We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a clean and classy place and run by lovely people!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phoenix Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Phoenix Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Temuka
Wakefield, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Such a clean and classy place and run by lovely people!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed here whilst attending a wedding and was lucky enough to get a room of my own. The kitchenette and bathroom were so clean and well-equipped. The heating was top notch and I enjoyed watching the TV from bed.

I also accidentally leaked milk onto the bedspread, but when I told the owners at reception, they were so friendly and nice about it.

Thank you for such a pleasant and enjoyable stay!

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank ErynMaritime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    10
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
18
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We had a great stay here so much so we stayed an extra night.The room was spotless and well appointed, had the best nights sleep. It is in a great location to visit the Lakes and Boulders. But the Motels biggest asset is Clare, who gave us some great places to visit, Fleurs was a highlight she also impressed us with her fantastic photography (plus handy hints). This was our first visit to NZ, it wont be our last and hopefully we will get to visit the Phoenix again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarek_11, Manager at Phoenix Motel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hello Sheila and Kevin!
Thankyou so much for taking the time to write this great review for us! We loved having you stay here. You came at the right time as the weather is getting very cold and rainy now. We hope the rest of your stay in NZ was enjoyable especially your family time at Akaroa. Love to have you back again. Take Care. Clare and Baden xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Loved this place. It was so clean and tidy and was in the perfect location for us. They are located in a great location and the motel is modern and stylish. The beds were comfy and there is lots of parking. The rooms are beautiful and spacious.

Clare and Baden really are so helpful. They gave us wonderful advice on where to go and what to see in the area. They are the type of motel owners that set such a high standard for everyone else.

Totally recommend staying here. We will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarek_11, Manager at Phoenix Motel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Hello! Thanks for the great review and making the time to write it. Sorry I havn't responded sooner I seem to of missed if!? We hope the remainder of your travels went well and you got to see lots more of our beautiful country. All the best to you both. Clare and Baden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

As first time visitors to New Zealand we had travelled this beautiful Country from Cape Reinga to the south tip of South Island, leaving back to Switzerland out of Christchurch end of Januar 2014. We had been travelling by car and made no advance reservations for Motels. By GPS we arrived at the Phoenix Motel in Temuka and were immediately most friendly welcomed by Clare. There was no fuss made, that we preferred a room at street level although some rearrangements had to be done. We found the rooms sparkling clean and practical furnished, the bed was very comfortable. Although right next to main street, the traffic noise was not an issue.
I was throughout our trip very anxious not to leave anything behind in the various motel rooms that we visited. But at Phoenix Motel it happend, I left my electrical plug adapter behind. When I was back in Switzerland I was just curious on whether in fact I left it back at Phoenix Motel. Clare immediately responded to my mail and even offered, to send it back to me. I will probably pick it up on my next trip to New Zealand, when I will definately stay over at Phoenix Motel again. Thanks Clare, well done.

Erich, Zurich, Switzerland

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Erich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarek_11, Manager at Phoenix Motel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Hello Erich
Sorry for not responding! I seem to of missed a couple. Thankyou for taking the time to make this review we really appreciate it. I still have your adaptor in our drawer! A very hectic time then but our son has recovered thank goodness. It would be nice to see you again. I would love to go to Switzerland it's on my bucket list! All the best. Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

After righting off our campervan thanks to a falling tree, the Phoenix Motel took us in, cared for us overnight and set us off the next day ready to continue with our travels. Spacious rooms, clean and comfortable. Good breakfast too!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarek_11, Owner at Phoenix Motel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Hi Fiona Sorry for the late reply. We would like to thank you for taking the time and writing a review, we really appreciate it! And we hope the remainder of your time in NZ went according to plan and no hipcups along the way!. I have a photo for you but I don't have your email address.
All the best to you both. Clare and Baden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amberley, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Lovely room, good bed, But the constant sound from the traffic especially the milk tankers made for restless sleep although the bed was good the noise was a put off. The light from a street lamp directly across from the upstairs unit we had could not be blocked out with the curtains and also motel lighting entered room around windows and under bathroom door.
If considering staying there do not opt for the upstairs corner unit. The fact the it is "the newest Motel in Temuka" says little for the quality of sound proofing and good curtaining which is available in this day and age. Did suggest the owner spend the night in this unit and get the experience his guests are paying for. When making grading I can only go on our experience not other rooms and there sound proof qualities.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarek_11, Manager at Phoenix Motel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Motel. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.
We are new owners of the Phoenix Motels and providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service is our priority. As our motel is only 8 years old and therefore built to modern standards with double glazing, and quality thermal drapes we were disappointed that you found it noisy. Should you ever visit us again we will ensure you are accommodated in another unit.
Thankyou and all the best. Clare and Baden King
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

I recently had the pleasure of an extended visit at the Phoenix Motel enroute to Dunedin.
Due to a comedy of errors in respect of cancelled and rescheduled flights I stayed in three units that were scrupulously clean, elegantly comfortable with an attention to detail and surprisingly quiet considering the proximity of the main road.
As a frequent traveller throughout New Zealand the Phoenix would top my list as the most welcoming establishment I have stayed in. This is a reflection of the hosts, Bayden and Clare, for whom hospitality is paramount and whose calm collected demeanour ensures that every reasonable request is politely catered for with minimal fuss accompanied by a friendly smile.
I unreservedly recommend the Phoenix as an ideal stopover for any travellers and holiday makers journeying around the South Island.
Dave Jenkins, Barrister and Solicitor, Wellington

Room Tip: As stated all rooms I stayed in were excellent however my room on the first floor with the spa and v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarek_11, Owner at Phoenix Motel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Hi Dave

Thankyou so much for your kind words and great review. My staff and Baden and I are humbled by your words. We are constantly looking for ways to improve, and we appreciate you feedback. It was great having you stay and we hope to see you back here again at the Phoenix Motel with your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Temuka
11.0 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel
Grosvenor Hotel
#5 of 18 in Timaru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
10.5 mi away
ASURE Scenic Route Motor Lodge
10.4 mi away
Timaru TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Geraldine Kiwi Holiday Park & Motel
7.6 mi away
Serenity Motels
Serenity Motels
#1 of 2 in Pleasant Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
10.9 mi away
Elizabeth Court Guest House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Motel

Property: Phoenix Motel
Address: 215 King Street, Temuka 7920, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Temuka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Temuka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Phoenix Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clare and Baden King have been the proud new owners of Phoenix Motels since 15 Mar 2013. Phoenix Motels are Temuka's newest motel complex.Phoenix Motels are a high quality, spacious motel complex which offers a convenient location in the South Canterbury region.Situated on State Highway one, only two minutes from the Temuka town centre and only twenty minutes from Timaru. With ten very spacious double glazed studio units and family apartments with fully equipped kitchens. All include 42" LCD TVs in Living areas and Main Bedroom in Exec Apartments. SKY 50+ CHANNELS,FREE WIFI, FREE PARKING. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Phoenix Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing