We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

This is a comfortable place to spend a night near Mount Cook. The staff were friendly and helpful. We took the opportunity to self-cater although there were four cafés/restaurants nearby. The kitchen facilities were good.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sallyanne1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    159
    53
    4
    2
See reviews for
78
199
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
373 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Loved the drive towards the village, with the mountains getting closer. Our room was very basic but there was a communal lounge area upstairs with well equipped kitchens with everything you need. Views are amazing. Lovely atmosphere. Staff are really friendly and have all the information of the area. They found out if helicopter trips were going (bit windy) and booked me on a flight which was amazing. Did a couple of the glacier walks. Wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed staying at the Aoraki for two nights. The room (although not large) was very comfortable. The front desk personal were helpful and pleasant. The nicest feature of the hotel was the common room that had kitchen facilities, and a large eating and sitting area with great views of the mountings. The nearby hikes are superb. We both highly recommend the Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottJ652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night but wished we had stayed longer to do more walks around Mount Cook. Room is quite cozy, common kitchen clean and well equipped and lounge is a great place to hangout with great view of Mount Cook.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2013

A fantastic place to stay. It was clean and comfortable, had great views, depending on the sort of room you have, and the boat tour of the Tasman glacier was top notch.

The food at the buffet was fantastic with a huge variety of seafood. That was a definite highlight of the day!

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LovesNZSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, SC
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We spent 2 nights here. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The rooms were average size. There is a very comfortable lounge area upstairs with a large kitchen. This would be very good for a family and cooking for children. There is no place to eat at the motel. It is within walking distance to the Alpine Center. It rained the 2 days we were here, so it was necessary to drive most places.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Playin-Hooky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Very good lodge in the Mount Cook village.The lodge was very new and the rooms were very clean. Don't expect too much luxury but everything you need after a day of walking in Mount Cook is available. The lodge has a large central kitchen and a nice lounge but not much people are using this. This could be a nice place to meet other travelers.

If you need a need an affordable place to eat check the backpackers lodge about 3 minutes from this one. It's good food and possibility to meet other travelers.

Mount Cook has now also a large Merriage Hotel. which brings a lot of tourist in the park.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetervTNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mt. Cook Village
0.4 mi away
Hermitage Hotel
Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
1,941 reviews
24.7 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,172 reviews
24.6 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
0.0 mi away
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
#4 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge

Property: Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge
Address: 101 Bowen Drive, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7946, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Mt. Cook Village
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Mt. Cook Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Aoraki Mount Cook Village our accommodation is designed to meet the needs of the budget conscious traveller whilst providing the highest standard of service, cleanliness and comfort.We have 16 ensuite rooms, 24 hr onsite management, reception open 830am-800pm daily with 24hour check in available. Free WiFi is included in the room rate as is free off street parking onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Hotel Mt. Cook Village
Aoraki Mt Cook Alpine Hotel
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing