We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful unspoilt location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Beedelup
Level Contributor
130 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A wonderful unspoilt location”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The room we had was a nice size, clean and quiet. The room though was stuffy (we stayed here the end of January) and like the other hotels we stayed in, there was no air con. Open windows worked though and only disturbed once during the night by a 'jolly' passer by and very early morning by a couple of early risers stood below the window chatting. Facilities were good by offering a good size kitchen and fridges etc for your own personal food items. Being short term travellers we didn't take advantage of this area. You would ideally need to bring your food items with you as very little on offer in the village. Fair enough for its situation and keeping the area breathtaking.
We ate at the Heritage and the breakfast buffet was a very good price of $15 for continental (but huge choice of things to eat). Also had dinner buffet there and again huge choice of different foods to cater for many nationalities.
The walks in the area are a must and well laid out and well worth doing for breathtaking views around every corner.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suec58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    153
    51
    4
    2
See reviews for
75
196
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

This was my second stay at the Alpine Lodge. It is a brilliant place to stay really close to walks and activities around Mount Cook at a reasonable price for this location..The en suite rooms are compact but are clean and come in a variety if configurations .The lounge area is lovely with a huge window framing Mount Cook. There is a large communal kitchen area which is well equipped.There is even a barbecue on the deck.You need to pick up supplies from Twizel on your way in, though the Lodge does sell the basics.This is a very reasonable alternative to staying in nearby hotel accommodation and certainly better than staying 50 km out at Twizel or Tekapo. Whilst there you can sign up for tours offered by the nearby Hermitage Hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front overlook Mount Cook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elljay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ukraine
Level Contributor
63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge is a fantastic place. If you choose this place, you have beautiful mountain views from the rooms and the kitchen. Of course, it's pretty expensive, but this place leaves in your memory for a lot of exciting experiences. The kitchen is very large and well equipped, you will not have to stand in line to the stove, or washing dishes. Do not forget, the reception is closed after 8pm. There is Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roman073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

No problems here. Enjoyed 3 nights. Brought brekkie & lunch supplies, although some guests also cooked their dinners in the well equipped kitchen/diner.

30mins free wifi each day, and cheap top-ups.

Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

The lodge is in a fantastic location and is great value for money. Compared to The Hermitage which is grossly overpriced, the room was spacious, modern and clean. Upstairs there is a kitchen and dining room which is well equipped. I would suggest that you bring your groceries in from Tekapo or Twizel as there isn't much available within the village. Overall, this is a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the ground floor if you want views of Mt Cook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tasgirlandcorkboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
251 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

This lodge is ideal for the region. Only a 2 minute walk from the Hermitage, but with views just the same of Aoraki Mt Cook. The room was very comfortable and clean. Reception were very helpful (and were the first people to know that I proposed to my girlfriend on the Hooker Valley walk). Very pleasant and great location for an enjoyable stay in the Aoraki region. Well done!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We spent two nights at this nice little cosy lodge. Our studio room that they think is the "best rooms in the house" has an amazing view of Aoraki/Mt Cook. In fact the view was “too good” with changing colours of the snow filled mountains with angle of the sun – we kept on looking at the mountains when we were in the room. We did lot of activities in the day time, but sunrise and sunset views from the room were incredible.

A central place and only a very short walk to the magnificent new Visitor Centre and the Sir Edmund Hillary Alpine Centre. Bookings for all the activities (scenic flights, boat trips, star gazing tour etc) can be organised at the lodge. The stay at the lodge also gives you discounts to the local restaurants.

The room, kitchenette and bathroom all are very clean and comfortable. However, the main and unforgettable feature of the stay is the staff – they are magnificent and went out of their way to help our holiday a memorable one. They assisted me organising this surprise holiday and present for my wife. Thanks so much to Lynne, Verena, Adele, Tony and all at the Lodge.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mt. Cook Village
0.4 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel
The Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
1,869 reviews
24.7 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,116 reviews
19.2 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
#4 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
0.1 mi away
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
#1 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge

Property: Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge
Address: 101 Bowen Drive, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7946, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Mt. Cook Village
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Mt. Cook Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Aoraki Mount Cook Village our accommodation is designed to meet the needs of the budget conscious traveller whilst providing the highest standard of service, cleanliness and comfort.We have 16 ensuite rooms, 24 hr onsite management, reception open 830am-800pm daily with 24hour check in available. Free WiFi is included in the room rate as is free off street parking onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Hotel Mt. Cook Village
Aoraki Mt Cook Alpine Hotel
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing