We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“modern motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

stayed here for one night on 14 aug.
it was early evening and snowing when we arrived. no one offered to help us with our luggage but then again this may be typical of motels.
there was said to be free wifi of which you would be provided with 200mb for the day. however this would not connect for the time we were there which was quite disappointing.

this place is quite clean and tidy, however was a little eery and deserted. may be better in summer time. probably wouldn't stay here again..

I wonder what the hotel in mount cook is doing wrong to be number 2 in town, second to this one.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Hello Mummawithhannah.
Winter is the low season, that is why your comments " however was a little eery and deserted"
Regarding the internet, no other rooms who were in house that night had problems connecting.I admit that when it is very wet and stormy the system is slow.
As we are a Motel, we do not have porters like at a Hotel to help with luggage but we are more than happy to help when there is a need.it is most annoying that you rate us on things that are totally out of our control and obviously Mt Cook is not the place for you.Thank you for comments on the cleanliness of your apartment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,543)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,117 - 1,123 of 1,543 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

We arrived at Mount Cook village in the early evening and after driving around for a bit took a room at the Aoraki Court Motel based on all its positive TripAdvisor reviews. Glad to say that we agree with them entirely - we had a very comfortable, very modern and spacious motel unit with a fantastic location providing views of the spectacular surroundings. The staff were welcoming and generous, and the rate was very reasonable. Totally recommend this motel for visitors to the beautiful Mount Cook area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveTNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hello DaveTNZ.
Thank you for your great review about Aoraki Court Motel. We are pleased you found your room comfortable, clean and great views. We are receiving great comments from many people from all over the world. Thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

If you are looking to stay in Mount Cook then you cannot go passed the Aoraki Court Motel for a truly excellent place with some of the most amazing views in the area. There was nothing better than waking up, pulling back the curtain and seeing that incredible view. The room was superb and very clean and had everything you could need. The manager Paul was easily one of the nicest and most helpful people that we've encountered at any motel, anywhere. The size of the room was outstanding and it helped to have a car park available for every unit. The free wifi was an added bonus. We would recommend this place to anyone and would definitely stay there again if in the area.

Room Tip: Room 25 had an amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Hi Nick H, thank you for taking your time to place a great review.
It was nice meeting you and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us.
We work hard in keeping the rooms clean and make people feel welcome. Great views from all directions and a lot of great walks when the weather plays its part.
Cheers and hope to see you here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We recently stayed here for 2 nights on our way back up to Christchurch. Room 26 was perfect. Look out the window/door and you are just surrounded by the mountains!

Our room was clean, spacious and comfortable with everything that you need in there, again, what you see and read of this place is what you get. Wifi is available with codes provided upon check in and each code had 200mb allocated. If you run out of codes, reception will provide more codes.

We arrived into Mt Cook early afternoon but was only able to do the short walks to the Blue Lake and Tasman Glacier views as the weather was changing. The following day was worst and was not able to do the Hunter Valley 3 hour return walk. Unfortunately we were not able to see much of Mt Cook!

It is a tiny village with the few restaurants to choose from. We tried the backpackers pub but was only average. Our second night we tried the Old Mountaineers cafe and it was lovely. Much preferred over the backpackers.

There is no supermarket in Mt Cook - so if you are choosing to stay few nights here, buy all that is required (depending on which way you are coming from) from either Twizel or Lake Tekapo. We did make the drive out to Lake Tekapo for the morning/afternoon on our 2nd day in Mt Cook due to bad weather and was only an hour and easy to drive, and stunning views!

Overall, fantastic 2 nights at the Aoraki Court Motel and will be our accommodation again when we return to hopefully see and do more at Mt Cook!

Room Tip: Room 26 is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AVKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Hi AVKT. Thank you for your great review.
This not only helps us but other people deciding where to stay and what to do.
We are pleased you enjoyed your room and the great views. The weather does play a large part as this often changes at a drop of a hat.
We hope that you will come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed at Aoraki Court Motel in March 2014 while traveling through New Zealand for our 25-year anniversary. Prior to arrival, the staff was very communicative and helpful, answered questions and even made it a point to reserve an end unit with the best view for our anniversary! We arrived and were not disappointed! Fantastic views of the mountains through large, sliding glass doors. Very roomy, clean, comfortable accommodations, full kitchen, contemporary bathroom with a great shower. Good laundry facility. Perfect location for exploring Aoraki/Mt. Cook National Park. Price for value is outstanding. Very pleased and would return.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JKandAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you JKTC for your great review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us and all what Mount Cook had to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The accomodation was wonderful with fantastic views. Exceptionally clean and well appointed. The bed was so comfortable and warm with great linens. The bathroom was luxurious and kitchen well appointed. The hosts were welcoming and helpful. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HamiltonOlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Hello HamiltonOlive
Thank you for taking your time to place a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Very clean rooms. Beds were fresh and comfortable. Nice shower, and bath. The kitchen had everything, including toaster, fridge, microwave, coffees, teas. Fresh milk for coffee. Excellent location. Staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: View of side of Mt Cook
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaimie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you Jamie L for your review.
We have many international guests stay with us and enjoy what we offer at Aoraki Court Motel.
Hope the rest of your New Zealand holiday goes well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mt. Cook Village
0.4 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel
The Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
2,035 reviews
24.6 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,427 reviews
24.8 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
692 reviews
19.2 mi away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
0.1 mi away
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge
#3 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village

Address: 26 Bowen Drive, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7946, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Mt. Cook Village
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mt. Cook Village
Price Range: £92 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New Motel Complex situated within the stunning Aoraki Mt Cook National Park with every unit having absolutely stunning view of Mt Sefton and the surrounding mountains. 24/7 Reception, daily housekeeping and private bathrooms in all units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing