We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cavendish Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Baslow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I booked the Cavendish on a whim as I had been working away for three weeks and wanted a break with my partner, we booked on late rooms and we decided on a superior room with a four poster for £159.00. On arrival the receptionist was very welcoming as was the porter who showed us to our room, when we were shown in we were very surprised at the size of the suite, with two sofas writing desk good TV, well stocked mini bar and excellent furnishings extermely clean and well presented, with a wonderful four poster bed. The food was outstanding, service was also of a high standard, I cant wait to visit again, you certainly get what you pay for which to me was a very very good hotel with happy helpfull staff.

Room Tip: late rooms is the way ahead, we secured a £60.00 discount on a superior room, also speak to receptio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 707 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

My wife and I recently had our wedding anniversary lunch at the Cavendish and the food could not really have been better. The service too was excellent and the Cavendish, though a bit of a drive from our home has certainly become one of our favourites. The restaurant really is a lovely room in which to eat and the lounge for pre meal drinks and after meal coffee is a delight.
I would echo a previous reviewers comment about the lack of nibbles with the pre meal drink but, perhaps I am being overly picky. We certainly look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed for three nights on the Christmas package.

The Inn Room was large and comfortable.
The staff were welcoming and friendly.
The food was excellent throughout.

For those reasons we are returning next year.

However there were the odd lapses and some little disappointments that otherwise would have made the whole experience perfect rather than just very good.

Service was haphazard on a couple of occasions meaning delays in being served drinks or getting menus. There were no nibbles or canapés served with pre-meal drinks, except on Christmas Day, and the menu did not change over the other two days.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidBedfordshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

A wonderful stay at a beautiful property. We stayed for only one night but is was a most memorable experience. We arrived late afternoon and were shown to our beautiful room. A superb four poster bed with great views over the fields. Dinner was a fantastic experience. The meal was superb and the service team well versed with what was on offer. The bathroom amenities were superb and the room was very clean. A must to visit if you are ever in Baslow.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Great place for a special Sunday lunch! It's about £27 for a three course meal. The service is great (fun even! They are only too happy to join in a laugh with you and in our case get rid of a spider!!). The food is delicious. The vegetarian option sounded weird (creamy mushrooms, mashed potato, veg and Yorkshire pudding)but was beautifully presented and delicious. If you sit by the window you get a fab view of the countryside. The lounge was comfortable for coffee after lunch. All the staff made us feel really looked after and made the whole lunch experience lovely and while I think it was more than I'd normally pay for a Sunday lunch, it was well worth it for a special occasion.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Hyacinth03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed here on a two night break with another couple recently. I might add, it's not the cheapest of places, but we had saved for it and decided to splash out. Upon arrival we went into the lounge and ordered teas and coffees, we were sat next to the bar where there were bowls of crips - without thinking, we took a few, only for the bowl to be grabbed off us by a waiter and told they were for a private party. We were extremely embarrassed and when we had a quiet word with the waiter he was rude and defensive. We did complain to the duty manager, but didn't feel it was taken seriously, but it's the principle, having paid an extortionate amount to stay there. About half an hour later a couple came and sat at the bar and helped themselves to said crisps ........ not a word said to them!
Having said all that, the rooms were amazing and extremely comfortable and clean. The food in both restaurants was lovely and other than the 'crisp-gate' issue the staff couldn't have been more attentive and polite. It would have been a five star review if it hadn't been for the embarrassing incident.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank btheset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We stayed at the Cavendish hotel on the 28th November 2013 and had a fabulous time...

We enjoyed a wonderful lunch in the garden room, myself and mother in law had an afternoon tea which was delicious and beautifully presented, boyfriend and father in law had food from the lunch menu which was very reasonably priced, again beautifully presented and delicious. The service was wonderful and we were treated like royalty. One of the waiters whose name I cant remember was very friendly and took the time to talk to us about our stay and tell us about his career with celebrity chefs!

We were then shown to our room which was beautiful, views over the garden and could see the Chatsworth chimneys! The décor was superb, the bed was exceptionally comfy and huge, lovely bathroom and particularly loved the Chatsworth books that were left in the room!
We also enjoyed room service which came with a silver dome, very promptly and with starched linen. Excellent value for money and again delicious

In the morning the breakfast was given in a lovely room with great views again, the breakfast was wonderful, great selection of items on the continental buffet and the cooked food was lovely. Again great service from the waiters and the receptionist was really friendly.

Would highly recommend this hotel and we intend to visit every year to enjoy it again!
Thank you very much

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HughSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baslow
3.9 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
397 reviews
3.3 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
3.9 mi away
The Peacock at Rowsley
The Peacock at Rowsley
#1 of 2 in Rowsley
498 reviews
6.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Address: Church Lane, Baslow, Peak District National Park DE45 1SP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Baslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Baslow
Price Range: £166 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavendish Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Hotel, part of the Duke and Duchess of Devonshire Estate since 1830. The Cavendish overlooks the Estate and is a twenty minute walk to Chatsworth House from the Hotel. 24 recently refurbished bedrooms, with two restaurants and elegant public areas: much original artwork and furniture from Chatsworth House itself. Attentive and friendly staff combine with renowned food from Chef Alan Hill, together with a superb location in the heart of the Peak District National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavendish Hotel Baslow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing