We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“best view ever” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“best view ever”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We like the easy going atmosphere of this motel. The receptionist welcomed us warmly, our room ,although simple furnished, offered a very cosy feeling. The view from our room window is stunning, the air was fresh... a perfect stay .

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MachCX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    147
    48
    2
    2
See reviews for
70
186
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We have spent 2 nights in the Alpine motel and the room (nr 2) is very spacious. It comes with a nicely equipped kitchenette and bathroom including spa. The beddings are very soft.

However some minor issues: we only received 1 free 200mb voucher, which in 2014 and with Apple equipment is not very much. Breakfast is not included and on the first day we opted to take the one on offering. But don't spent 15 NZD per person on this, not worth it!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fly_ebos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

For us this was a much better option than the Hermitage. The owners were very helpful with the bookings. It was originally showing as fully booked for the two nights we wanted so I emailed the premises direct and they said they would probably have cancellations and they duly emailed me and we were able to book a room. The rooms were comfortable without any real frills - just a hanging rack for clothes and the only plugs to charge phones etc were behind the bed which was annoying. There was a communal kitchen/dining/lounge area upstairs which had complementary milk and where you could prepare meals (which we did not bother to do). This area had fabulous views of Mt Cook and we also had a view from our room. The rooms provided tea and coffee making facilities and also wi fi. We ate at the nearby Old Mountaineer café/bar/restaurant which was excellent. The Hermitage houses the Edmund Hilary Centre which is worth a visit. It is only 5 minutes walk.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Even the dreadful weather couldn't detract from this lovely lodge. Our room was extremely comfortable, with plenty of space for our soggy clothes. The communal kitchen was very well equipped and clean. The views from this room were quite stunning even in the rain. Just a short walk from the Museum and the Hermitage. The staff were always available and helpful.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor at the end of the corridor, very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetLeverton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed here for 1 night and had the room with the mountain view.
The room were good sized and clean.The hotel had a common area that had kitchen and living area and a balcony with a stunning view of mount cook.
We also got a free 9Gb internet access which was really handy.
We will be back soon :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yogi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ningbo, China
Level Contributor
155 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Although the rooms are pretty basic the common spaces make up for it. The lounge provides stunning views of Mt. Cook and is common with the kitchen / dining area. The staff is friendly and helpful.
Don't bank on the internet - it's not very good but then you probably won't be doing emails in a setting like this.
I personally did have a problem with the soft beds but then it was only two nights. We were lucky to get a snow storm that cleared up the next morning leaving everything white.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bishwadeep B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thane, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

this is the best place to stay at Mount Cook. the place is particularly well located and very neat and tidy. the bath fittings are appropriately placed. the owner (unfortunately forget her name) has a good idea about the places which does help a lot.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Rahul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mt. Cook Village
24.6 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
5.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
24.5 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#2 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
24.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#4 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
0.4 mi away
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
#1 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge

Property: Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge
Address: 101 Bowen Drive, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7946, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Mt. Cook Village
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Mt. Cook Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Aoraki Mount Cook Village our accommodation is designed to meet the needs of the budget conscious traveller whilst providing the highest standard of service, cleanliness and comfort.We have 16 ensuite rooms, 24 hr onsite management, reception open 830am-800pm daily with 24hour check in available. Free WiFi is included in the room rate as is free off street parking onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Hotel Mt. Cook Village
Aoraki Mt Cook Alpine Hotel
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing