We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facilities with the most awesome view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great facilities with the most awesome view!”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My partner and I stayed at the lodge in January 2011 and loved it so much we bought back the whole family (my partner's 3 sons aged 9, 11 and 17) this last January. The rooms may be small but in such a beautiful place and with such a lovely communal lounge room, why would you want to spend much time in your room? We made full use of the lounge room and excellent kitchen facilities. It was great to be able to take our own food and cook for ourselves. Given its isolation, Mt Cook village will always be an expensive place for buy food and so the ability to bring your own is ideal. The lodge is a great base to explore all of the great things Mt Cook has to offer. We'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    159
    53
    4
    2
See reviews for
78
199
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

At the foot of Mt Cook. Girl at checkin was lacking in people skills, but the little German girl who worked at night was wonderful. Room was nice. The upstairs has a huge kitchen, so that is where you meet alot of other travelers. Not inexpensive, but overall a very nice property. Had a hilarious experience in the morning before breakfast. The fire alarm went off, so we all met outside in front of the building. Turns out it was caused by a rather rotund Austalian man, who burned his sausages! His wife kept saying "it's my husband, he's burned his sausages!!!"

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sxmbeachlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA, USA
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. The room we had was upstairs with a great view of MtCook. Luckily, the clouds parted both days for us. The room we had was quite small, but there were other rooms we saw that were larger. The room only has coffee and tea making facilities in it.There is a large communal kitchen that is spotless. We used it for many of our meals.I would stay here again, but I would opt for a bigger room.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bucket-Listers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiea, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I stayed at the lodge for one night. The room was probably the smallest I experienced duirng my 23 day trip but was still adequate. The bathroom had a wet shower. The shower had plenty of hot atwer and the water pressure was good. If you are 6" you will have to duck under the shower curtain rod. The view from my room was excellent but the view from the upstairs lounge is even better. The lounge also has the communal kitchen and shared refrigerators. I would have preferred a mini fridge in the room but because of the small size it probably wasn't practical. The lounge also had a balcony with BBQ. The lodge does sell some basic food items but a better bet is to stop for groceries in Twizel or Lake Tekapo or stop at one of the salmon farms, depending on your direction of travel. The lodge also has a laundry room. The Aoraki visitor center and the Hermitage are less than a 5 min walk away. Many of the hiking trails start and end at the Hermitage plus most of the tours.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HonoluluGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

It iws worth tohighlight the excellent situation of the hotel and the great views (it cost a little bit more to have direct views to Mt Cook but it worths a lot!). The price is average and the two restaurants of the hotel are correct

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidbouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beedelup
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The room we had was a nice size, clean and quiet. The room though was stuffy (we stayed here the end of January) and like the other hotels we stayed in, there was no air con. Open windows worked though and only disturbed once during the night by a 'jolly' passer by and very early morning by a couple of early risers stood below the window chatting. Facilities were good by offering a good size kitchen and fridges etc for your own personal food items. Being short term travellers we didn't take advantage of this area. You would ideally need to bring your food items with you as very little on offer in the village. Fair enough for its situation and keeping the area breathtaking.
We ate at the Heritage and the breakfast buffet was a very good price of $15 for continental (but huge choice of things to eat). Also had dinner buffet there and again huge choice of different foods to cater for many nationalities.
The walks in the area are a must and well laid out and well worth doing for breathtaking views around every corner.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suec58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

This was my second stay at the Alpine Lodge. It is a brilliant place to stay really close to walks and activities around Mount Cook at a reasonable price for this location..The en suite rooms are compact but are clean and come in a variety if configurations .The lounge area is lovely with a huge window framing Mount Cook. There is a large communal kitchen area which is well equipped.There is even a barbecue on the deck.You need to pick up supplies from Twizel on your way in, though the Lodge does sell the basics.This is a very reasonable alternative to staying in nearby hotel accommodation and certainly better than staying 50 km out at Twizel or Tekapo. Whilst there you can sign up for tours offered by the nearby Hermitage Hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front overlook Mount Cook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elljay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mt. Cook Village
0.4 mi away
Hermitage Hotel
Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
1,939 reviews
24.7 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,171 reviews
24.6 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
0.0 mi away
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
#4 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge

Property: Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge
Address: 101 Bowen Drive, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7946, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Mt. Cook Village
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Mt. Cook Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Aoraki Mount Cook Village our accommodation is designed to meet the needs of the budget conscious traveller whilst providing the highest standard of service, cleanliness and comfort.We have 16 ensuite rooms, 24 hr onsite management, reception open 830am-800pm daily with 24hour check in available. Free WiFi is included in the room rate as is free off street parking onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Hotel Mt. Cook Village
Aoraki Mt Cook Alpine Hotel
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing