We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply The best thrill in the World”

Mount Cook Ski Planes & Helicopters
Book In Advance
More Info
US$200.39*
and up
25-Minute Helicopter Adventure Including Tasman Glacier from Mount Cook
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Exclusive to the Southern Hemisphere, Aoraki Mt Cook Ski Planes and Helicopters is the only company to offer glacier landing flights in both fixed wing aircraft and helicopters. Experience the natural quiet of the Tasman Glacier and absorb the ever changing glacial landscape of the New Zealand Southern Alps. Aoraki Mt Cook Ski Planes and Helicopters have been sharing the breathtaking scenery of the Southern Alps with travelers for 60 years. With snow present all year round, this impressive alpine environment creates an unforgettable adventure for people of all ages. Flights depart from Aoraki Mt Cook Airport, only a 5 minute drive from Aoraki Mt Cook Village. With our company base location within the Aoraki Mt Cook National Park it allows us to guarantee captivating scenery from the moment you board your flight. Experience the Ultimate Alpine Adventure with a Helicopter / Ski Plane Combo. For group bookings of 8 or more, fly half of your trip in a Helicopter and the other in a Ski Plane. Ideal for families and large group bookings. This Ultimate Alpine Adventure Combo is available in our entire range of scenic flight options at no additional cost. For climbers and skiers interested in transfers to the various hut locations within the Aoraki Mt Cook and Westland National Parks, we have both Ski Planes and Helicopters available for charter.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Simply The best thrill in the World”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The Mount Cook Ski Flight is a must do, it is simply the most thrilling thing I have ever experience, landing on the Tasman Glacier, walking around in shirt sleeves with the mini avalanches going on in the distance was awesome. Our pilot - Sam – was great, he was very knowledgeable, and nothing was too much trouble. The adventure was excellent value for money and I would highly recommend everyone to add this flight to make your holiday complete.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fraser P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam P, Pilot at Mount Cook Ski Planes & Helicopters, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hi Fraser,

Thanks a million for the great review! I'm glad you had a great time, I really enjoyed flying you two!
What a perfect day it was!

Kind regards,
Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    5
    0
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant response leading to an amazing experience”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I took the full helicopter trip including landing on the glacier. it was truly one of the best holiday experiences ever. And I nearly didn't get to do it because when I turned up the other people who had booked didn't show. Despite the fact that this would mean making a loss the pilot took me for a personal flight and commentary. A brilliant and unforgettable experience.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Adventure!”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Thank you to Mt Cook Ski Planes Crew for taking us on a flight of a life time. I have always wanted to land on the glacier in a ski plane and the experience was all that I had imagined. What a priviledge to see this amazing part of NZ from above and to walk on the glacier was fantastic. Great company and awesome aircraft...thanks again!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Neroli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Pines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't miss this”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This was definitely a highlight of our 7 week Down Under Trip.
We had an absolutely perfect day and were a bit price resistant after checking several flight options, but, the people at Mt. Cook Ski Planes made our decision easy and it was "The Best"!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank drewconneen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
130 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Ski plane and Helicopter tour on Glacier”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

An amazing well organised, agreable group of people. Excellent equipment and professional pilots. We split our group in two and one went up in a plane the other in an helicopter and for the return we exchanged. We landed on the glacier, and jumped around in the snow. The pilots were excellent guides. The views are breathtaking. A must to do when you go to Mt. Cook.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anci M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mount Cook Ski Planes & Helicopters also viewed

Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Mount Cook Ski Planes & Helicopters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing