We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very welcoming and relaxing week away”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tick Tock Cottage

Tick Tock Cottage - contemporary luxury
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tick Tock Cottage - contemporary luxury
Spacious lounge with comfortable leather sofas Open plan to dining area and breakfast bar
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Tick Tock Cottage - contemporary luxury
Spacious lounge with comfortable leather sofas
Open plan to dining area and breakfast bar
Luxurious superking beds available for both bedrooms
Stainless steel kitchen is fully equipped
Two metre long single beds available in both bedrooms
Magnificent Chatsworth House Estate a short walk away
Bakewell town gardens in summer splendour
Market town of Bakewell with 14c stone bridge
Tick Tock Cottage is located on Gorse Bank Lane
Tick Tock view across the valley to Chatsworth farmland
Monsal Trail has illuminated tunnels now open to cyclists and walkers
Brown trout in local rivers
Lea Gardens noted for azalea and rhododendrons
Derwent and Howden
Gritstone edge near the cottage
Crich tramway museum for a fun day out
Freindly pubs and good beer
A typical limestone dale
Spring is just around the corner
Peak District winter view with limestone walled fields
Moorlands and gritstone edges
Sunset view from cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Baslow, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
penguinbo...
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very welcoming and relaxing week away”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Review a little overdue as stayed a few months ago but it's a review that needs writing as the welcome and helpfulness of the owner was second to none. To cut a long story short we had to take our child to hospital on the way up and didn't arrive at the cottage until 3am. Clear instructions were given as to key location etc and lights left on for us in the cottage. It was nice to have these subtle touches when we were worried about getting there so late. Once recovered from the late night the cottage was lovely and we had a wonderful holiday. We loved the big comfy bed! A couple of minor points, we liked to eat in and the oven wasn't the greatest and could have done with a good clean and little fingers kept finding dust under the sofa! This is being quite picky though and we would happily return and recommend.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob-HL
Kingswinford
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Peak Perfect”
Reviewed 9 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Excellent and quiet cottage with all facilities/amenities in a great location. Very helpful and friendly owner who also respects your privacy - thanks Angus. Two superb restaurants (Charlies and Rowleys) plus good local pubs and craft/gift shops in the village within 10 mins walk; Spar shop for suplies only 5 mins walk. Baslow is right on the edge of the Chatsworth estate and at the base of Baslow Edge, 10 mins drive to Bakewell, 20 mins tro Chesterfield, etc.

All in all a 5 star stay in a 5 star cottage - so good we're going back in April.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Huge bed!
Liked least: Being quite so close to the main house
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Penny_711...
Roseburg, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage in a charming village in the Peak District.”
Reviewed 17 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Although our time in the Peak District was during the worst rains in 30 years at least we had this lovely refuge to come to at the end of our wet days. This home is beautifully decorated with a full, modern kitchen. The decor was lovely, elegant and yet cozy. I must say that the Tick Tock house was the favorite place we stayed during our vacation to England and Europe. I wish we were closer, this is a place I would love to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful bedroom and huge bath tub.
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sian_bp
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxury living in a lovely location.”
Reviewed 10 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Tick Tock cottage has a stylish interior with an abundance of modern appliances making it perfect for guests planning to stay a week or more. It was baby-friendly (a must for our 17 mth old!) with a baby gate and highchair provided and open-plan living space downstairs (even CBeebies available on the large flatscreen). The bedrooms were surprisingly large with beautiful high ceilings accentuated by spotlights, one with a super-kingsize bed, the other with 2 generous singles. Both bedrooms had room to fit an extra travel cot (which they also provide along with blankets if necc.). The single beds/childrens' room also featured blackout blinds which are great for daytime naps for small children.

The cottage is situated in a great location- a short drive to Matlock, Bakewell and the gorgeous Chatsworth House. There are numerous walks nearby, both for the casual walker as well as a seasoned hiker (we use Pathfinder books). Chatworth estate can be reached via Pilsley (a comfortable 45 mins- quicker if not in snow!). We would highly recommend a visit to their farm shop which has extensive, local fresh produce as well as fresh, oven-ready family meals. The neighbouring restaurant is well worth a visit, especially after a long walk, for their delicious, hearty menu at reasonable prices. They also stock a range of 'Ella's Kitchen' organic baby foods and provide high chairs. Last of all I must mention the stunning views while you eat.

Finally, we have not found a more hospitable host- friendly and approachable, Angus Stokes was so helpful with any queries we had and nothing was too much trouble. Respectful of their guests' privacy while on hand when necessary, we couldn't have asked for more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high-spec., quality of the interiors and overall layout/functionality.
Liked least: Navigating a steep drive in icy weather to load/unload luggage to/from our car.
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFamille...
St Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful cottage in a beautiful village”
Reviewed 7 January 2012 for a stay in October 2011

We had a brilliant week based in this fab cottage - it is beautifully renovated and very welcoming and comfortable. Very comfortable beds, well equipped kitchen, washing-machine and dryer great for those muddy autumn walks! A fab location, very close to the local spar shop and lots of pubs and restaurants. Bikes could be stored and lots of great cycling around. Owner is very welcoming and knowledgeable. We're planning on going again, definitely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and very comfortable
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan Y
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful facilities, and a beautiful location in the heart of the Peak Districtrict”
Reviewed 9 December 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Having grown up in Baslow, I was looking forward to returning for a week of walking and reminiscences. The beauty of the Peak District is something I carry with me in my heart, the bleak and brooding ruggedness of Kinder Scout, the ancient woodland of Padley Gorge, the contrast of the Dark and White Peaks, all these places and terrains are very special. Sometimes returning to such places causes disappointment, but revisiting the Peak District and Baslow is something one could repeat time and time again, as there is such a wealth of things to do and see. For walkers it is a dream, but there are also many cultural attractions and masses of historically interesting places to visit. Baslow is a perfect base as it is so centrally located, and Tick Tock Cottage is in a lovely part of the village, only a few minutes from a short woodland walk that takes you up onto the moors, to the famous Eagle Rock.
The cottage is really attractive, the decor is clean and modern, and the facilities spot on for the kind of holiday which combines moorland hiking and other outdoor activities with either eating in and relaxing on comfortable sofas, or dining out at one of the good local pubs and restaurants.
It was particularly nice to find a welcome pack of food including a proper Bakewell Pudding.
The owner of the cottage is welcoming, and my friend and I found the ambience very relaxing. We enjoyed ourselves so much that we have made plans for a return visit to Tick Tock Cottage in 2012.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, the friendliness of the owner, the decor
Liked least: We would have liked a bigger welcome Bakewell Pudding, or two!
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing