi Cppycks,

Thank you for taking your time out to make such a wonderful review. It sounds like you had a lovely 2 weeks travelling around the South Island and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found your room clean, comfortable and well-equipped.
Thanks again and I hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,489)
There are newer reviews for Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,274 - 1,280 of 1,489 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

We only had one night in a 2 bedroom apartment at the ACM, but it was a great stay. We should have stayed longer - we will next time. Staff were really friendly and helpful. The place is fairly new, and the rooms are warm, clean, and well appointed with self contained necessities. But the most amazing things are the proximity to all that the Mt Cook area has to offer by way of outdoors activities (which, again, we failed to capitalize on by only staying for one night) and the views! Probably not so amazing if you're from the Alps, Himayas or Rockies, but if you are from ancient, flat Australia, they are pretty breathtaking. Price was up there, but was worth the money. And we were there during shoulder season, so whole of Mt Cook Village had a bit of a tumble weed feel to it (which suited me, but others might find a bit quiet). To summarize, stay for a few nights to take advantage of the self contained accomm (cook for self and reduce costs) and amazing landscape/activities on the doorstep.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOCKMAC07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Hi LOCKMAC07, thanks so much for your fantastic review! I am please your enjoyed your stay with us and in the Mount Cook Village. We are lucky to have Motels in such a wonderful location and we hope to see you again for a few more days stay so you can take advantage of this! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Yet again, I came across this excellent motel thank to TripAdvisor. On our way back from Queenstown to Christchurch, we decided to squeeze in a visit to Mt Cook. The Hermitage gets mentioned quite a bit, but having now seen The Hermitage, i'm so grateful for having stayed here as the chalets are nothing to write home about and the rooms in the main building are over-priced compared to this gem.
Pros:
- Super-clean and spotless. They pride themselves in maintaining clean facilities
- Super-quiet. Despite noticing a family next door with the TV playing as we walked back into our room, we never heard a sound
- Excellent shower
- Convenient kitchenette, but thankfully, they do not permit guests to cook foods -- including fish -- with strong odors as a respect to future guests
Cons:
- Struggling here, but perhaps a blind over the frosted window in the kitchenette by the door would be good, but pretty minor to say the least

Tip: We never cooked in the restaurant next door to the backpackers hostel was great value for a filling meal. Note there are no stores or supermarkets. So don't forget to bring food if you plan to be there a few days.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the facility that faces out directly to Mt Cook.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morrisdpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Hi Morrisdpa,

Thank you so much for your great review. As we are a relatively new motel, many people have not heard of us yet so thank you for acknowledging that there are other accommodations in the village opposed to the Hermitage Hotel. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found your room well-equipped and comfortable. Also, I am very pleased you were happy to see that we do not allow any odourous cooking. Some guests become very frustrated when reading this however I am pleased you understood that it is out of respect for future guests. Thanks again and I hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We arrived a little early and were told (not very nicely) to come back at the correct check in time. When we finally got the key to the 'executive studio with spa bath' we were pleasantly surprised - the room appeared new, clean and modern. It was also quite spacious, with a kitchenette (adequate kitchenware), fridge and a microwave. The bathroom was clean and had a nice, large spa. Basic toilettries were provided. WiFi was free - we received 200MB voucher for a 2 day stay. The best thing about the accommodation was the location - in the valley, with a beautiful view of the surrouning mountains. Negatives - there was a bright light outside, next to the kitchen window - it kept shining in all night and affected the sleep quality. TV reception was poor.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pralinka10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Hi Pralinka10 thank you so much for your review. I am sorry that you were unhappy about being told to check in at a later time. We have a 2pm check in each day to ensure our cleaners have adequate time to clean each room, which is reflected in our high standard of each rooms cleanliness. Because of our location, surrounded by beautiful mountains as you said, TV reception can at times be poor. If you are to stay again and this happens please advise reception although there is only so much one can do due to our location. As for the bright light, I am sorry this disturbed your sleep. We are using the lowest watt bulb available and because there are no street lights in the area, the light outside your room is there for your safety and security. On a higher note I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found your room nice and comfortable. I hope I addressed all your concerns and I hope to see you in Mount Cook again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

We arrived after a long and beautiful drive from Queenstown and was warmly welcomed . The unit 19 was spotless and well equiped. Paul was helpful with dinning in that area. However we chose to self cater for a change as the kitchenette was adequate. The bonus was a spa and it felt great after our trip. Oh, the view from our room was amazing, snow capped mountain , setting sun glowing on the ice! You can forgive the lack of greenery around as this is a new property and there are signs of landscaping emerging. All the best Paul and Heather !

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GohAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Hi GohAussie,

Thank you very much for your kind review. I am pleased you enjoyed your room and the view. The mountains are beautiful both in summer and winter. I hope to see you again possibly in the summer and hopefully by then we will have some more greenery! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The day we arrived at Mount Cook (on our three week tour of NZ) it was snowing and gradually deteriorated to almost blizzard conditions. Weather wise it was disappointing. We started on the Hooker Valley trek but after an hour had to turn back as it was dangerous. Our stay at the Aoraki Court was very pleasant. We had a spacious room with spa and a self contained kitchen unit. The decor and bathroom fittings were of a high standard. Quite a luxurious feel to it. The lady at reception gave us a small bottle of milk to go with the tea/coffee tray which was much better than the normal powdered sachets. There was free wi fi. We didn't see the mountains on the day we arrived but luckily, the following morning heralded a lovely sunny day and we had the opportunity to enjoy the views.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Hi AmyAmy,

Thank you so much for your review. I am very pleased you enjoyed the room and additional amenities. The weather in Mount Cook Village can be very unpredictable as you said so I am pleased the sun came out for you! Thanks again, I hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This is an absolutely beautiful place to stay, nice and comfortable room. Incredible scene from the windows. Although there is not many shops around and internet access is not very good, the room is well equipped. The sunrise & sunset is amazing. definitely will go again!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Wing K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Hi Wing K,

Thank you for taking time to write a review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very lucky to have our motel in such beautiful area. Because of our location however there are very few shops so we suggest people go to the supermarket before arriving in Mount Cook. Again I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and in Mount Cook Village and I look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mt. Cook Village
0.4 mi away
Hermitage Hotel
Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
1,978 reviews
24.8 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,205 reviews
24.6 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
#4 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
343 reviews
0.1 mi away
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
#1 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village

Address: 26 Bowen Drive, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7946, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Mt. Cook Village
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mt. Cook Village
Price Range: £90 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New Motel Complex situated within the stunning Aoraki Mt Cook National Park with every unit having absolutely stunning view of Mt Sefton and the surrounding mountains. 24/7 Reception, daily housekeeping and private bathrooms in all units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing