We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just a bit different” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capones Licensed Restaurant - CLOSED

Capones Licensed Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rangiora, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Just a bit different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

A nice wee restaurant offering good but pretty much standard food - but in interesting surroundings. Capones is a themed restaurant with everything based on the old gangsters. Interesting history lesson in the menu.
Creme Brûlée is first rate!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Na0miNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    18
    5
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great quality as always”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Surprisingly quiet for a Friday night..... My partner orderd the prawns and I ordered the duck salad, which I had not tried before. It was very tasty and my partner always enjoys the prawns there. Our steaks were great as always and the creme brulee light enough to finish off without feel swamped. My only complaint is that this restaurant does not change its menu often enough, as we are fairly regulars and have tried most main courses and entrees now and feel it would be nice to give regulars something different to try....

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank samsonandcleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caledonia, Mi
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Dined here with my wife and a cousin recently - a Fantastic experience with GREAT food.

Between a shared appetiser, 3 mains (lamb, beef and venison) and 3 desserts (sticky date, crème brûlée and Chocolate Cake), there wasn't a bad plate amongst them all.

A very pleasant evening and dinner.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RogerKIWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic - couldn't be faulted!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

We dined here on a Thursday evening. There was a large group near where we to be seated, but we were offered another table upon entry in case it would be too noisy. The service was fantastic, attentive and polite and the staff were lovely. I ordered a Duck Salad with mango and avocado with a star anise dressing (starter size) as my main and it was beautifully presented and the flavours worked really nicely together. My partner ordered the Fish of the day which was again presented beautifully and couldn't be faulted.
For dessert we ordered the White Chocolate & Baileys Cheesecake for him, and for me the Mixture of Sorbets. Both were of a great size, the sorbets presented in a giant martini glass. Both desserts were delicious.
This dining experience was, without doubt, one of the best we've ever had. We could not find a thing to fault them on, and in fact found ourselves asking if they'd charged us enough, as it was so reasonable!
A highly recommended restaurant, with a great story and even better food & service!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaikoura, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great birthday celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Finally getting around to writing a review! We had a large family group booked in for dinner in September for my Dads 8oth, so a varied age group and tastes. Everyone enjoyed their meal and we were really pleased with the service and attention. Meals generous so kept the boys happy especially, and I was really surprised my mum finshed her whole meal as well! Obviously really tasty. Hostess very gracious when we all decided to pay our own part of the bill!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Neroli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Capones Licensed Restaurant also viewed

Rangiora, Canterbury Region
 
Rangiora, Canterbury Region
Rangiora, Canterbury Region
 
Rangiora, Canterbury Region
Rangiora, Canterbury Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing