We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place for a small wedding reception” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cavendish Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Baslow
Certificate of Excellence
Beirut, Beyrouth, Lebanon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent place for a small wedding reception”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We recently had our wedding reception of 29 people at the Cavendish Hotel. We hired the dining room and had drinks in the bar beforehand. Our guests and we agreed that the whole event was perfectly organised by the hotel. The staff handled the occasion simply and effectively, managing the guests with care. The dining room itself looked beautiful when we arrived and the food itself was excellent and perhaps even better than I had been expecting. The wine including an English sparkling wine was well up to the quality of the meal. While there were some other hotel guests in the bar area, they did not impose on us, although we might have on them.

We also stayed overnight, and the room was to a high quality also.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    155
    75
    42
    32
See reviews for
91
386
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Working from home has its benefits: you see more of your children, you don't waste hours commuting and overall the work and non-work life is in balance. The other great benefit is that when you need to see clients you have the perfect excuse to meet off-site.

In my case, I have quite a choice of places to meet, including the delightful Cavendish Hotel, which offers fabulous views into Chatsworth Park. I have had a few meetings there of late and have to say that on both occasions the service was first rate. The coffee was medium-strong (just as I like it) and served in a large, elegant caferière; the tea and hot water were served in matching pots, and the chocolate cookies were just as they should be: moist and full of chocolate.

The prices charged for tea and coffee are very reasonable, especially when compared to what you can pay in the high street coffee chains; but what the chains cannot match is the hotel's beautiful and sumptuous interior, the peace and tranquility, and the first class service.

I will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeDrole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

We visited recently for a second time as we enjoyed our visit last year so much.The Escape on Sunday package is extraordinary value for money. We had a cream tea scone with a glass of champagne, served by the friendly scotsman. I night in a recently refurbished standard room which was decorated with fabrics and colours reminiscent of the Bloomsbury Group (Room 23).
Plenty of seating ,tea and coffee making facilities, a refurbished bathroom with underfloor heating and very comfortable Hypnos beds. There was a 3 course evening meal and plentiful breakfast ,lovely homemade muesli,jams and marmalades and those poached apricots in cinnamon with yoghurt are to die for. The manager came round at breakfast to ask all the guests if everything was satisfactory ,which it was. A model of how a good hotel should be run .
Think we will be returning in the Autumn, if not before.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank italytraveller099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in room 16 for 2 nights and it was a perfect relaxing break. The staff are fantastic, very thoughtful, and the quality of food is excellent (especially the Cream Tea!). Chatsworth house is an easy 20minute walk away and there is plenty to do in the surrounding town of Bakewell. The remaining rooms are currently being renovated and if ours is anything to go buy the decor and furniture is of an exceptionally high standard. The bed was a lovely huge 4 poster.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charlie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Had an amazing weekend here , the room was fantastic, staff very very friendly, pleasant and helpful, food was magnificent, I can't praise this place enough!!
Even as we were leaving I was planning our next visit back!!
My only criticism it was over too quickly!!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dee2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We found the hotel amd staff to be charming There are bucolic views from the terrace. We enjoyed watching the cows going home in the evening. Eric Marsh, the long time hotelier, seemed to greet and chat with every guest giving his printed instructions for a drive in the Peak District to anyone who was interested. Our room was excellent if a bit of a hike from the bar and dining room. However, we had only reserved the afternoon of our stay so we can't complain. Nice touch of cold milk for tea in the room. The breakfast was outstanding in a land of many good breakfasts. We ate in the less expensive of the two serving dinner. We don't recall it as outstanding but pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

If you fancy a trip to the Peak District and want a comfortable base, this is it. It's a long low building on a busy road but all the bedrooms, some of which are a bit of a camel ride from Reception, face farmland and hills with Chatsworth House and park a mile or so beyond, but sadly not visible. The rooms were well furnished and the big beds were comfortable, but you may want to ask for softer pillows, and the plumbing facilities were modern and efficient. There are two places to eat, a cafe and a smart dining room. The food at dinner was interesting and tasty at both. Breakfast was all a man, or woman, could desire. The scrambled eggs and local bacon were bang on. Service was friendly and efficient, while not too rushed. We were out of season so we received plenty of attention. Buxton and its Festival are less than half an hour away, so a good place to be based - but book early to avoid...

Room Tip: To be safe, ask for a room overlooking the farmland at the far end of the building then your view wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richardofrushall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baslow
3.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
6.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
3.9 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
15.0 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Property: Cavendish Hotel
Address: Church Lane, Baslow, Peak District National Park DE45 1SP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Baslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Baslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavendish Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Hotel, part of the Duke and Duchess of Devonshire Estate since 1830. The Cavendish overlooks the Estate and is a twenty minute walk to Chatsworth House from the Hotel. 24 recently refurbished bedrooms, with two restaurants and elegant public areas: much original artwork and furniture from Chatsworth House itself. Attentive and friendly staff combine with renowned food from Chef Alan Hill, together with a superb location in the heart of the Peak District National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavendish Hotel Baslow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing