We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks to Trip Advisor...we chose well”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Thanks to Trip Advisor...we chose well”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

What a lovely warm modern unit. We arrived at night, so had to wait to next day to find what was on the other side of the curtains!
A nice spa to end the day,
A bed that makes you want to sleep forever.
and in the morning what a view to wake up to!
(The only thing about staying in Mt Cook, is that the other mountains become nameless... would be nice to know the name of the mountain that greeted us in the morning, and some of the others.)
Beginning of Winter so car totally frozen in the morning.. a small shelter could be a good thing?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smiliekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Hello smiliekiwi. Thank you for taking your time to place a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your room and what it had to offer. The DOC information centre only 10 mins walk away which they would be able to tell you which mountains are which as they are the experts.
Please remember that we are located inside a National Park, there are building restrictions regarding the design as we need to blend into the environment. As small shelter would be out of the question. People come here to experience the outdoors and sometimes difficult weather conditions we have here in this alpine environment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,168
    230
    28
    7
    2
See reviews for
349
865
36
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

I glad myself to stay here for three night! Spectacular views. Clean and tidy.

I will very much like to go back to Mt Cook again just to stay here and gladly recommend this great place to all my friends.

Thanks

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sharon-Hugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you Sharon-Hugh in taking the time to post a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and are happy to recommend us to your family and friends. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We ( 6 people) had booked two triple bed units for our stay of two nights. The location of the property is great with views of the snow capped mountains through large full glass wall on one side of the room. The entire process of booking, check in and check out were efficient, but very impersonal - at all the other 7 places we stayed in south Island we found the managers to be very warm. We were provided with milk on arrival and the room had supplies for coffee and tea. The rooms were quiet spacious and very clean. However was surprised to find unclean and stained dish cloth provided. I thought this was one off, but the one kept on the second day was also similar, same in my friend's room as well.( I am generally not picky - but thought it surprising for a place that prides itself in providing a "virus and microbe free environment " !!! to its customers through steam cleaning, as notified through a short note placed on the table ). Well, to be fair to the managers, we did not bring this to their notice - maybe they would have replaced them. The beds were very comfortable, and the heating was good. Bathrooms were very clean and adequate toiletries and towels were provided. Even though the rooms were otherwise comfortable the seating provided included only 3 dining chairs, no lounge chairs or sofa to sit and relax. Again this was different from all the other places we stayed. The kitchenette is strictly that - kitchenette equipped with a microwave, two burner cook top, toaster and water kettle but limited vessels - so not much you could do even if you wanted to, however we did not find this to be a problem. There is also an in room reminder, not to do any odorous cooking or be charged for extra cleaning, understandable, but again the only one we came across during our three week stay in New Zealand. This was the second most expensive place we had booked during our holiday, and probably my expectations were high. Hence left with a feeling this wasn't as much value for money as our other stays. This was probably so because of the remoteness of the place. However I suspect this would be the place to stay if you are in Mt cook as there aren't many options available. Overall a comfortable stay but...????

Room Tip: Rooms right at the back will have totally unhindered views of the mountains. We were in the middle r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trawelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you Trawelbug for your review. It is pleasing that you found your stay with us comfortable, the rooms spacious and very clean. We cannot therefore understand why you would mark your overall stay with us as average because you found a stain on a dishcloth!.

Everything in our units from towels, sheets/pillowcases, tea towels and dishcloths get put through an extensive wash and dry. We are very proud to say this is done on site so we have full control of the cleanliness of our linen.. There is a big difference between a dishcloth being dirty to a stain on it.and we will 100% stand by our cleanliness.

Regarding our kitchenettes, the majority of our guests are overwhelmed with how well they are equipped we are again not quite sure what your expectations were and what you were expecting to cook. The signs in the kitchens regarding the non cooking of odorous foods and seafood is only there for the protection of other guests checking into the room the next day, there is nothing worse than having to experience other peoples cooking smells.

The two inits that you booked for three people in each unit contain one leather lounge chair, three dining chairs and a breakfast table. As they contain a King Sized bed and a King Single bed there is absolutely mo more room for additional sofas as suggested by you. If you felt that it was the more space that you required then you had the option of booking one of our Two Bedroom Apartments which at 65m2 contain full kitchen, a dining table and four chairs, two separate bedrooms, lounge with a three seater leather settee a lounge chair and a ottoman.

Aoraki Court Motel is situated within the Aoraki/Mt Cook National Park and provides guests with a real feeling of the outdoors, breathtaking views of the surrounding mountains a place to relax and enjoy the activities The Village has to offer.

One final comment we would like to make is that most guests who stay with us upon check out leave the unit in a reasonable state. However recently we have experienced more and more guests who feel they can treat the room/unit in such a way so that additional time and effort is required by our hard working cleaning staff to clean and prepare the units for following guests. In some cases there is food scraps and rubbish everywhere, all pots/dishes/glasses dirty and found all over the unit, linen and carpet stained with food etc. This was also the case after your departure and in future we will look to charge for additional cleaning.

We hope that enjoyed the rest of your stay in New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
220 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel is clean, very spacious and the staff are really friendly. We arrived at late in the night and were greeted with a smile and upgraded to a two bedroom room with spectacular views. When you wake up in the morning, you get to see the most beautiful colours of the sun rays bouncing off the mountain peaks.
The bathroom is very big and well stocked with toiletries. There is even a Jacuzzi bath.The kitchen is equipped with modern top of the line whilteware.
I would definitely recommend this place. Try the food next door in the backpackers, but go easy on ordering when you are in a group as the portions are huge.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sushant N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you SushNam for acknowledging our staff they put a lot of time and effort to the smooth running of the complex and sometimes the job isn't easy so comments like this is really appreciated. We are pleased to hear that your stay was perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Friendly staff, very clean, comfortable accommodation, lovely views: what else can you want?
The kitchen was well equipped and the unit was spacious. The position on the edge of the village is convenient for getting to the start of the best walks, either a short drive or a stroll across the fields to the campsite. The only thing I would say is that you should shop on your way to Aoraki if you are self-catering, as the groceries are limited. There are some eateries in the village, notably the Hermitage hotel. We were very lucky with the weather too, so our stay was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmalleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you hmalleston for taking the time to post this lovely review. Great to let people know there is no supermarket here in The Village. Our units a well equipped for cooking so yes bring those necessary items with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

After several days of travelling & sleeping in our campervan we chose to stay in a spa bath unit whilst in the village. Aoraki Court was wonderfully clean, spacious (after the campervan it seemed huge) & warm. The view was brilliant (when we arrived). My partner loved the spa bath, however as I am 6 foot tall it was too short for me without laying on my side in the fetal position. Despite this I would certainly stay here again next time I visit the mountain.
Lyndon

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiDragonfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hi KiwiDragonfly it must have been a lovely change from staying in your campervan to enjoy the comforts this complex has to offer. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and maybe next time it will be for longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

What a great find this place was. We stayed just the one night on our way to christchurch. Amazing views but unfortunately not long after we arrived Cookie threw a massive tantrum. The thunder and lightning show he put on was still pretty spectacular though and we will definitely go back (hopefully when he's in a better mood!) the accommodation itself was lovely, modern and spacious room with all the facilities you would need for a short or long term stay. We made use of the spa bath which was a huge bonus. This motel prides itself on its high level of cleanliness and it definitely shows. Affordable and comfortable accommodation, you'd be crazy to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: We had a great view of from room 20.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GTMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hello GTMT and thank you for your endless stream of lovely comments. You are right in saying the weather can change and it sure gives you a spectacular showing of thunder and lightening. We often get people just coming up to stay to see this from the comforts of our units. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mt. Cook Village
0.4 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel
The Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
1,913 reviews
24.8 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,157 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
#4 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge
#3 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village

Property: Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
Address: 26 Bowen Drive, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7946, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Mt. Cook Village
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mt. Cook Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New Motel Complex situated within the stunning Aoraki Mt Cook National Park with every unit having absolutely stunning view of Mt Sefton and the surrounding mountains. 24/7 Reception, daily housekeeping and private bathrooms in all units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing