We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay, great views, great apartments!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Amazing place to stay, great views, great apartments!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This was a perfect place to stay for our family of 5. We had a 2 bedroom apartment, with 3 single beds in the second room. These apartments are brand new and lovely. The kitchen is fully equipped, and has an oven, hotplates, microwave etc. Also a rice cooker!
The bathroom was amazing. Big spa bath, decent size separate shower with amazing water pressure. So good.
We used the guest laundry, which required 2 x 2 dollar coins for the washing machine and 1 x 2 dollar and 3 x 1 dollar for the dryer. They are big industrial machines that are fast and efficient. 2 of each. Reception helped us with the right coins.
The internet was good too. It dropped out for a bit in the rain (there is apparently only one line in to Mt Cook and it suffers in bad weather).
We received a great intro email a few days before arriving, which included advice to bring your own food supplies unless you want to eat out, as there is no supermarket in Mt Cook itself. They supplied us milk on arrival and the Hermitage shop sold very limited basics.

We loved this place and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brisbane_familyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Hi brisbane_familyof5. Many thanks for your review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Aoraki Court Motel. We're glad that you found everything you needed in the kitchen and the bathroom and please accept our apologies for the internet. Thank you once again for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,168
    230
    28
    7
    2
See reviews for
349
865
36
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We spent two nights at this motel and were pleased with our choice. Our studio room was surprisingly spacious and well appointed. The room was nicely decorated and we had a good view of the surrounding mountains (when it wasn't foggy). The room was warm and we were able to adjust the heating as the evening became cooler. The hotplates and microwave were handy as we were self-catering and there were plenty of plates, pots etc. The large bathroom featured a great shower with a very strong water flow and the whole studio was clean. Bed was a little soft for our liking. Staff were courteous but unfortunately couldn't do anything about the lousy weather!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lachie255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Hi lachie255060. Thank you for your lovely review. It's great that you managed to see the view, if a little sporadically. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that you had a comfortable night in spite of the bed. We hope the rest of your New Zealand travels were just as enjoyable. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We arrived earlier than check in time, but as the managers knew I had a sick mother with me they had gone to the effort of making sure room was already for us, including having the heating on & a lovely warm welcome. Room was everything we needed, luxurious but practical, with all the things we needed including a disabled friendly bathroom.
Unfortunately the weather wasnt quite so accommodating but it was nice to have some down time just chilling out (in a toastie way) in the room & also spent a some quality time with managers Paul & Heather chatting about life in Mount Cook. Good company & great motel, would recommend to all.

Room Tip: I had a sneak look in a few rooms & they all looked equally as nice. Just depended on the sleepi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teena71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Hi teena71. Many thanks for your lovely review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, it's just a shame you didn't experience good weather. As you experienced, we're always happy to accommodate individual requests where possible and we enjoyed chatting with you, listening to your experiences from around the South Island. Thanks again for taking the time to review our complex.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Beautiful, clean rooms, amazing views and friendly staff. The staff provided good information on hikes and even went out of their way to encourage us to get breakfast elsewhere, as they thought we would get better value for our money. The room was immaculate, well-decorated and quiet. We loved being in Mt. Cook and we were so glad to have found a very affordable (and seemingly far superior) alternative to the Hermitage.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Hi Lexi M. Thank you for your kind comments. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay here and we hope that you enjoyed the walks that you chose to do. What a great picture of Mount Sefton too! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed at this property on our visit in March 2014. After a long days drive from Queenstown , Paul checked us in and we were happy that we got one of the best rooms with views for having booked much in advance.
Unfortunately, we found no milk in the fridge and going back to reception and asking Heather the reply I got was rather very rude that the milk man hadn't come and due to remote location we don't advertise as providing milk. I was very surprised having stayed from the cheapest motels to the most luxurious hotel milk for coffee and tea is always provided even if it was tiny tubs of long life milk. Since they were expecting us at least would have stocked up for guest in advance and from reading reviews here I find someone else also had the same issue earlier.
Finally she managed to give us half cup of milk from her fridge, why not than initially do this rather than spoil the first impression and us having to show our dismay.

Also all the parking outside our room and that area was taken on reporting again we were told no allocated spaces so to park further away. No initiative was taken to sort this.We than ourselves found the guest occupying the parking outside our room and sorted it out with her. The other guest occupying our space told us she had the same problem where someone else took their parking. Again no motel we have stayed in has this problem where anyone can take anyone else's parking. I was surprised the managers telling me to take someone else spot.

Finally Internet didn't work on the 2nd day we were there and we just managed our own 3g on reporting we were told that it happens.
This property is not your cheapest and we expect bit more standards or at least courtesy. to note we stayed at the sister property in Franz Josef and were very happy.

Room Tip: Only the rooms in rear of the property have full views otherwise you will be facing other rooms and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mehdi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Hello Mehdi B. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very sorry that you did not have a 100% positive stay at Aoraki Court Motel.
We are sorry that we were not able to provide milk (straightaway) for you. Our supplies were not delivered due to an issue with the order and as there are no shops in Mount Cook, we were unable to source any more. We hope that by giving you milk from our personal fridge, this would act as compensation.
Our parking is not allocated per room however there are several parking spots all within close proximity to one another, and we are unable to regulate where our guests choose to park.
Our internet can, on occasion, be problematic, however, we are always happy to try to rectify the problem. Sometimes the phone lines and therefore, the internet, are affected by bad weather and so the issue cannot be resolved immediately. With any major problems we will call our technicians, the nearest being 5 hours away, in Christchurch. So I hope you can understand that sometimes issues with the internet is out of our immediate control.
We apologise that your stay with us was marred by these problems and we hope that the rest of your New Zealand experience went well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
321 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Hotel is in the village. Nice, big modern room. There is a fully equipped kitchen, iron and free wifi (although it didn't always work). This is a great hotel at a very affordable price, with friendly service.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Hi Nathalie D. Thank you for your lovely review. We do try to resolve issues with the wifi as soon as possible but we're sorry that you experienced problems. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Mount Cook Village and wish you well for the rest of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mt. Cook Village
0.4 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel
The Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
1,913 reviews
24.8 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,157 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
#4 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge
#3 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village

Property: Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
Address: 26 Bowen Drive, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7946, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Mt. Cook Village
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mt. Cook Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New Motel Complex situated within the stunning Aoraki Mt Cook National Park with every unit having absolutely stunning view of Mt Sefton and the surrounding mountains. 24/7 Reception, daily housekeeping and private bathrooms in all units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing