We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Working party in Temuka”
Review of Phoenix Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Phoenix Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Temuka
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Recently, our company sent 5 staff down to Temuka (of which I was one) to do some work at a local food processing plant. The work consisted of 12 hour working days covering both day and night shift. The Phoenix Motel was picked for its relative proximity to the processing site and the fact that it was one of the newer facilities in the area.
All the BPO Ltd staff really enjoyed their stay at the Phoenix, Clare and Baden were very flexible around those people who were sleeping during the day, and happily made arrangements for the team to have lunches to take to work and for laundry facilities to be available.
When we work down in this region again, the Phoenix Motel will be our first choice in accommodation. Pity help the BPO Ltd staff member booking if they cannot get everyone in there!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarek_11, Owner at Phoenix Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Hi Geoff
Thankyou for taking the time to write a review on the Phoenix Motel. Both Baden and I thoroughly enjoyed having you all here and looking forward to seeing you all again next year.
I'll get myself prepared again for all those lunch's ! :) Cheers Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2013

Well done guy's. (whoops and Gal's.!) My occupation takes me all around the country, and for what it is worth overseas and so I have seen the inside of more motels-hotels than I care to mention. I don't write many reviews however occasionally a stay at a motel is memorable and it leaves an impression. How is it that some people (Motels) can get it so very, very, right and some get it so very wrong.
When I pulled into the Motel car park (large parking bays) my first thoughts were of the traffic noise from the motel being just off the Main Rd South. Windows are double glazed so the noise is shut out and was not a problem, however my preference is for fresh air, and so I like my windows open, even in the middle of winter (strange I know) however I had a wonderful sleep and a spectacularly comfortable Bed. The road noise does not seem to penetrate.
The owners, Clare and Bayden are ever so friendly and you feel very much at home from the moment you arrive. Clare and Bayden have done it so Very Very right.
Thanks for the efforts you put into your business. Your motel is right at the top of my list.

Leigh Scott Machinery Ltd.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank letook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarek_11, Owner at Phoenix Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Hi
Thankyou so much for your review it is awesome!! We are new to this industry and pleased we are making people happy. We really love it here and running this business and I quess that makes a difference as well. Hope to see you back again here soon. Have a great day and thanks once again. Clare and Baden King

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The Phoenix motel is more than the average motel. The rooms are modern and well laid out. They are spotless and don't have that typical motel smell about them. The windows are double glazed so there is no traffic noise and are very warm. We didn't need the heater on even though there was a -2 degree frost outside. What really makes this place is the hospitality of Clare and Baden - awesome people to get to know. We will definitely be back to try out Baden's salmon safari adventures and catch up with Clare's great photography. Thanks for the memorable weekend and for showing us what real snow is!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Joanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarek_11, Owner at Phoenix Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Hi Jo

It was great to have you both stay at our Motel and thanks for making the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. The day trip to Roundhill/Tekapo was a wonderful day and we were very happy to show you both around. I have posted most of the photos on our Facebook Phoenix Motel page and also our Outback Salmon Safari Facebook page. Please check them out!! Hope to see you back here again. Take care and all the best. Clare and Baden.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed at the Phoenix motel for 4 nights while in town visiting relatives. From the get-go Clare & Bayden, the owners, were absolutely fantastic! Friendly and accommodating, they were both lovely. We stayed in a two bedroom room with spa bath and it was perfect for our needs. The rooms and living/dining room were huge and had everything that we needed. Importantly, it was very clean and tidy and the beds were very comfortable. If you're ever in Temuka/Timaru and need somewhere to stay I would definitely recommend the Phoenix.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarek_11, Owner at Phoenix Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Hi Alex

Thanks for the great review! It was a pleasure to meet you both and hope to see you back here again. Take care and all the best. Clare and Baden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Stayed here overnight to break my journey from Dunedin to Christchurch. Very modern motel. Bed was very comfortable and I was I impressed with the high standard of cleanliness. Motel is owner operated which really makes a difference.There were some amazing mounted photos on the wall which were taken by Clare the owner. I am interested in photography so had a chat with her and she showed me some of her other work. Wow she is some photographer! Her artwork is for sale and I would recommend taking a piece of Canterbury home with you. If it won't fit in your luggage she might even it post it to you. Baden was very friendly and helpful with directions and things to do while holidaying in that part of the country. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarek_11, Owner at Phoenix Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Hi Anne

Thanks for choosing Phoenix Motels we are very proud of our complex and being new owners want to make sure our clients stay is happy. Thankyou for your kind review and great to talk photography with another keen photographer. We had another client here Ben who also left a great review and we talked photography for ages!! And yes I have thought about having my photos in reception for sale. Hope to see you back here again soon. Cheers Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Arriving in Temuka from the Gold Coast after a bad experience of loosing our luggage in transit, Clair and Braden went out of their way to rectify our problem.

With their help our luggage was sent down from CHCH to the motel without due fuss.

We found the motel to be extremely warm and inviting just like the hosts.

My husband was very taken with Bradens new Salmon safaris venture and we will be making sure we return to NZ in the right season to experience this opportunity.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarek_11, Owner at Phoenix Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Hi Col!
You did have a bad start! Pleased we could help out with the baggage but that's what we are here for! See you both in the Salmon Season which starts in November, Baden has had quiet a few bookings already. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip around the South Island but I am sure you would of. Nice to meet you both and thank you for the great review. Cheers Clare and Baden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

On our arrival we were welcomed warmly by Clare and Baden our hosts. Our unit was exceptionally clean and spacious, we were most impressed with the beautiful photography artwork that Clare had done, it made our room feel homely and was a nice personal touch. It was the first time we have stayed in Temuka and we were impressed with the value for money. Look forward to staying again!

Sue and Andrew

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarek_11, Manager at Phoenix Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Hi Sue
So nice to meet the two of you and hope you are able to come back again. Thanks for the review. We like to see our customers leaving happy! Cheers Clare and Baden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Temuka
11 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel
Grosvenor Hotel
#5 of 18 in Timaru
265 reviews
10.5 mi away
ASURE Scenic Route Motor Lodge
10 mi away
Geraldine motels
Geraldine motels
#166 of 261 in Canterbury Region
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Avenue Motor Lodge
Avenue Motor Lodge
#2 of 18 in Timaru
98 reviews
10.7 mi away
Andorra Motel
Andorra Motel
#2 of 5 in Geraldine
70 reviews
8.8 mi away
Black on Grey Motel
Black on Grey Motel
#3 of 5 in Geraldine
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Motel

Address: 215 King Street, Temuka 7920, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Temuka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Temuka
Price Range: £64 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Phoenix Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richard Sansbury has been the proud new owners of Phoenix Motels since 6 October 2017. Phoenix Motels are Temuka's newest motel complex.Phoenix Motels are a high quality, spacious motel complex which offers a convenient location in the South Canterbury region.Situated on State Highway one, only two minutes from the Temuka town centre and only twenty minutes from Timaru. With ten very spacious double glazed studio units and family apartments with fully equipped kitchens. All include 42" LCD TVs in Living areas and Main Bedroom in Exec Apartments. SKY 50+ CHANNELS,FREE WIFI, FREE PARKING. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Phoenix Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing