We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Pristine & Serene”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Wow what a fantastic facility.Although it rained all weekend, staying indoors for R&R was very esly in this superb facility. Friendly staff who were attentive and eager to please.Rooms compact but exceptionally clean and warm. Our room had 2 single beds, bedside table, tea/coffe making facility, small glass table & chairs, wall mounted TV (DVD in TV but unfortunately wasn't working) and a very clean bright ensuite. Lodge facilities were fantastic. Good selection of matching crockery and plenty of cutlery, utensils & glasses. All electrical appliances in perfect working order. All kitchen and dining area very cleaned and checked regularly throughout the day. Comfy couches to enjoy the biew (although Mt Cook wasn't visible due to the weather. Gas fire & heatpump kept the room very warm ad cosy. Good selection of channels on TV (including sky). Good array of books and games available to guests. Only problem was rooms not very soundproof and you could here muffled talk, snoring and ablutions in adjacent rooms and those above.
All in all an absolutely restful, stressfree weekend which I would definitely recommend and will definitely do again.
Thank you Alpine Lodge :-)
They have a special deal coming up May to Sept $250 for 2 people for 2 nigts, including basic continental breakfast. (This is the deal we had and breakfast was 4 slices of bread (to toast) various spreads, pack of muesli each & bottle of Orange Juice each) DO IT!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dibbydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

237 - 243 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed here 2 nights and were satisfied with our stay. The staff were helpful. The room is not particularly large but it is not cramped, with enough room for a large bed and small table. We had a room with a view and it was great to be able to watch the sunset on Mt Cook from the bed. There is also a large common room with tables, couches, a fireplace, books and games, and a full kitchen for those who want to cook for themselves (since food options at Mt Cook are limited). There are also coffee supplies in the kitchen (coffee/plunger/milk/sugar), since those provided in the room are limited to instant coffee/creamer. The common room also has a wonderful view of Mt Cook, if you don't end up with a room with a view. Note that Mt Cook village is split into two halves and the lodge is situated on the half with most of the restaurants and the information centre, so walking to dinner if you choose to eat at one of the restaurants is easy enough. Reception also sells snacks (chocolate, cookies, chips).

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edrial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

This property was satisfactory for the purpose of our one night stay. The location is a plus. I have no complaints about the hotel or staff, the room was clean, ameneties were limited and would rate the overall experience between a 3 or 4.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

The Lodge is a great alternative to the Hermitage. The rooms were clean and tidy, but not large. There is great common area with a communal kitchen. It’s a great spot sit meet people from all over the world and look out towards Mt Cook

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We were happy with this hotel, but it is relatively expensive compared with all the other hotel/motels we stayed in, in New Zealand. However, that is Mount Cook for you, there is little choice of hotels and it is a popular destination, and with one of the 3 hotels (not including the back packer lodge) being the Hermitage prices are inevitably going to reflect that. The Hermitage of course can't really be beaten - but you are talking serious money for that. Don't believe all the reviews saying that you get the same views from Alpine Lodge. It is next door and you do get similar views - but not the same. Having said that the views are very nice, the room is nice enough but most are a bit short on facilities. In New Zealand one usually gets kitchenette facilities in your room but at Alpine Lodge they provide a communal kitchen, which was fine but we prefer to have our own facilities. They do have one or two family units that do have full facilities but they start getting a bit expensive. The rooms were very clean and comfortable enough and you can put up with trekking back and forth to the kitchen - the Kitchen lounge does have a fantastic views. Overall we are happy to recommend the hotel, if tou can't afford the Hermitage it probably is the next best thing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed in one of the first floor "superior" rooms with a view. We were lucky with the weather so we could actually see Mt Cook from our bed. But the room and bathroom were tiny, very basically furnished,with a narrow bed and nowhere to open up suitcases. It was the most disappointing room out of the 14 that we stayed in in New Zealand, but probably had the best views. We had no problem with the shared kitchen, dining area and lounge, reminiscent of a backpackers lodge, but we thought that the room was expensive for what it was. We were annoyed to discover after we left that a cheaper motel with much more spacious rooms had recently opened in Mt Cook Village - it would have been a far better choice : although it doesn't have the same views these can be had by walking outside.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adamski47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

If the idea of staying at the Hermitage makes you cringe, but you want to be in Mount Cook Village, this is the place for you. The rooms are small (not much more space that the bed), but we had a view of Aoraki from our second floor room and better views from the lounge and shared kitchen area. If you want to self-cater, the shared kitchen is well stocked and quite large; we cooked breakfast but dined at the Mountainer's cafe across the street for dinners and really enjoyed the atmosphere there. Don't miss the fantastic and educational displays in the nearby DOC office.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlisaAAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mt. Cook Village
0.4 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel
The Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
2,074 reviews
24.6 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,453 reviews
24.6 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
0.1 mi away
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
#1 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge

Address: 101 Bowen Drive, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7946, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Mt. Cook Village
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Mt. Cook Village
Price Range: £79 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Aoraki Mount Cook Village our accommodation is designed to meet the needs of the budget conscious traveller whilst providing the highest standard of service, cleanliness and comfort.We have 16 ensuite rooms, 24 hr onsite management, reception open 830am-800pm daily with 24hour check in available. Free WiFi is included in the room rate as is free off street parking onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Hotel Mt. Cook Village
Aoraki Mt Cook Alpine Hotel
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing