We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet place with great views!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Melaka, Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Quiet place with great views!”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We were welcomed by a very helpful and friendly receptionist, Vi. She waited for us even though we checked in late. The lodge has full kitchen facilities separated from the rooms. Utensil in the kitchen is complete and clean. Coffee, tea and milk are provided both in rooms and kitchen. Lounge was very comfy with superb views of Mt. Cook. A nice place to relax and enjoy the views. All in all,the lodge is with style and comfort at an affordable price (NZD129 per night).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiongTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    153
    51
    4
    2
See reviews for
75
196
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We felt right at home here, we loved the beautiful little lodge and we were so cosy! So glad we decided to stay 2 nights instead of one! beautiful drive from Christchurch to Mount Cook. Such beautiful scenary... then you arrive at Mount Cook and you have the beautiful snow top mountains literally at your doorstep!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nasmjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We dropped in at 9pm and managed to book a room just as the lady at reception was packing up. We were offered a great rate and boy were we happy when we woke up the next morning to blue skies, fresh snow and Mt Cook! The room was extremely clean although a bit small.The bed was comfortable too. We had a pub dinner down the road and joined in some group trivia (funny!). The shared kitchen facilities were much appreciated as we had brought our own food. Eating porridge with a view of Mount Cook was very pleasant! I would definitely stay here again - location, price, cleanliness and cooking facilities were all pluses for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iheartcleanhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I and my wife are the first timer to NZ and Mt.Cook. We decide to stay here rather than double room cost at Hermitage. (both are considered quite expensive comparing to other stays in our NZ trip)
Room is quite small but sufficient. Amenities are all good. Communual kitchen and rest area is very comfortable. There's 'big window' to overlook Mt.Cook from communual rest area, same style as the big window at lounge of Hermitage.
We went to hang around at Hermitage's lounge, since there is no cafe/restaurant opening before dinner time the day we stayed there.
Despite all these, we would rather not stay over at the base of Mt.Cook here, but drive further and stay at lake tekapo.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natthapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

gr8 location close to hermitage and mountaineer's café. Very considerate staff; Communal kitchen is pretty good and well equipped.
Room was small but good enough for a couple. The view from the kitchen is also good.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We stayed in this hotel lodge at the base of Aoraki Mount Cook and it was perfectly nice. Walking distance to all the trails in the area. If you stay this close to the mountain you really only have a few options, and this is the most reasonably priced. The rooms are modest in size. The kitchen and den area are really the draw, with beautiful views of the Aoraki Mount Cook peak and wonderful sunsets. Since there is only one or two places to eat nearby (which are expensive), it's a good idea to get food on your drive in and keep it in the community fridge, which is what we did. Worth staying if you don't want to pay an arm and a leg at the larger resort lodge just up the road. Though I believe the rooms with a view of the mountain are far more pricey than ones without.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sraju7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

The upstairs lounge/common room contains a kitchen that is well stocked with supplies. There are a variety of large and small tables and comfortable couches with beautiful views of the Footstool and Mt. Cook. Our room was small but cozy. It had everything we needed for our family of 4: one queen bed and a set of twin bunks.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa27Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mt. Cook Village
0.4 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel
The Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
1,869 reviews
24.7 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,116 reviews
19.2 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
#4 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
333 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
0.1 mi away
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
#1 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge

Property: Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge
Address: 101 Bowen Drive, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7946, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Mt. Cook Village
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Mt. Cook Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Aoraki Mount Cook Village our accommodation is designed to meet the needs of the budget conscious traveller whilst providing the highest standard of service, cleanliness and comfort.We have 16 ensuite rooms, 24 hr onsite management, reception open 830am-800pm daily with 24hour check in available. Free WiFi is included in the room rate as is free off street parking onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Hotel Mt. Cook Village
Aoraki Mt Cook Alpine Hotel
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing