We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheaper(and smaller) cousin of the Hermitage next door”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Bhubaneswar
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Cheaper(and smaller) cousin of the Hermitage next door”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed for a night in their "Family Room with Mountain view". Our first floor room had fantastic views. The room and the bathroom were very small but it was ok for us as we were staying for just one night. The shared(communal) kitchen was very well equipped and very well maintained. The common lounge is huge with stunning views. Staff were friendly, they had left the key in an envelope at the reception as we reached after their working hours. Unless you carry your own food/grocery items, there is no food options here. Wi-fi was good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hpatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    159
    53
    4
    2
See reviews for
78
199
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fish Creek, Victoria, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The Lodge was great for our needs. The rooms were not huge but adequate with comfy beds and tea and coffee making facilities. We also had a lovely view from our rooms. We used the communal kitchen for breakfast and had no problems with crowding. It was great sitting there in the evening watching the sun set over Mt Cook. We dined at the Old Mountaineers cafe and found good options at reasonable prices. A great place to stay and enjoy the area.

Room Tip: ASk for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandy2949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Pleasant motel with stunning views of Mt Cook from your bedroom window, the rooms are functional. There is a large communal lounge and kitchen on the second floor, you can be a little unlucky here, especially if there is a large party of walkers staying. The kitchen area and the lounge is commandeered and you begin to feel like an intruder in a private chalet ! Even if you wanted to eat in, there is no store or shop in Mt Cook to buy any provisions so stock up before getting to Mt Cook.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank STEPHEN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed here for four nights in February in one of the cheaper rooms on the second floor. The bus dropped us off right in front (we came from Queenstown). The lodge is very clean and basic. Free internet was provided. We didn't use the laundry room which cost $5 to wash and $5 to dry a load. We ate our meals at the Hermitage Cafe, the most reasonably priced place to eat. The food here is even more expensive than in Queenstown. In the evenings we would hang out at the bar at the Hermitage which was a nice view of Mt Cook. We hiked on our own each day but did the Glacier Lake boat tour which left from the Hermitage. There are no ATM's in the village so make sure you have enough money!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mango_eater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We like the easy going atmosphere of this motel. The receptionist welcomed us warmly, our room ,although simple furnished, offered a very cosy feeling. The view from our room window is stunning, the air was fresh... a perfect stay .

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MachCX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We have spent 2 nights in the Alpine motel and the room (nr 2) is very spacious. It comes with a nicely equipped kitchenette and bathroom including spa. The beddings are very soft.

However some minor issues: we only received 1 free 200mb voucher, which in 2014 and with Apple equipment is not very much. Breakfast is not included and on the first day we opted to take the one on offering. But don't spent 15 NZD per person on this, not worth it!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fly_ebos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

For us this was a much better option than the Hermitage. The owners were very helpful with the bookings. It was originally showing as fully booked for the two nights we wanted so I emailed the premises direct and they said they would probably have cancellations and they duly emailed me and we were able to book a room. The rooms were comfortable without any real frills - just a hanging rack for clothes and the only plugs to charge phones etc were behind the bed which was annoying. There was a communal kitchen/dining/lounge area upstairs which had complementary milk and where you could prepare meals (which we did not bother to do). This area had fabulous views of Mt Cook and we also had a view from our room. The rooms provided tea and coffee making facilities and also wi fi. We ate at the nearby Old Mountaineer café/bar/restaurant which was excellent. The Hermitage houses the Edmund Hilary Centre which is worth a visit. It is only 5 minutes walk.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mt. Cook Village
0.4 mi away
Hermitage Hotel
Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
1,939 reviews
24.7 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,171 reviews
24.6 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
0.0 mi away
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
#4 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge

Property: Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge
Address: 101 Bowen Drive, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7946, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Mt. Cook Village
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Mt. Cook Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Aoraki Mount Cook Village our accommodation is designed to meet the needs of the budget conscious traveller whilst providing the highest standard of service, cleanliness and comfort.We have 16 ensuite rooms, 24 hr onsite management, reception open 830am-800pm daily with 24hour check in available. Free WiFi is included in the room rate as is free off street parking onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Hotel Mt. Cook Village
Aoraki Mt Cook Alpine Hotel
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing