We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay”
Review of YHA Aoraki Mt Cook

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed in a triple room and a shared a common bathroom at YHA Mt Cook. It was clean and comfortable with very friendly and helpful staff. It was a very scenic drive to Mt Cook and we recommend others to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank StevenLeung777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    107
    26
    4
    2
See reviews for
31
72
68
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stunning views welcome you from the upper rooms of the hostel. You quickly forgive the rotten water pressure in the area. Wifi was not working at the time, so check before you arrive. Clean and tidy. No ensuite rooms available, so you have to be patient with the irritating visitors who wish to take an hour in the bathroom. The area is magnificent, food is expensive but good. Maybe bring your own groceries. It's a shared fridge space, a large kitchen.

Room Tip: Take the upstairs rooms with a view. Double with a single. It's worth that little but more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Whether you enjoy your stay depends on the weather and your food resources. We stayed here for 8 nights as hostel cleaning volunteers. THERE IS NO SUPERMARKET ON SITE! If you stay here you need a car to go to the next town to go shopping or stay here for a short time. Other than that the views are amazing surrounded by snow capped mountains and there are plenty of walks to go on. Again if you desire to see the Tasman Glacier you need a car as it took us 1 hour and a half to walk 1/3 of the way. The hostel it's self was quite good. The room was spacious and the noise was quiet all the time we stayed. They have a DvD catalogue which is vast and a good plus on a rainy day. The staff were really helpful and friendly and the kitchen + dining area was large and very clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Stayed in the triple occupancy room for 3 nights last Nov. Got an amazing view of the sunset and surrounding mountains. The hostel and facilities are very clean. Huge kitchen with a lot of utensils. Overall, it was a very pleasant stay at a low price.
Do stock up on food before you enter Mt Cook Road cause there is no convenience store there and the food can be quite pricey. The reception does sell some foods for those unprepared.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank tennistensai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed here a week in October. Very cosy hostel, very comfortable, didn't feel cramped at any point. Very helpful staff with mini shop behind the reception, handy if you (like me) forgot that mountains don't host supermarkets. Shame about the cost, but what do you expect. Beds very warm at night, only noise comes from outside (particularly if stormy). Kitchen very big, plenty of room for people to prepare meals, as was the dining room. Overall very comfortable, quiet stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
135 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We picked this place as this is the cheapest accomodation we could find. We stayed for a night. The hostel is cosy. We booked a private room. All rooms share toilets and shower however we did not need to queue for anything at all Clean toilets. No free wifi. Huge kitchen with good equipment. Limited parking spaces.If you drive in late, you probably have to park further. Nevertheless its a great stay on my birthday.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lpypeiying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This is a great hostel! We had our own room with a double bed, and a great view of Mount Cook. Bathroom was shared, but it was always clean. Our room was on the upper floor so it was quite all the time we stayed there. Shared kitchen area with lots of space, pots and pans. Staff was friendly and helped out to explain the area, and “what to see”. The room was a bit cold during the night, and there was only a heater with a 5 min timer.
If you are on a budget this is a great choice! The sauna was a bit too cold, but then you are asking two persons from the Nordic  Didn’t spend time in the TV/computer-room but it seemed to have what you needed. Extra plus for the unlimited Wi-Fi! For just a few dollars you could surf as much as you wanted. Not that common around hotels/hostels in NZ.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank everythingcounts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mt. Cook Village
0.5 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel
The Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
19.2 mi away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
24.7 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
#4 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Aoraki Mt Cook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Aoraki Mt Cook

Property: YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
Address: 1 Bowen Drive | cnr Bowen & Kitchener, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 8770, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Mt. Cook Village
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Mt. Cook Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Aoraki Mt Cook 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to YHA Mt Cook! Our beautiful alpine lodge in the Heart of Aoraki / Mt Cook National Park is the perfect base to explore and experience New Zealand's Southern Alps. Enjoy the natural beauty of the area by taking walks suitable for all ages and abilities. Kayaking, Skiing, Boating, Flying and Stargazing are all activities that can be enjoyed here in Aoraki / Mt Cook, as well as comfortable dining in the village's cafes and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your YHA Aoraki Mt Cook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Mt. Cook Hotel Mt. Cook Village
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing