We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room, great view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
Certificate of Excellence
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice room, great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

The Aoraki Court Motel has great rooms: spacious, new, clean and very comfortable. It was raining during our visit, but we happily spent time in the room. Luckily it cleared the next day, and the view towards Mt Cook from the room is fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EBinNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Hi EBinNZ, thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and that the weather managed to clear up for you so you could see the wonderful mountain views! We hope to see you back in Mount Cook Village in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,089
    214
    26
    5
    2
See reviews for
318
810
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We chose this motel because it's at ground level. It's our way of "feeling the earth" and the backyard are the fantastic views of the Mountains. The room is spacious and clean. The interior design is well thought. The lights are strategically placed too. I lost my phone charger, though the reception lend me a charger, but realized I could also charge my phone using the alarm clock. The staff were very friendly. Paul, the manager is like an Accuweather. He advised us that if we wanted to go hiking, we should do it before the next day cos the weather was gonna change. And indeed, he was right. Also advised us where to eat, ask for a map. Conveniently situated next to Chamois Bar and Grill, so we didn't need to use the kitchenette for cooking though it's provided. But we did use the microwave to heat up sandwiches. We extended our stay here from a day to two days. It's well worth it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itsafay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Hi itsafay. Thank you for your lovely review. We're glad that we could help out with your phone and it's great that you managed to walk the tracks whilst the weather was still good. Thanks for sharing your photos too. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed one night here and is a perfectly appointed motel for the three of us in our family that stayed in a studio room with a kingsize bed and one single for our daughter. It is new, spacious and very modern and superbly clean. It is close to everything in Mount Cook . The units have great heating and very insulated. Although the tariff is moderately more than average when compared to other motels , it is well worth the stay. We stayed in 8 motels around the South Island and this was definitely our number one pick!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maree111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Hello Maree111. Thank you for your positive review. We're happy that you were comfortable in your unit and hope that you managed to check out some of the nearby walking trails. As you mention, we feel that our prices reflect the quality that we are offering but we are honoured to have been your favourite accommodation in New Zealand so thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Our 2 bedroom apartment was well appointed and very clean. We were impressed by the design as it did not need extra heating, even though we live in the sub tropics and get cold quite easily. A touch of luxury in a raw environment.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Hello Rebecca F, thank you so very much for such a lovely review!
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very lucky to have our motels in such an incredible part of New Zealand, the sights to be enjoyed from our rooms or a short walk away! Thank you again and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba, Parana, Brazil
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed at Aoraki Court Motel in March and really enjoyed it . Very clean , comfortable and spacious . The view awesome ! Heather and Paul were very friendly and kind . They care about the environment what is very important . Paul has told us about the restaurant they intend to open to complete their business and I hope everything goes all right ! Thank you both for your hospitality !

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Hello Liz B, thank you for your lovely review.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We have had many reviews that note how comfortable our rooms are, and so it nice to know that we can provide a relaxing 'home away from home'. We do indeed have some extra space on our property, so watch this space!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

This was a perfect place to stay for our family of 5. We had a 2 bedroom apartment, with 3 single beds in the second room. These apartments are brand new and lovely. The kitchen is fully equipped, and has an oven, hotplates, microwave etc. Also a rice cooker!
The bathroom was amazing. Big spa bath, decent size separate shower with amazing water pressure. So good.
We used the guest laundry, which required 2 x 2 dollar coins for the washing machine and 1 x 2 dollar and 3 x 1 dollar for the dryer. They are big industrial machines that are fast and efficient. 2 of each. Reception helped us with the right coins.
The internet was good too. It dropped out for a bit in the rain (there is apparently only one line in to Mt Cook and it suffers in bad weather).
We received a great intro email a few days before arriving, which included advice to bring your own food supplies unless you want to eat out, as there is no supermarket in Mt Cook itself. They supplied us milk on arrival and the Hermitage shop sold very limited basics.

We loved this place and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brisbane_familyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Hi brisbane_familyof5. Many thanks for your review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Aoraki Court Motel. We're glad that you found everything you needed in the kitchen and the bathroom and please accept our apologies for the internet. Thank you once again for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mt. Cook Village
0.4 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel
The Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,846 reviews
24.7 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
19.1 mi away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
#4 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.1 mi away
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
#1 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village

Property: Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
Address: 26 Bowen Drive, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7946, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Mt. Cook Village
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mt. Cook Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New Motel Complex situated within the stunning Aoraki Mt Cook National Park with every unit having absolutely stunning view of Mt Sefton and the surrounding mountains. 24/7 Reception, daily housekeeping and private bathrooms in all units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing