We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable meal, but not special”
Review of Capones Licensed Restaurant - CLOSED

Capones Licensed Restaurant
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal, but not special”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We have now eaten at this restaurant three times and enjoyed each visit. This time, we found the staff very welcoming and friendly and the service excellent, as it has been on the previous occasions. The wine was also excellent, but we were slightly disappointed with the meals. On our first visit, the food was outstanding, but this time, it seemed a little ordinary. The meat was slightly overdone and it was in a watery and rather tasteless gravy. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed the occasion and we will certainly be returning in the future, but we would like to see a bit more creativity and variety in the menu and a return to the previous outstanding quality of cooking.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Faith1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    18
    5
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rangiora, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Capones, Rangiora Nrth Canterbury”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We have been going to this restaurant for nearly 15 years and last night reminded us why. The food was as ever great, the waitress was warm and friendly with a good sense of humour and the place warm, relaxing and very comfortable. The food here has always been spectacular and the atmosphere created by the Owners is so welcomingly that you can happily spend all night there sitting, chatting and having a fantastic evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank STW2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Arrived without reservation middle of the week, however we were able to be seated promptly. We were seated nest the only one table that had diners. We requested to move as we wanted a private conversation and not be seated so close to someone else. Meals arrived promptly, large portions. My steak that was ordered medium arrived rare so was sent back for additional cooking. When bought back there was no apology in respect of the meal at all, no offer of a free glass of wine etc.
Nice meal but service could be improved.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always a great meal, never fails”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We dine here regulary and are never disappointed, the servings are always large and presentation amazing. Fantastic value for lunch, Rangioras best kept secret, i think people forget its lunch as well as dinner. Always attentive service and our lovely waitress always remembers what we drink.
As for dinner equally fantastic, great choices on the menu, i've tried most and again fantastic presentation and portion sizes. Meats are always cooked to perfection.
Well done capones, always our 1st choice

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michele m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodend Beach
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Lovely staff, great food and quite a romantic atmosphere. Best restaurant in Rangiora. I have dined there several times and love the garlic prawns. Dont think the picture does their food justice as it is nothing like a wine bar meal. Definately the pick for special occassions.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Capones Licensed Restaurant also viewed

Rangiora, Canterbury Region
Rangiora, Canterbury Region
 
Rangiora, Canterbury Region
Rangiora, Canterbury Region
 
Rangiora, Canterbury Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing