We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing lunch choice”
Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cavendish Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Baslow
Certificate of Excellence
ACT, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Disappointing lunch choice”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was a spur of the moment lunch choice for my partner's birthday. Despite the sign promising superlative food and genial staff, both were disappointing. Service was slow, even there were only two other couples in the restaurant. We waited close to 40 minutes for a very simple order - at one stage we couldn't even locate any wait staff to ask about the delay. Food was okay but more akin to slightly fancy pub food than fine dining, particularly for the price. When I went to settle our bill, the young woman on reception was on the phone ... and studiously ignored me rather than adopting the usual practice of making eye contact and indicating she would be with me as soon as she could. When I finally attracted the attention of one of the waiting staff to take my payment she seemed rather aggrieved that I was not going to add any further tip to the 5% 'service charge' already added to the bill. I usually tip quite well but not when it is made compulsory and certainly not for inadequate service. Needless to say we went elsewhere for dessert and coffee. A final comment - and I accept that this is a personal gripe - but I really dislike being addressed in the third person viz. "would madam/sir like another drink". It just comes across as snooty and patronising.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank bettoneyvere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    167
    80
    45
    32
See reviews for
102
410
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Romantic night away ruined with no electric didn't even tell us the electric was off when we arrived back only found out when got in room having a bath in the dark not what you would expect couldn't shave or wife couldn't wash her hair! Stayed in room 18 only one of the windows worked the other kept sliding down a place like this isn't acceptable? But not all bad hotel set in lovely grounds breakfast was first class and set in immaculate grounds shame about problems

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmj1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

we found the venue to be fabulous, the staff really good, however the managers are not in the least flexible. particularly when it came to helping with special occasions and working around times for eating and a rather restrictive menu! my husband had glorified fish and chips every evening that we ate in the hotel..... we went to the local Italian for a change!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rowena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We booked the romantic two night stay in a superior room for a wedding anniversary celebration and were certainly not disappointed. Staff were very helpful, friendly and welcoming. The evening meals, particularly in the main restaurant, were excellent and the room was spacious, very comfortable and had delightful views across the surrounding countryside. Our only complaint was the cold toast and poor quality coffee at the breakfast table! It's a shame that such an expensive hotel cannot serve a decent cup of coffee for breakfast. Apart from that, it's a great place to stay for a special occasion when visiting Chatsworth and the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Go for the superior rooms with the countryside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petervirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I should say that I booked this hotel based on the fact that the description said it faced Chatsworth properties. It did, but we could not see Chatsworth House itself I suppose because our room was on the ground floor. It was also the farthest location from the front desk in an L shaped layout. Service was top drawer from all of the personnel: front desk, restaurant, cleaning, etc.(they have been well trained and have a most professional attitude).The room was large enough, extremely clean, and the bathroom was large. There was a small refrigerator and lots of electrical outlets. Wifi was included and housekeeping brought us an ironing board and iron when we requested it. The breakfasts were to die for, especially the homemade granola. The smoked salmon and scrambled eggs were fantastic. Posh would best describe this hotel and a bit pretentious for these travelers. Not that we're not worth it, but when you're on the road for 3 weeks of sightseeing this probably would not be the place I would stay again. Not a problem with the hotel or staff just a but more than we required for the occasion. It was expensive and, again, for the business traveller or newlyweds, it's perfect. Love the Peak District. Love the people. Love the food. Will stay in a location next time that won't require so much of my budget.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

3 of us called in mid-morning for a cuppa. Couldn't resist the cream tea offering. When it came, the scones were scrumptious! With homemade strawberry jam that was to die for and clotted cream, we revelled outside on the patio with glorious sunshine and beautiful views.
The staff were all extremely pleasant and welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We booked for the "romantic break" and that's exactly as it turned out with everything provided for as part of the advertised deal and it was all helped along by sunny weather. All the staff were attentive, polite and service-orientated. The view from the bedroom across the open countryside was breath-taking and with Chatsworth House just visible through the trees we were provided with a truly lovely piece of English scenery. The bedroom itself blended old and new seamlessly although a bit of a squeeze in places. Meals both in the Garden Room and Gallery dining room were of the highest quality and we were lucky there were not too many other diners around so we had the highest possible service you could want. The décor, with a large number of interesting paintings, added to the charm of the hotel and a large car park was greatly appreciated. Clearly this is an expensive break but, all in all, good value with the added benefit of a scenic walk to Chatsworth House.

Room Tip: Always make sure that the room faces Chatsworth House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baslow
3.9 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
392 reviews
3.3 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
9.9 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
12.4 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Property: Cavendish Hotel
Address: Church Lane, Baslow, Peak District National Park DE45 1SP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Baslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Baslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavendish Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Hotel, part of the Duke and Duchess of Devonshire Estate since 1830. The Cavendish overlooks the Estate and is a twenty minute walk to Chatsworth House from the Hotel. 24 recently refurbished bedrooms, with two restaurants and elegant public areas: much original artwork and furniture from Chatsworth House itself. Attentive and friendly staff combine with renowned food from Chef Alan Hill, together with a superb location in the heart of the Peak District National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavendish Hotel Baslow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing