We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of YHA Aoraki Mt Cook

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
Certificate of Excellence
O'Fallon, Illinois
Level Contributor
102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Right in the middle of all the huge mountains. This hostel was in the perfect location. Easy to find and check in. The staff was nice and the facilities were clean. Beds were comfy. Short walk/drive to all of the trails. Definitely walk to the glaciers if you get the chance. I only got to stay here one night and didn't want to leave. Stay here as long as you can! It is a beautiful place to relax. Price was cheap and well worth it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 325irollin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    110
    27
    4
    2
See reviews for
31
73
71
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here in November 2011. There aren't many choices for accomodation in Mt Cook and while it is pricey for a YHA it was cheap in comparison to the other accomodation options. The communal areas were slightly cramped but it was great to meet fellow travellers. Amenities were clean and tidy. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The view from our room was very pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vectra113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

There are only a couple of choices in Mt. Cook but this one is really pretty good. Clean and well located. A lot of car parks and the staff is amazingly friendly. The kitchen is great and its really well stocked.

Room Tip: Buy everything you need before coming up. there is no supermarket up here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AngDingJiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

This YHA is all wooden, super cute, warm, the view from our double room was worth just staying in the room. Even if we didn't do that. We wished we had booked for longer than one night.
It's expensive for a yha but the facilities are great. We were there in summer so didn't need everything but there is a sauna and a drying room. If we ever go back in winter, we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatiaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a 8 bed dorm for 3 nights. On check in there had been a power cut and the generator for the whole village had gone down. Fair enough, we stumbled to our room in the dark and hoped that at some point heating would return to the building.

The heater in our room was an electric heater with a timed button that stopped after about 2 minutes - others around the hostel did seem to last longer. This meant that our room never really heated up properly and it was alway a bit cold.

We had bad weather one day so spent our time reading in the common area. We requested the fire be out on as it was freezing cold but were told not until 3pm. This seems a bit strange. I understand if no one is in the room and using it but instead I sat wrapped in hat and scarf and was still cold!

Showers and bathrooms seemed pretty clean, as was the kitchen. Although the kitchen was fairly small for the amount of people trying to cook in there sometimes.


Would still recommend to stay here as the location is just amazing.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
70 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I stayed a couple of nights in an 8 bed dorm. I arrived early but was unable to check-in until around 2pm.

Hostel was very clean and the showers were always hot which was perfect after a long day's hiking. Kitchen and lounge area were fairly small for the number of beds though and were always too busy.

Comfortable beds but would be nice to have a power socket by each bunk. There were only a couple of power sockets available in the lounge area too.

Ample parking and nice location on the edge of Mt Cook village. There is little choice for accommodation at Mt Cook, but I'd have no problems staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leemwarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHONGQING
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

we're 9 persons ' family from China ,we got there so late ,the staff left the key on the door,so nice. the room is so clean and warm,everything is good ,esp for YHA, don't afraid there are so many people. it's so quiet in the evening ,so u can make a good dream. YHA MT.COOK provide a big and clean ketchen ,so good.of course u can park here so convinence.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexlcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mt. Cook Village
0.5 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel
The Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
1,913 reviews
19.2 mi away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
24.8 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,346 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
#4 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Aoraki Mt Cook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Aoraki Mt Cook

Property: YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
Address: 1 Bowen Drive | cnr Bowen & Kitchener, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 8770, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Mt. Cook Village
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Mt. Cook Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — YHA Aoraki Mt Cook 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to YHA Mt Cook! Our beautiful alpine lodge in the Heart of Aoraki / Mt Cook National Park is the perfect base to explore and experience New Zealand's Southern Alps. Enjoy the natural beauty of the area by taking walks suitable for all ages and abilities. Kayaking, Skiing, Boating, Flying and Stargazing are all activities that can be enjoyed here in Aoraki / Mt Cook, as well as comfortable dining in the village's cafes and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your YHA Aoraki Mt Cook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Mt. Cook Hotel Mt. Cook Village
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing