We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make a special trip”
Review of Te Kiteroa Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waimate
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Te Kiteroa Lodge
Reviewed 25 October 2013

It is worth making a special trip to Waimate just to stay here.  A beautiful old wooden house, the best outlook from the bath, a top quality bed, fluffy towels, a huge range of teas....  The house is on a gentle rise with an expansive outlook to the coast that makes one sigh and gasp all at once.  (Take the turret room; it is special).  
Waimate has a jewel worth visiting: St Augustine's church, designed in 1872 by Benjamin Mountfort.  The church also includes two fine windows designed and made by the English firm Morris & Co. (2 of only 8 in NZ). And the vicar is wise and welcoming. 

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Lucy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te_Kiteroa_Lodge_NZ, Owner at Te Kiteroa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thankyou for the kind words. We are so glad you could share with us our specisl little part of paradise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2013

The team at Te Kiteroa, were Kind, Caring, Helpful and by gosh just all round brilliant hosts! I was there for just 1 night sadly however I have pledged to come back for longer next time. My room was fantastic, with a very comfortable bed. The Bathroom facilities were great. My personal highlight would be the view over Waimate from the Spa- Wow, just WOW.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te_Kiteroa_Lodge_NZ, Owner at Te Kiteroa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Many thanks. It was our pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

I will keep this short as I don't want to share this too much.It's the sort of place you want to keep as a secret-it's perfect!
Owners-nothing is too much trouble,very friendly and interesting.
Accomodation-Five star +
Overlooking vinyeards soaking in the hot tub - priceless.
:)

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful.We stayed in the Philips Turret room which has a tv (but the scenery was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jokemuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te_Kiteroa_Lodge_NZ, Owner at Te Kiteroa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

So pleased you enjoyed the experience.
Hope you can share a little

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

After a drive from Moeraki Beach where the most extraordinary boulders are found on the beach, we easily located this lovely house in the most peaceful location. Our hostess welcomed us warmly with tea and showed us the Bledisloe room, which is very comfortable with wonderful views over Waimate to the coast in the distance. As there were no other guests staying that night, we were given our pick of the bedrooms. The house was built in 1913 and the land has recently had a large quantity of vines planted. We very much enjoyed tasting the wines. The place is very relaxing and guests are welcome to use the hot tub any time of the day or evening. There are lovely walks through forest behind the house and you can drive to the top of Whitehorse hill for fabulous views. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lawnturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te_Kiteroa_Lodge_NZ, Owner at Te Kiteroa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

So happy we could share with you our little part of paradise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

On 6thMay, 2012 we made a leisurely drive from Christchurch into Waimate, with vibrant colors of autumn in the landscape. We were pleasantly surprised how easy it was to locate the lodge, driving through luscious greenery leading to Te Kiteroa. We were allocated the Bledisloe room, which was spacious and comfortable. Ann and Gary were the perfect host, serving excellent meal and delicious dessert and chatting with us on Singapore, over tea around the fireplace in the beautiful lounge area. With the peaceful and quiet atmosphere, Khoon and I slept very soundly until we awoke to bright red color filtering through the bedroom window. It was the sunrise, with the sky a bright fiery red!. That afternoon Ann graciously drove us around the countryside, pointing out deers and alpacas in the vicinity until White Horse monument, which is the top of the hill behind the lodge. We alighted, soaked in a panaromic view of Waimate view, before embarking on a hour and half treking through the woods downhill to Point Bush Road, where the lodge. We thoroughly enjoyed our 2-night stay in Te Kiteora and would recommend this lodge for a peaceful relaxing lodge, listening to birds singing and watching stars and spectacular sunrise ! Ann was also very helpful in travel information on other sight-seeing locations and we enjoyed our 3 weeks stay in South Island because of her recommendation of Catlins, Wanaka, Oamaru etc. With erratic weather this month, she suggested we follow the weather forecast wherever was sunny; and it all worked out very well. Thank you Ann and Gary for making our stay in NZ so pleasant !

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te_Kiteroa_Lodge_NZ, Owner at Te Kiteroa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Those fiery sunrises are sure a nice wake-up call

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We arrived at this beautiful B&B late after flying into Christchurch--tired and a little stressed after 2 hours of driving on the unfamiliar side of the road. Ann and Gary got us settled and although I'm sure they would rather have been in bed, offered us a glass of wine or tea while we chatted about what we wanted to see and do the next day--it was just what we needed! Our spacious Turret room, with homey, antique appointments, had a beautiful view of their vineyard and valley below. (In contrast, the bathroom was very tiny.) After a filling breakfast, Ann provided maps and information on the sights we wanted to see, and patiently answered all our questions. She was the perfect hostess in a gorgeous setting.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alison98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te_Kiteroa_Lodge_NZ, Owner at Te Kiteroa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Thankyou for the accolades. We are working on the bathroom sizes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We had a lovely overnight at TeKiteroa...what a gorgeous old building and gardens. Host were welcoming and friendly. We stayed in the grand Turret room with great views and songs of bell birds. We enjoyed the wine tasting and then the bottle we chose! The evening meal was good, and breakfast was wonderful.
I would have appreciated some shampoo in the shower though.
Overall a great get away and good value.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te_Kiteroa_Lodge_NZ, Owner at Te Kiteroa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Many thanks. Glad to share our little gem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Te Kiteroa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Kiteroa Lodge

Address: 227 Point Bush Road, Waimate 7979, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Waimate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Waimate
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 104+ year old Edwardian property located on an elevated site with views to the southern alps around to the Pacific Ocean. Located within a working vineyard and adjacent winery with direct access to bush walks and mountain-biking trails from the front gate. Hosted B&B accommodation with guest dining in the evening by arrangement. Sauna and outdoor hot-tub with deck loungers. Complimentary winery tour and tasting for guests. See us on Facebook - TeKiteroa ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing