We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most awful hotel I have ever stayed in.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Hotel Ciudad Del Sur
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto Real
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Most awful hotel I have ever stayed in.”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

So many different things to say about this hotel. 1. It has bed bugs, 2. Various areas of the hotel has issues with ants, 3. The swimming pool is full of roaches, 4. The rece0tion is full of roaches. 5. Phone callsduring the night from receptioists talking rubbish. 6 Not a wide selection of food. 7. Miles from anywhere. 8. Very arragant staff. 9. Mildew in bathrooms. 10. Cleaners who obviousley dont understand the do not disturb sign.

Awful place couldn't wait to get out.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    11
    26
    7
    12
See reviews for
11
24
1
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel is big,clean,with neat rooms and all the facilities you may need such as swimming pool and restaurants. Given the four stars,this is exactly what to expect.
This being said, I couldn't find anything that stroke me particularly : the hotel lacks personality.The location is a little in the middle of nowhere,even if just fine if you have a car.

This is a good solution to explore the surroundings if you plan on spending all your day visiting and stay in the hotel just for the night.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorepansana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnee On Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The rooms are large, clean and well furnished, the staff is friendly and helpful. So why was our stay here so depressing? Simply because this very nice hotel is land locked on a slight rise in a dismal flat landscape of nothingness where the hot Levante wind blow fiercely night and day. It could be the setting for a surrealist movie. There is a dining room that never opens ( the coffee shop/bar keeps regular hours), and a swimming pool that looks never used. In the distance you can see the white bones of nearby Puerto Real. This small town is one of the saddest. I believe it is where suicides go to vacation.

If you come by car, the Gran Hotel del Sur is a convenient hopping off point for the beaches around Cadiz, but don't believe the maps in thinking it is close. Traffic patterns and highway grids make any journey in this area more suitable to GPS than human navigational instincts.

If you are carless, Puerto Real is les than ten minutes by taxi. There are three god restaurants in town, one of which specializes in very fresh seafood, (Taberna Del Puerto) and is great (but closed Sunday). Cadiz is a little father but three times the taxi fare because, I think, the taxis need to make he return trip empty. Cadiz is a solid wall of high apartment houses blocking any view of the sea for about two miles until you enter the inner sanctum of the old city. This ancient port town is charming. Too bad the rush to develop the beaches around it created such awfulness.

The only sour note about the Gran Hotel Ciudad del Sur was when we checked out a day early on a three day reservation and were charged for the unused day. The management was within their rights because they insisted on a two-day cancellation. But since the hotel was nearly empty, they were not loosing any business because if our early checkout -- except ours.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertitoL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2009

very pleased to have found this hotel. the reception staff could not have been more helpful and gave every assistance possible. the rooms were very good,and nice and quiet.great place to stay to visit cadiz.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tearmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Real
13.7 mi away
ILUNION Tartessus Sancti Petri Hotels
ILUNION Tartessus Sancti Petri H...
#5 of 11 in Novo Sancti Petri
964 reviews
5.2 mi away
H2 Salymar
H2 Salymar
#15 of 28 in Cadiz
123 reviews
8.1 mi away
Alboran Chiclana
Alboran Chiclana
#16 of 25 in Chiclana de la Frontera
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hotel Puertobahia & Spa
Hotel Puertobahia & Spa
#1 of 18 in El Puerto de Santa Maria
608 reviews
6.6 mi away
Tryp Cadiz la Caleta Hotel
5.9 mi away
Hotel Puerto Sherry
Hotel Puerto Sherry
#10 of 18 in El Puerto de Santa Maria
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Ciudad Del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Ciudad Del Sur

Property: Gran Hotel Ciudad Del Sur
Address: Carretera a Paterna A-408 | Km 0, 11510 Puerto Real, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Puerto Real
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto Real
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Ciudad Del Sur 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Hotel Ciudad Del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Puerto Real

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing