We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Indian Cuisine”

A Pocket Full of Spices
Ranked #1 of 41 Restaurants in Rangiora
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian Cuisine”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Have known Mangal the owner since he opened his previous restaurant - Kwality, in central Christchurch CBD. The food and the level of service was spectacular. Then the Feb 22nd earthquake forced him to close his restaurant. Then he relocated to Hoon Hay, and Mangal was unfortunately involved with insurance issues and delay (like many unfortunate business owners encountered) that he could not renovate his premises because they just never paid out the money he was entitled to.

Finally, after much difficulty, he could sell that Hoon Hay shop and relocated to Rangiora. I am now glad that Mangal is finally enjoying the great feedback and high turnover which his outstanding food deserves after few years of unfortunate incidents.

The curries are absolutely delicious. I am addicted to Chef Mangal's special recipe curry, deicious for both chicken and fish. Rangiora residents are so lucky Mangal relocated there. Would definitely visit this place if I were to travel to Rangiora.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nitra001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    50
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
284 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Delicious meals.”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We have now been here twice and can not fault the food or service. The food is delicious and very tasty - enjoyed the curries and Naan bread. Great value for money too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NZfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awesome and Authentic”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This was one of the best Indian meals I have had, second only to Indian Pearl. Service was impeccable and the food was fabulous.

Seriously recommend this to anyone with a taste for a good Indian meal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LeahK64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernside, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simply devine food!”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We went to try out the new restaurant in Rangiora as a birthday celebration after hearing about how good it was from others in the community, well we weren't disappointed!!!! The service was great, and the food was simply devine, especially the mango chicken and naan bread! We were a group of 7 with 3 children/teens amongst us and all our needs were catered for throughout the evening. Service was excellent and very prompt not a lot of waiting around. Would definately go back again and highly recommend to others to go try it out!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vikki E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food & excellent service”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We ordered 2 curries, naan & 2 drinks and it was all served neatly and quickly. We had our food within 15 minutes and it was delicious. The staff were extremely polite and efficient. If you want great food for a fair price this is the place to go!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Pocket Full of Spices also viewed

Rangiora, Canterbury Region
 
Rangiora, Canterbury Region
Rangiora, Canterbury Region
 
Rangiora, Canterbury Region
 

Been to A Pocket Full of Spices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing