We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room with an amazing view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2009

The best thing about staying here is definitely the view. The accommodation itself is really basic with small rooms (as it looks on the website) and no facilities in your room to make drinks, as there is a shared kitchen and lounge upstairs. The lounge does have a great view and was nice to relax in (until someone else turned the TV on to watch gameshows!) We were a bit disappointed with the lack of choice for places to eat in the area and so it was useful to be able to make something to eat yourself. The staff on reception were helpful and friendly and it was a nice place to stay for a night.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

323 - 329 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2009

Yes the rooms are small, but we opted for the 'king-size' this year (we've been in a std room last yr) so had a nice sofa, tea/coffee, toaster, fridge & TV as well as kingbed. Pricey ($200/night) but worth it. Upstairs cooking facilities/amenities are great, w/ abundant supplies of dishes/cutlery/pots/pans/fridge space/wine glasses etc. Do bring your own food from somewhere down the road (Twizel is the closest) if you plan to cook. The nearby cafe is nice & also w/ stupendous views, but one meal there per trip is enough. The only downside we've found w/ the lodge is when a group of 10-14 book-in. Last yr it was a group of a dozen German tourists who were having a grand & progressively louder time (but it was quiet by 8:00PM) & this yr a group of 14 adults from Chch who formed a closed society, talked only (& loudly) to each other, & spread all over the lounge from 4:30 until 7:00PM. Small complaints abt an outstanding facility in an area that has been sadly lacking a 'gathering place'. the YHA hostel is also good, but tough to get a dbl room & may be mobbed w/ college-aged kids/backpackers.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Local-knowledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2009

This Lodge is in a great location, unfortunately the accommodation is not what I am used to. I have stayed in Hotels all around the world and never been so disappointed. There were no tea or coffee making facilities or refrigerator in our room. There was an ensuite, but the room was so small, my wife felt claustrophobic. There was not even enough space for our two small suitcases. You had to step over them on the floor.
So bad was our experience that our two night booking became a one night nightmare. Now to top off a bad experience we were not refunded the second nights accommodation even though we didn't stay there.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank revhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2009

I would recommend Mt. Cook Alpine Lodge. It was clean and has a great location. It is very basic, so if you are looking for more of a hotel, go the the Hermatage. (In my opinion, the Hermatage looks very out of place and is too fancy for the settting.) There is a common kitchen, so you can buy groceries (do grocery shopping before you get to Mt. Cook because there are no stores there) and cook up your breakfast & dinner along side other guests. There is a huge sitting area/lounge adjacent to the kitchen with fantastic views. Don't miss the Tasman Glacier hike. It's short with great view. I would recommend staying more than one night to get the true feel of this lovely area.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuePhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2008

This very basic and immaculate hotel is ideal for the location. My room consisted of two single beds on the second floor facing Mt. Cook. Please pay the extra dollars for this type of room as the view is just priceless while relaxing provided its a clear day outside. The hotel is only two levels and there is no elevator, so keep this in mind.

The communal room was far bigger than I ever could have imagined and much more functional than I assumed with full kitchen facilities including stove, pots/pans, cutlery, utensils, plates and glasses. You'll have to backtrack to the small town of Twizel (about 40 minutes away) to pick up market supplies and, if needed, gasoline at the town's Shell station. A refrigerator is available to store food items, too.

The communal room offers a giant screen television, AMAZING views of the mountains, free coffee/tea making facilities, books and enough couches/chairs to accommodate 30 people but in a very cozy sort of way.

A few steps from this gem of a lodge is a very delightful restaurant/"pub" run by the Hobbs Family who were some of the nicest people I came across during my 2-week stay in New Zealand. Their establishment offers a light breakfast, lunch and dinner items in a WONDERFUL sort of Alpine feel environment. Internet usage is available in a side room (coin operated) where there is also a billiards table. It's great to sit by the roaring fire to have a drink and just relax and chat with fellow visitors. The lunch and dinner meals were better than I expected with offerings including fish and chips, salads, steak, pizza, lamb chops and other items.

The hotel is basic, but it's quite a good deal for the location.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AirportWorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2008

While this doesn't compare to some of the other places that we had stayed at while in New Zealand, it was still quite nice. The room was very basic, but clean. It had everything that you needed, to include a basic TV. The common room had nice, comfortable couches, with complementary Tea/Coffee. This was very nice to come back to after a cold hike, and relax in front of the TV on a comfortable couch with a warm cup of tea. Supposedly had great views from the balcony, unfortunately we arrived too late to take part in them. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Honestly, the most comfortable bed on the entire trip. It was close to a lovely restaurant, and within walking distance to the large resort, hiking trails, etc. Great value for the money. Would recommend this to our friends.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sweetheartev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2008

Great location with incredible views of Mt Sefton and Mt Cook. We paid NZD220 for a family room which consisted of a double bed, a set of bunks and a small bathroom. Most of the cost must be for the location, as the lodge was basically an upmarket hostel (complete with notices posted around telling you to wash up dishes, throw rubbish away, shut doors quietly, etc) The rooms were spartan, and the communal kitchen, though well equipped was fairly crowded at peak times. Having said that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Mount Cook, in particular the walks in the Hooker valley and around the Tasman Lake.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nospanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mt. Cook Village
0.4 mi away
Hermitage Hotel
Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
1,997 reviews
24.7 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,215 reviews
24.6 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
#4 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
0.1 mi away
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
#1 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge

Address: 101 Bowen Drive, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7946, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Mt. Cook Village
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Mt. Cook Village
Price Range: £91 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Aoraki Mount Cook Village our accommodation is designed to meet the needs of the budget conscious traveller whilst providing the highest standard of service, cleanliness and comfort.We have 16 ensuite rooms, 24 hr onsite management, reception open 830am-800pm daily with 24hour check in available. Free WiFi is included in the room rate as is free off street parking onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Hotel Mt. Cook Village
Aoraki Mt Cook Alpine Hotel
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing