We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay at Mt Cook”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place to stay at Mt Cook”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Only spent 1 night at Aoraki Court Motel but the room was fantastic.

Everything was clean and relatively well maintained, including the bathroom.

Staffs were friendly and the gentleman at the counter had good info on walks we could do in the mountain.

Minor complaints I had were
1. 200MB free wifi - still free but 200MB was a bit small to upload photos etc
2. when we asked checking out a bit later, the answer was strictly NO. No option what so ever.


Overall, it was very satisfying place to stay - warm and cosy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JK Sung Hyun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hello KJ Sung Hyun K, thank you for taking your time to place a review.
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope you went and enjoyed some of the many walks available in the area, we are always more than happy to provide information on these.

I am sorry to hear that you were not 100% happy with your stay. We will take on board your comment re wifi, as I understand due to the beautiful sights in the area, many of our guests do have a lot of photos to upload and wish to do this whilst travelling. In regards to the late check out, I am sorry that you were unhappy that you request could not be fulfilled. Because checkout is at 10am and check in is at 2pm, we have a small 4 hour gap to clean the rooms. I hope you can understand that due to this, we ask our guests to check out at 10am.

Regardless, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,118
    223
    27
    5
    2
See reviews for
330
832
36
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

There aren't a lot of places to choose from when staying in Mt. Cook village. But Aoraki Court Motel is probably the safest choice. It is relatively new, with everything you need (including a small kitchen and a spa-bath), and it is walking distance from all the main attractions located at the Hermitage.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit with a nice view- the furthest units from the reception have an unobstructed view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vins-et-Voyages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hi Vins-et-Voyages, thank you very much for your kind review.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are a relatively new motel, and so it is nice to have positive feedback from our guests. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The studio with a spa at the front was just beautiful. Spectacular view comfortable room. We had booked for two nights And when we arrived were disappointed when the room we were given was further up the back and the view even though it was good was restricted by rooms in front of it. Staff were excellent and when we asked if they had a room at the front they were only too happy to move us. What a view ! It is a memory to stay in such a lovely room with breathtaking scenery. Be sure to get the rooms at the front with uninterrupted views...just perfect

Room Tip: Be sure to book rooms at front of the motel with spa. Uninterrupted view. Some rooms at the back of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catsyd_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Hello catsyd_12. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. All the rooms within the complex face the grand Mount Sefton so everyone will have the chance to lap up the view but as you mention, we can move guests to other rooms if they are available. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay here and we hope the rest of your travels went well. Thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piedmont, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Rooms were lovely, including the views. We greatly appreciated the information sent ahead of time such as check-in hours and lack of a local market. We knew to arrive on time, and to bring food for breakfast and lunch. We ate breakfast in our room which had a great kitchenette, and lunch on the trails. We walked to dinner both nights. Our stay near Mt. Cook was a wonderful ending to our New Zealand vacation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 751Susan751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Hello 751Susan751. Thank you for your lovely review. We're happy that you had a pleasant stay with us. It is a good idea to come prepared as you did. We're glad that you enjoyed your time in the village and we hope you had a safe journey home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We were deciding between a stay in Lake Tekapo and a stay in Mount Cook Village and the many positive reviews of this motel and area led to us choosing this motel. The drive from Lake Tekapo is stunning and we were fortunate to have lovely weather on the drive in with amazing views of the lake and mountains.
The motel itself is very comfortable. We were in room 19, a studio with corner spa, which was tastefully decorated and well equipped. We brought supplies with us to self cater (do note cooking of fish or other odorous food is not permitted) and found the kitchenette had everything we needed. The bed was very comfortable and water pressure in the bathroom was excellent. We did not make use of the coin operated laundry opposite, but would imagine this to be handy for other travellers.
Heather was very welcoming and helped to recommend the Governor's bush walk, which was well suited to us and our 22mo, as well as providing an umbrella as by this stage the weather had closed in.
If you're visiting this area I would recommend this motel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiki02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Hi kiki02. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. It's good that you had great views on your way in to the village even if the weather did take a turn when you arrived. We're pleased that you enjoyed the Governors Bush walk. It gives a good insight into some of New Zealand's native flora and fauna.
Thanks for taking the time to write your review. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We planned to have a weekend away from the stress of the city - we got everything we wanted and more for our money! The room is modern, spacious, very clean and confy. The view from the back door is just breath-taking! The owners are super friendly - have a chat to Paul about the secret walks of the area ;) I would not just recommend the court to everyone but we willbe back for a lengthy stay next year!

Room Tip: all of them are great, Fantastic views to Mt Sefton
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdiAmbrozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Hi AdiAmbrozi. Thanks for your great review. We're pleased to hear that you had a relaxing stay at our complex and look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oamaru, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Room was gorgeous, view fantastic. Unfortunately Paul (Manager) was rude and charged extra $50 for room because my friend and I were 50 minutes late leaving (my friend did let the lady at the office know we were going to be later leaving as she hadn't been feeling well, no mention was made of late checkout fees then or when we checked in) Also no mention of late checkout fees in the book in hotel room. I was repremanded by Paul when i checked out and he complained to me that he had to keep staff on longer and pay them extra to clean the room because i was late checking out. Also complained that we had held him up and that because room had to be cleaned a certain way it would take longer. I sincerely appologised to him several times but found him rude. Also when checking in my friend and i asked about restaurants, was told about the backpackers next door, the old bones cafe and the hermitage. I suggested to my friend that the hermitage was lovely but paul was quite rude and kept trying to push the backpackers. Neither my friend or myself were very impressed about this. Room itself was very beautiful but because of staff i would be reluctant to stay again or reccomend to friends. (Stayed 29th March 2014)

Room Tip: corner far away suite has magical views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Hello Fiona K and thank you for your review.

We are pleased you enjoyed having a nice room and a great view to the mountains.


When customers ask about dining options I always explain that there are 3 restaurants in Mount Cook. We do not have any affiliation with any of the bars or restaurants in the village. Therefore, we do not favour one over another, this is the customer’s decision.

As your friend was looking for the closest bar, I suggested The Chamois Bar and Grill which is the next property to us. This is also run by the Hermitage Hotel.



In respect of check out times I am sure you will understand that we only have 4 hours (between 10am checkout and 2pm check-in) to clean the entire motel complex to a high standard. This ensures all rooms are ready for the arrival of the next guests. I phoned you at 10.30am to see if you were checking out and you said that you will be soon. When you came to reception after 11am you were happy with, and understood the late checkout fee of $50.00.



I’m sorry that you feel I came across as rude. However in order to maintain the smooth running of our complex we cannot make exceptions for late check-outs. This is our busy time of year and we get many requests for late checkouts AND early check-ins thus our 4 hour window would get shortened further. We need that 4 hour cleaning/servicing window. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mt. Cook Village
0.4 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel
The Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
1,869 reviews
24.8 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,116 reviews
19.2 mi away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
349 reviews
24.6 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
#4 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village

Property: Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
Address: 26 Bowen Drive, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7946, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Mt. Cook Village
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mt. Cook Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New Motel Complex situated within the stunning Aoraki Mt Cook National Park with every unit having absolutely stunning view of Mt Sefton and the surrounding mountains. 24/7 Reception, daily housekeeping and private bathrooms in all units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing