We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“cosy cottage full of charm and character. All...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Average
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Baslow, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
loveroftr...
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Misled by Grading and Description”
Reviewed 11 September 2012 for a stay in July 2012
4
people found this review helpful

We feel badly let down by Sykes Cottages (who have received an excellence award from Trip Advisor), and their grading system. This small cottage was graded as five ticks and said to be first-class and luxurious but it is none of these things. Beware photographs maximising a property's appeal. We have complained to Sykes who say that they agree the grading with the owner(!), and that they are impartial between the owners and the customer. We didn't feel that they accepted any responsibility for the way a property is advertised, and ask how can they be impartial when they receive commission for listing it?

Brook Cottage needs to be redecorated and refurbished, and the double-bed mattresses are very uncomfortable to say the least - I still have back pain over six weeks later. The owner, of course, didn't accept our complaints and said the beds were of differing firmness and no springs were broken. It is true the springs to the double mattresses were not broken but you could certainly feel them as there was insufficient padding on both. We are world travelled and have slept on a variety of mattresses before without problems. Things were so bad that after suffering for three nights we went into Chesterfield to buy a topper, which we did not need at our own home. Only the two single beds were comfortable, in what is basically a children's room.

As far as the furnishings and decoration of the property was concerned, the owner replied that it was done in the "distressed" style, and we have to agree that he has over-achieved in this area because, in our opinion, this property is not "shabby chic" just shabby. There was one small mirror between the three bedrooms, so we had to take it in turns to borrow it.

There is a photograph, accompanying a review last year, of the edging to the work surfaces in the kitchen having peeled away exposing the chipboard . Nothing has been done about this and it is now worse with wear and tear. We had to suffer a running tap in the kitchen for 24 hours, after arrival, before it was repaired but we accept that is something which can happen to anybody.

There was a large, messy, repair to the kitchen wall which had not been re-decorated. It was also impossible to move around the kitchen table when it was extended to accommodate five of us, and it was a real squeeze sitting down to eat together.

The property is excellently placed for walking into Chatsworth and is in a lovely village. However, the courtyard is noisy from the nearby main road, and overlooked by several properties. It is full of weeds and half-dead plants and had a view of inadequately screened wheelie bins and an open re-cycling bin full of the last tenant's rubbish. The owner blamed its state on not being able to clear it due to the awful weather this summer. I note that a review from last year also mentioned the poor condition of the courtyard so this is not a new problem.

The shower in the large bathroom is excellent but the heavy door easily came off its hinges - not good with children in the party. The grouting around the base needed replacing and there was another, undecorated, patch repair on the wall (apparently a previous tenant had allowed the shower to overflow). However, the towels were of superb quality. The sitting room was not five ticks in comfort or decoration but it did have character and a lovely fireplace.

Sykes reply to us was unsatisfactory because, although told of our bad experience, they would make no promise to re-inspect this property or to lower its grading if the owner did not bring it up to five ticks standard. However, even a one-star property should have comfortable beds.

We are left wondering how can we book the right property for our requirements if we can't rely on it being accurately graded or described on Sykes website or even on the Trip Advisor site. Most of the reviews on Trip Advisor (old ones - none this year last time I looked) were positive and only a couple were "telling it like it is". Normally I take the overall view but, in future, I will take much more notice of negative reviews (even if they are in the minority) because they are the only ones which turned out to reflect the true situation we found. You wonder what the positive reviewers are comparing the property to - certainly not five ticks luxury. Our experience of Sykes makes us wonder how they have achieved a glowing recommendation by Trip Advisor. Loveroftravel52,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its proximity to Chatsworth
Liked least: The mattresses
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariabont...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“cosy cottage full of charm and character. All round pleaser, great value for money.”
Reviewed 31 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

I would like to say what a great time myself, friends and family had whilst staying here recently. Considering i had never booked a trip before, and was concerned that 5 19-23 year olds staying for two of the three nights was not the most appealing prospect for any cottage owners, i was pleasantly surprised it was a no-questioned-asked/non-judgmental booking procedure. i found it extremely straightforward to book our stay and the owners of the cottage were quick to respond with my check-in/check-out questions and their responses were very friendly and welcoming too. The check-in/check-out procedure couldn't possibly have been any simpler!

First impressions on entering the cottage, it was like a home from home, instantly putting all at ease and just as it looks in the pictures. The things which made our stay particularly memorable; the big open fireplace which really kicked out some warmth; ease of cooking due to the good straightforward appliances and complete range of crockery and utensils; the spaciousness of bedrooms, super fresh bed linen and large thick towels; and the lovely powerful shower, great for revitalizing walkers and fending off muscle aches! This cottage was loved as a place for friends, and later too as a place for family. Managed somehow to do the impossible - please both teenagers and (infamously fussy) 60 year olds!

I would also like to add , having read a number of reviews on here, there are a couple of things i feel have been put across unfairly - arguably, the sitting room was just the right size for 5 adults, perhaps not quite 6, but considering the Baslow area provides such a great opportunity for getting out and exploring, weather permitting, it should hardly be a problem. The smaller size of the sitting room came more as a benefit to our party as with the open fire it warmed up immediately and made for an extremely cosy evening after a long days walk. The kitchen was fully equipped with every kind of utensil needed to make just about anything, and of perfectly good quality considering their constant use by holiday makers!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bedrooms/Shower
Liked least: Settee comfort
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed 24 October 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with teenagers
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kimberley...
Kimberleytrio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
Reviewed 25 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011
5
people found this review helpful

Location of this cottage very nice close proximity to Chatsworth Estate,local shop,tea room,and pubs,our first impressions of the cottage were very good from the outside although on entering we were shocked at the overall size of the living area as it advertised as accommodating six people. However the downstairs of the cottage was nothing other than very dirty,with poor decor, the Kitchen floor and cupboards were filthy as was the sink we had to set about a spring clean before we could even start to unpack, didn't have a broom,mop, hoover etc. Kettle leaked and worryingly the boiler in utility room was very low and had exposed wires which if I had taken children would of been of great concern. The outside courtyard area was untidy and badly maintained dead plants, empty pots and overgrown with weeds. I think the biggest disappointment was how this cottage is advertised via letting agent as 5 ticks/star which they say is "A little bit of luxury" which is certainly not the case.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: close proximity to Chatsworth Estate
Liked least: Fact that Sykes advertised this cottage as 5 ticks
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHG192
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“IDYLLIC LOCATION - OVERRATED COTTAGE”
Reviewed 4 June 2011 for a stay in May 2011
4
people found this review helpful

Having used self catering cottages for over 30yrs I feel able to make fair judgement. This cottage is overated and definately not 5 ticks [star] or suitable for more than 3/4 persons. Yes 6 people can sleep there but not live. The lounge which you enter from the street is woefully short on space. It is physically not possible for number advertised to sit in any form of comfort in this room. The furniture is backless, basic Ikea and very uncomfortable. The television is even more basic almost toy-like. There is no radio, no dvds, the informational reading material is from last year and the paperbacks are dogeared. Two old packs of cards left in empty drawer. Likewise the kitchen has the same accommodation issues. 4 Maximum and thats tight. If the table is expanded it tips up when any physical weight placed on it. The unitensils again basic [Ikea] the cups are minuscule likewise the frying pan. There are no untensiles to remove food from cooking facilitaties. Fridge again very small. No dishwasher, 3 pegs, no washing line despite having hooks. Courtyard utilized for dustbin area with through access from adjoining property thereby overlooked by a least 4 properties. Totaly unkempt and of no useful purpose whatsoever except for the purpose it was designed [to hang washing out]. With no dryer either, what is the point of installing a washing machine. Upto 6 persons dirty washing has to be brought home! No welcome pack or meaniful guidelines. Upstairs bathroom one redeaming feature though short on equipment and cleaning products.Ist double bedroom [really a single] no room to even walk around the bed, one bedside cabinet [what about the other person] no storeage space, no chair or suitable mirror [we are talking 5 ticks]. Poor decoration. 2/3 bedrooms, again no mirrors and poor decoration. This property relies totally on its location and fron facade. It is at most suitable for 4 persons and only of 3 tick quality. Adjoining property much larger, better equipped and far better value and rightly rated at 3 ticks.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Tourists Rugged travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Reviewed 8 February 2011 for a stay in December 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Coventry
Reviewed 15 September 2010 for a stay in July 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Small living area
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$74
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing