We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location. Excellent lounge & terrace. Compact room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great location. Excellent lounge & terrace. Compact room”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

No problems here. Enjoyed 3 nights. Brought brekkie & lunch supplies, although some guests also cooked their dinners in the well equipped kitchen/diner.

30mins free wifi each day, and cheap top-ups.

Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    153
    51
    4
    2
See reviews for
75
196
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

The lodge is in a fantastic location and is great value for money. Compared to The Hermitage which is grossly overpriced, the room was spacious, modern and clean. Upstairs there is a kitchen and dining room which is well equipped. I would suggest that you bring your groceries in from Tekapo or Twizel as there isn't much available within the village. Overall, this is a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the ground floor if you want views of Mt Cook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tasgirlandcorkboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
251 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

This lodge is ideal for the region. Only a 2 minute walk from the Hermitage, but with views just the same of Aoraki Mt Cook. The room was very comfortable and clean. Reception were very helpful (and were the first people to know that I proposed to my girlfriend on the Hooker Valley walk). Very pleasant and great location for an enjoyable stay in the Aoraki region. Well done!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We spent two nights at this nice little cosy lodge. Our studio room that they think is the "best rooms in the house" has an amazing view of Aoraki/Mt Cook. In fact the view was “too good” with changing colours of the snow filled mountains with angle of the sun – we kept on looking at the mountains when we were in the room. We did lot of activities in the day time, but sunrise and sunset views from the room were incredible.

A central place and only a very short walk to the magnificent new Visitor Centre and the Sir Edmund Hillary Alpine Centre. Bookings for all the activities (scenic flights, boat trips, star gazing tour etc) can be organised at the lodge. The stay at the lodge also gives you discounts to the local restaurants.

The room, kitchenette and bathroom all are very clean and comfortable. However, the main and unforgettable feature of the stay is the staff – they are magnificent and went out of their way to help our holiday a memorable one. They assisted me organising this surprise holiday and present for my wife. Thanks so much to Lynne, Verena, Adele, Tony and all at the Lodge.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We spent two nights here and overall, had a great stay. We were pleased to find plenty of car parks available for those who have hired cars, with some larger parts available for camper vans etc.

The staff were friendly and helpful and happy to answer any queries. Although the rooms are very basic, they are clean and practical. A highlight for us was the communal kitchen and living area which was a social hive of activity, particularly at dinner time. We met some great people and were able to swap travel stories (and even some dinner!)

There are many walking trails close to the lodge, with plenty of maps and guides available. Mt Cook is stunning and only a short easy walk.

Only downfall is the lack of restaurant options available. There is a very overpriced general store where you can buy basic ingredients for dinner and an expensive hotel which offers buffet dinners. From memory there is also a small pub/restaurant.

Overall, it was a very enjoyable stay and we would happily recommend to singles, couples or families (very family friendly!)

Oh, and make sure you check out the Mt Cook museum.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate4328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryborough, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed here for one night, just so we could break up our driving and also have a look around. The room was small, but clean. We are not big fans of communal stuff, so we didn't use any of that area. You are definitely in close quarters with the others. We were happy for one night, but wouldn't have wanted to stay longer.
Staff were very helpful and friendly. Fabulous view, and central location.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Stayed here for two nights in November/December. It was pricey. Other than The Hermitage and a hostel, there aren't a lot of accommodations in this area so your options are either to pay for no frills accommodation or pay premium prices for Hermitage. Our room was a rear facing room, which had a view of the electrical building. The room had one queen bed and two bunk beds. It was quite small so four people, unless two of them are small children, can feel very cramped; not to mention a space to place your luggage is almost non-existant. The hotel made up for this with a decent size community kitchen and a lounge with a view of Mt Cook. The communal kitchen was clean and was kept that way during periods of time when it was not in use heavily. There was Wi-Fi in the form of a card that gave you a certain amount of time or bandwidth for free before you needed to pay for extra time/bandwidth. We did not use all of the bandwidth, so it was somewhat free during our stay. There are no restaurants inside the lodge; although you can certainly buy some small goods from the front desk. The main restaurants are either in The Hermitage or the hostel. You can of course buy your own groceries before getting to Mount Cook area and use the community kitchen.

The front desk staff were friendly and even allowed us to book tours that originate at the Hermitage.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian90212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mt. Cook Village
0.4 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel
The Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
1,869 reviews
24.7 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,115 reviews
19.2 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
#4 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
0.1 mi away
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
#1 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge

Property: Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge
Address: 101 Bowen Drive, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7946, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Mt. Cook Village
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Mt. Cook Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Aoraki Mount Cook Village our accommodation is designed to meet the needs of the budget conscious traveller whilst providing the highest standard of service, cleanliness and comfort.We have 16 ensuite rooms, 24 hr onsite management, reception open 830am-800pm daily with 24hour check in available. Free WiFi is included in the room rate as is free off street parking onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Hotel Mt. Cook Village
Aoraki Mt Cook Alpine Hotel
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing