We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent little lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2010

Great place and an alternative to the hotel which dominates this resort. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oranjezicht1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (362)
There are newer reviews for Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

308 - 314 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2010

The fabulous weather and great views may have influenced my review but even so this is a wonderful lodge if you don't like large hotels. The staff couldn't have been nicer and more accomodating and the lay out of the lodge led to getting to know other guests which I find interesting. The rooms are fine but there is a common room with a full kitchen and a magnifient view of Mt. Cook. We spent most of our free time in this room either eating, drinking, looking at the view or playing games.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FilomenaMenloPark_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Good facilities. Take your own food/drink to self-cater. Good cafe nearby. Superb location.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlesisterWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

The alpine lodge was an unexpected treat in Mt. Cook National Park. The view was the best I've ever had in a hotel; I was able to check the weather on Mt. Cook while lying in bed! The rooms were spare, but the communal lounge and kitchen were comfortable and well-equipped. The owners were the friendliest people I met on the south island.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hfstuckinNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

We stayed at the logde for 1 night in July with friends and were thrilled when we arrived - the view from our room and the lounge and deck is stunning! Our rooms were small but clean and had good heating!
The owner was very friendly and booked us into the restaurant nearby!
Overall this is fantastic accomodation when not wanting to spend too much! We will most certainly be back and highly reccomend! Thankyou for a wonderful saty in Mt Cook!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdelaideTraveller4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

Good cheaper alternative to the Hermitage and literally a stones throw away so identical views. Small bedrooms but large shared areas with plenty of cooking facilities, fridge etc. Great location for walks around Mount Cook. Would advise taking food and cooking your own meals as Hermitage quite pricey and the only other option (Mountaineers cafe) was overpriced for poor food.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank owainjenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2010

I really liked this hotel. The staff were incredibly helpful, especially one guy who knocked on my door to ask if I'd left some stuff in the corridor( including my newly acquired digicam).

Stayed: February 2008
Thank HughO1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mt. Cook Village
0.4 mi away
Hermitage Hotel
Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
1,977 reviews
24.7 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,205 reviews
19.2 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
0.0 mi away
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
#4 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge

Address: 101 Bowen Drive, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7946, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Mt. Cook Village
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Mt. Cook Village
Price Range: £78 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Aoraki Mount Cook Village our accommodation is designed to meet the needs of the budget conscious traveller whilst providing the highest standard of service, cleanliness and comfort.We have 16 ensuite rooms, 24 hr onsite management, reception open 830am-800pm daily with 24hour check in available. Free WiFi is included in the room rate as is free off street parking onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Hotel Mt. Cook Village
Aoraki Mt Cook Alpine Hotel
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing