We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy and comfortable with great views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cozy and comfortable with great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night but wished we had stayed longer to do more walks around Mount Cook. Room is quite cozy, common kitchen clean and well equipped and lounge is a great place to hangout with great view of Mount Cook.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    153
    51
    4
    2
See reviews for
75
196
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

A fantastic place to stay. It was clean and comfortable, had great views, depending on the sort of room you have, and the boat tour of the Tasman glacier was top notch.

The food at the buffet was fantastic with a huge variety of seafood. That was a definite highlight of the day!

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LovesNZSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We spent 2 nights here. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The rooms were average size. There is a very comfortable lounge area upstairs with a large kitchen. This would be very good for a family and cooking for children. There is no place to eat at the motel. It is within walking distance to the Alpine Center. It rained the 2 days we were here, so it was necessary to drive most places.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Playin-Hooky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
152 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Very good lodge in the Mount Cook village.The lodge was very new and the rooms were very clean. Don't expect too much luxury but everything you need after a day of walking in Mount Cook is available. The lodge has a large central kitchen and a nice lounge but not much people are using this. This could be a nice place to meet other travelers.

If you need a need an affordable place to eat check the backpackers lodge about 3 minutes from this one. It's good food and possibility to meet other travelers.

Mount Cook has now also a large Merriage Hotel. which brings a lot of tourist in the park.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetervTNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Staff delightful, friendly and only too happy to help. The upstairs communal lounge gave us breathtaking views of Mt.Cook and a perfect opportunity to socialise, and we spent a lot of time up in the lounge because the rooms were appalling. Shabby, old and depressing.Very small, nowhere to even put luggage, couldn't walk around the bed. Shower did not even have a shower recess, just a shower curtain pulled around an area of the floor.We were supposedly in the best room. The comments we received from fellow travellers were the same. many couples commenting that it was overpriced, very much like caravan park facilities in the room. Lounges were old and shabby with no support. The whole place needs a lot of work. Check out the rooms before you stay there. $240 a night,!!!! no way

Room Tip: There aren't any good rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacifica
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights here in October, 2013 and the accommodations and service were superb. Clean, quiet rooms, most with excellent views. Add an attentive and caring staff and you have a winning combination. The hotel is located within easy walking distance to the Sir Edmund Hillary alpine center and all of the local eateries. This is where we will stay when we come back again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank roystotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

A lot more better place to stay over in Mount Cook for great view compared to Hermitage.
I stayed in both places and this place is awesome with very considerate and friendly staff. I was first greeted by the reception staff after reporting my name and they know well for my room request and did upgraded my room to a room with great view. First impression of "wow, they really care bout us!"
The shared kitchen is well-equipped and clean. Bonus is that you will get the chance to meet with some other people around the world in the communal lounge.
This is the best stay I ever had in NZ!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mt. Cook Village
0.4 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel
The Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
24.7 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
19.2 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
#4 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
0.1 mi away
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
#1 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge

Property: Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge
Address: 101 Bowen Drive, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7946, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Mt. Cook Village
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Mt. Cook Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Aoraki Mount Cook Village our accommodation is designed to meet the needs of the budget conscious traveller whilst providing the highest standard of service, cleanliness and comfort.We have 16 ensuite rooms, 24 hr onsite management, reception open 830am-800pm daily with 24hour check in available. Free WiFi is included in the room rate as is free off street parking onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Hotel Mt. Cook Village
Aoraki Mt Cook Alpine Hotel
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing