We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and views from lounge but rooms small, overpriced and poorly equipped”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location and views from lounge but rooms small, overpriced and poorly equipped”
Reviewed 17 February 2011

This was a big disappointment. For a start the welcome we received was off hand and unhelpful, almost as if we should be grateful that the place existed for us. Very little attempt to introduce or explain the place to us. The hotel promised that the room we had - the kitchenette/studio - were the best in the hotel. I think they were tradfing on the view here which would indeed be good if you could see anything, which we couldn't. But the idea that this would be some spectacular panorama as described in the hotel blurb is unlikely to materilaise as the overhang of the upper floor to the hotel cuts the view in half. So you would probably have to bend down to get the full view of Aoraki/Mt Cook! The room was cramped and badfly laid out. The position of the advertised leather sofa - faded and scuffed - was such as to be virtually unusable. The main window gave little privacy unless the curtains were drawn. Overall a very overpriced average hotel room, cramped at that, which we didn't enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alpinelodgemanager, Manager at Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge, responded to this review, 23 May 2011
Hello. Thank you for taking the time to review our lodge. I am sorry that you were so disappointed by us, the staff and also by the room. All of the staff try their hardest to be helpful to our guests so I am not sure what happened on the day you were here. But I do apologize that you had this problem.
Kind regards,
Mary, on behalf of the staff.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    159
    53
    4
    2
See reviews for
78
199
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jakarta
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2011

We stayed for 1 night at a kitchenette studio room with great snow-capped mountain view and we enjoyed it a lot. The lodge provides a convenient parking area for guests and it did help as it was raining heavily when we were there. The location, which was within a short walk to the Visitor Center and Hermitage Hotel/Sir Hillary Alpine Center where we could book our activities, was a plus point. The room itself was roomy and comfortable but nothing special. They have however a spacious lounge with view of Mount Cook and big kitchen accessible by all guests. Friendly, efficient staff.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, UK
Level 6 Contributor
420 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 546 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Situated next to the Visitor Centre and close to the famous Hermitage Hotel. Rooms have about the same view but at a much lower price - but still expensive as we paid $189. Advantage is that the hotel has a huge lounge and modern, clean and well-equipped kitchen. If you're staying here try and bring your own breakfast and lunch (at least) as all options in Mt Cook village are expensive. Unlike some other reviewers we didn't have any problem with noise from other rooms and slept well in a comfortable bed. Views from the lounge and the rooms at the front are fantastic.
Biggest complaint is that they charge for the internet even with your own laptop - at the inflated room price wireless internet should be free.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2011

We stayed at the Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge for 2 nights. In comparison with other places we stayed at in New Zealand we found it expensive considering the standard offered. But I guess this comes from the limited options available so close to Mount Cook. Our room (facing backwards) was small and basic (soft bed, no wardrobe, thin walls, 2 chairs and table looking like garden furniture). BUT: The lounge facing Mount Cook is a real highlight! You can store and cook your own food and enjoy a glass of wine watching the sunset over Mount Cook. Very nice!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walldorf, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
349 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2011

Mt. Cook is an expensive place to stay, but for a room to the back and the size of a towel it's still rather poor value. The good thing about the place are the views from the lounge.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyDelaney, Owner at Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge, responded to this review, 30 January 2011
Hello Terbang,

Thank you for the feedback.

Unfortunately Mount Cook is a comparitively expensive place to stay, being in a National Park managed by the Department of Conservation the operating costs are higher than those say in Twizel or Lake Tekapo but we think the location makes the added expense worthwhile as both are approximately one hour away. Approximately 15 percent of our room rate is directly attributable to our location and fee's to the Department of Conservation. The room rate also includes 15% Goods and Services Tax so as you can see this is almost one third of the rate.

The rear facing room is smaller than the others and we are making changes to our website to make things clearer. Often people go for the cheaper rate without realising the difference in the rooms.

I am unsure about your towel, ours are the same size as most hotels in New Zealand.

Kind regards
Tony Delaney
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

I loved this hotel for quite a few reasons. Firstly, we arrived here really late beacuse we drove down all the way from Christchurch and stopped at Lake Tekapo on our way over. We still found our key left at the reception for us. The room was small yet very cosy and comfortable.

Secondly, the view was just phenomenal. We could see the snow capped mountains towering above right in front of us. It was a view to die for! Also, The Hermitage was just a 5-minute walk away and we strolled over to book our activities for the next day.

Thirdly, I loved the huge communal kitchen. There was so much crocklery and cutlery and such ample space that it was very comfortable. We cooked both our dinner and the next day's breakfast there.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2011

We were pleasantly surprised with how nice the lodgings were here! We had a double bed, bunk bed, flat screen TV, bathroom, etc., and there was also a common room with a huge kitchen and lounge for cooking and eating. It had all of the conveniences of a hostel with all of the cleanliness and niceness of a hotel. It was also a perfect location for hiking or exploring Mt. Cook Village. The lounge area had an amazing view of Mt. Cook.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mt. Cook Village
0.4 mi away
Hermitage Hotel
Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
1,939 reviews
24.7 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,171 reviews
24.6 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
0.0 mi away
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
#4 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
340 reviews
0.1 mi away
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
#1 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge

Property: Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge
Address: 101 Bowen Drive, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7946, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Mt. Cook Village
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Mt. Cook Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Aoraki Mount Cook Village our accommodation is designed to meet the needs of the budget conscious traveller whilst providing the highest standard of service, cleanliness and comfort.We have 16 ensuite rooms, 24 hr onsite management, reception open 830am-800pm daily with 24hour check in available. Free WiFi is included in the room rate as is free off street parking onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Hotel Mt. Cook Village
Aoraki Mt Cook Alpine Hotel
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing