We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what you would look for from a Youth Hostel”
Review of YHA Aoraki Mt Cook

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The hostel was clean and well organised with a good kitchen. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a private twin room so can't comment on the dorms, but there seemed to be plenty of washroom/toilet facilities as we never had to queue for them.
Of course, being budget accommodation there are always a few things not quite right, like the lampshade in the bedroom that you hit your head on every time you walk past it. More significantly, the door to our room did not lock reliably (the frame was damaged) but I have every confidence that this will be repaired promptly, judging by how the rest of the building is maintained. Overall, exactly what I expected when I booked it.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank EdinburghDrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

147 - 153 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

as you drive into mt cook, the views are mind blowing, the landscape takes all your attention.

The building is a non descript place, but that is what you want, no point trying to out do the scenary really

the facilities are basic, but again, what do you expect?

clean, comfortable, warm. Internet, phones, cooking facilities, chill out areas

just what you need

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

As budget travelers, our family of 3 were just looking for a place to sleep with a kitchen to cook our meals. This place meets all those requirements. The comfort of the rooms really depends on which rooms you have been assigned to. Initially, we were assigned to a 8-bed room that was tiny and quite a squeeze, but the kind receptionist offered to shift us to another 8-bedder that was completely empty. That certainly gave us a lot more room to move about and put our stuff in the room.

The kitchen was very big and had plenty of stoves and preparation areas, so it wasn't too crowded during peak hour (dinner time).

There was also ample free parking available right in front of the building and needless to say, the 360-view of the place is mesmerizing. If you are a YHA member, you also get free wifi. There is also a jacuzzi and a sauna, but we didn't use them. The shared toilets were also pretty clean, but that is pretty much the norm in most of the backpackers in New Zealand.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ninjawarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Stayed in a 8 bed dorm.The room was big enough for everyone,but only 3 plug points.Heater was not working, but the staff was sweet enough to give us extra blankets. Big kitchen and very clean. I enjoyed staying there!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prue w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Nice lay out of a hostel. Clean and tidy and the staff were friendly but the price of it is not worth it. I know ur in Mouth Cook and cost are high but your just taking every penny us backpackers have.

Remember YHA was set up?!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

It was definitely worst it for money. We were 7 in our dorm and only 2 little cubes for clothes of everyone.. Basically the floor was full of luggage.

Jacuzzi wasn't enough warm at all even it was on since 3h

Reception close at 7.00pm and you are not allowed to turn on the fire in the commune area so basically you are freezing


I'd love to tell you not to stay in this hostel, but unfortunately they have domination, being the only youth hostel in Mt Cook. And Mt Cook is definitely worth spending a couple of days at, I absolutely loved it...

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steph44980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHA N, Manager at YHA Aoraki Mt Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Hi,

Thanks for taking the time out to comment about your stay with us.

I was sorry to hear that your experience at YHA Mt Cook was not as you might have wished. Unfortunately, at that point the fire in the communal area was out of commission. Our sauna, however, is adjustable for heat and could have been easily adjusted by one of our staff.

Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. I can assure you that our fire has now been fixed and I would encourage anyone who has issues with our service to contact our friendly staff who will be happy to help make your stay with us more comfortable.

Cheers,

Jason Neave, YHA Mt Cook Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Mt Cook YHA. Easy to find, clean, organised, comfortable bed, beautiful hot shower, large kitchen. Superb location, surrounded by mountains. Very helpful staff. I would definitely book again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mt. Cook Village
0.5 mi away
Hermitage Hotel
Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
1,997 reviews
24.7 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,398 reviews
24.8 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
0.1 mi away
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
#4 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Aoraki Mt Cook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Aoraki Mt Cook

Address: 1 Bowen Drive | cnr Bowen & Kitchener, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 8770, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Mt. Cook Village
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Mt. Cook Village
Price Range: £21 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — YHA Aoraki Mt Cook 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to YHA Mt Cook! Our beautiful alpine lodge in the Heart of Aoraki / Mt Cook National Park is the perfect base to explore and experience New Zealand's Southern Alps. Enjoy the natural beauty of the area by taking walks suitable for all ages and abilities. Kayaking, Skiing, Boating, Flying and Stargazing are all activities that can be enjoyed here in Aoraki / Mt Cook, as well as comfortable dining in the village's cafes and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your YHA Aoraki Mt Cook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Mt. Cook Hotel Mt. Cook Village
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing