We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel St. Georg zum See
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Maurach
London, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfection in paradise”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a little cross country skiing holiday. We had room 101 which was lovely. The rooms are very big. The hotel is stunningly clean. The service and staff were excellent. The hotel is close to everything; the views fantastic. You are on the main road, but you can't hear the cars at all. The sauna and spa were exactly what we needed after a day of skiing. We loved the dinners. All the little extras like the 'morning post', the themed coffee and cake, the specially chosen wines with the meals, all added to a perfect holiday. We were just missing the snow......!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kaffeeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    25
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
28
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
1,442 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 628 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I stayed for one night in this hotel. It was a good base for hikes around Achensee. The service is good and the breakfast was good too. It appears to be a family business and they are very cordial which is almost typical of all countryside in Austria. The view from the balconies in particular was exceptional with an almost panoramic view of Achensee.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGlacierist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabro, Denmark
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

The hotel is family run, and very nice. We stayed for 4 nights and had dinner at the hotel each night. Rooms are large with nice view of the lake, furniture are a bit old, but the cleaning is very good. Relaxing area in the basement with pool, silence areas with sun beds, room for treatments, and 2 different saunas. All is very high standard and modern. The restaurant is also very good and decorated in typical alpine style. The menu each night has a high quality, and has a good variation. Some night with set menu, and som nights with possibility to choose different main courses.
The skiing area is nice for beginners, but not very big. We tought our son skiing, and for this purpose it was good.

Room Tip: The rooms with lake view are a bit smaller than the ones wiht mountain view, but have balconys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grieskirchen, Austria
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

Looking for a hotel with as much snow-guarantee as you can possibly get in Europe in December, the choice of the St. Georg seemed right. Competent and friendly in the reservation process, an appealing website presence and easy enough to reach from Munich Airport. The family running the place is delightful. You can feel that they care about their hotel and service was warm & friendly. Let's start with the best part: DINNER. Wow! the daily 4-course meal (with 3 choices of main courses) was amazing. Considering that the quality of the food at your hotel can severely "make or break" a holiday, those guys have absolute stars in the kitchen. Fresh, tasty, and just fabulous! pity we never got to see those heroes of the ovens :-). Breakfast was nice and fresh every day, but could be upgraded a little bit. More selection on cold cuts that Austria is so famous for and cheese, as well as maybe fresh juices (at least orange) instead of packet ones. The coffee was the only thing that was very poor. It just had no taste & quality; but paying extra for cappucinos and lattes seemed very strange - those are standard by now and should be included in the price!! The daily morning post with news and information was a nice touch; the weather forecast might have been a bit more interpreted - the ones copied from the newspaper are very unpractical to read unless you're used to the Austrian way of weather explanations. So there's a bit of room for improvement on breaky. The fact that internet is chargeable was a bit of a surprise. - by now, that shouldn't be the case any more. At least not, if you bring your own laptop. - I understand the internet station in the lobby and the danger, that kids would sit there all day, surfing with their friends. Also, it'd be great to have internet access in the rooms, not just in the lobby/bar. The bar was nice & warm, yet the opening times from 14.00hrs onwards only seemed very restricted - be nice to have it open from right after breakfast & also serve small snacks (Toast, Frankfurter, Gulaschsuppe) which the barman could easily heat up if required. the bar menu is a bit limited and it'd be nice to have a bigger selection. The open fire place is lovely and makes a huge difference to the place. The dining room is in a nice & traditional outfit and some good-soul-of-the-house clearly has a good hand with decorations. Very nice! The newly opened Spa area & Saunas are nice. warm & comfortable. but again the restriction of the Saunas to only be open from 2pm is a bit strange. Treatments are lovely, yet a bit overpriced. also the spa-staff does still seem to settle in - so it's a bit "in trial-and-error-mode" as they just seemed to have opened it with season's start. Might have been an idea to have introductory specials for the first month until all "kinderkrankheiten" (hick-ups) are sorted out. The tea-station is nice. a water-fountain rather than just the tab might look a bit more inviting. The fresh apples in the spa & lobby are a nice touch. The guest rooms are spacious but do need some serious refurb. - the TV's are very outdated, and the furniture shows its age. it's lovely to have a living area as well - makes a huge difference. a little welcome letter, a small bottle of sparkling wine or a local produce (wine, beer, schnaps or non-alcoholic fruit juice) would have been nice. As it is a family hotel, that personal touch in the room-arrival experience was missing. The beds/mattresses are not the most comfy ones and the bed duvets are tiny (which makes assume their age) - also a second pillow would be nice - just bringing the whole guest room experience a bit more up-to-date. The bathroom was nice & clean, but the soap was never replenished when finished. The guest service directory has on some occasions a bit the sound of a book-of-orders. Though I can appreciate, that holidaying families with many kids might take advantage of things too much & cause losses to the hotel, I'm not sure on some notes on the beverage menu & in the room directory. Sounded a tiny bit childish at times to receive instructions in that form. The housekeeping team was very friendly & fast, as well as proper - that was pleasant; but the rooms still have carpet floors and coming back from outside (winter-snow-wet) they did look very worn down. might be better to consider a swipeable version for housekeeping as well as guest pleasure :-). The breakfast timings were a bit restrictive - being a holiday hotel, one does not always get up early. so extending it to 11am would be a nice touch. All in all we had a great time. the family who runs the place seems all to have hotelier-background and it's a well-managed place in a nice location. We'd hope to see some product upgrades over time and are certainly tempted to go back there again. X-mas eve was very nicely done - the only suggestion for improvement would be live Hausmusik (guitar, Hackbrett, flute etc.) - to make it more homey than with a CD player. might be difficult to arrange on such a private holiday for Austria, but certainly would enhance that experience by far.
Thank you to the whole team of Family Hundsbichler, who helped us making this x-mas a special one! Hopefully we'll see you again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam7506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maurach
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
#3 of 9 in Maurach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mauracherhof
Mauracherhof
#7 of 9 in Maurach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpenrose
Alpenrose
#2 of 9 in Maurach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Travel Charme Fuerstenhaus am Achensee
0.9 mi away
Kinderhotel Buchau
Kinderhotel Buchau
#1 of 9 in Maurach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sonnalp
Hotel Sonnalp
#6 of 9 in Maurach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Georg zum See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Georg zum See

Property: Hotel St. Georg zum See
Address: Achenseestrasse 18 | 6212 Maurach, Maurach, Eben am Achensee 6212, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Eben am Achensee > Maurach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Maurach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Georg zum See 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
My magical vitality vacation on lake Achensee Escape the humdrum of everyday life and enjoy one of the most beautiful regions of Austria. Imbedded in an endless ocean of mountains, on the edge of Tirols largest lake you find our 4 Star Wellnesshotel St. Georg zum See. On an elevation of 950 m you can experience Indulgence, Relaxation, Wellness, beautiful views of the emerald green shimmering lake Achensee and the impressive summits of the surrounding Rofan and Karwendel mountains. Everyone who loves exercise but also those who are looking for recreation will find their personal secluded retreat at Hotel St. Georg zum See. We look forward to welcoming you to the Achensee The Hundsbichler Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, seekda GmbH, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel St. Georg zum See reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing