We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive and Unwelcoming”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Baslow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fischer's Baslow Hall
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Baslow
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Expensive and Unwelcoming”
Reviewed 18 September 2006

We stayed at Fischer's Baslow Hall for one night on our recent trip through England and Wales. We were in one of the garden rooms, apart from the main house, which was very nice and roomy. Modern bathroom, nice amenities. I actually have no complaints about the room itself. We stayed on a Saturday night, and our travel agent had to get special permission for us to book a room for just one night, since they usually require guests to book both Friday and Saturday nights. In addition, guests on Friday and Saturday are "required" to eat in the dining room.

It's important to note that the owner's of Baslow Hall consider themselves to run a "restaurant with bedrooms" rather than a B & B, so I guess that might partially explain the attitude that colored all of our interactions with the front desk staff. When we checked in, we almost felt that we were somehow interfering with the day's events. I realize that since this isn't a B & B some indifference might be expected, but a palpable unpleasant air colored both the check in and check out process.

As required by their policy, we did in fact eat our evening meal in the restaurant. The meal was adequate if you like that sort of food (my companion does, I do not particularly), but even my companion agreed that it was dreadfully overpriced. With all the emphasis on the quality of the restaurant, one wonders why overnight weekend guests must be compelled to eat there. The dining room staff were, however, much more pleasant than the hotel staff person we dealt with.

Overall, the room was fine, but I would definitely not expect to feel at all welcomed, and I would avoid the restaurant.

  • Liked — The room was spacious and the bathroom was modern.
  • Disliked — The attitude of the hotel staff and the price of the food in the restaurant.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank Maddiecat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    58
    22
    13
    5
See reviews for
63
251
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2006

Recently returned from a walking weekend in the Peak District; the highlight by far was our two-night stay at Fischer's. The staff were welcoming and efficient, the food was exceptional.

Our room (Rutland) was in the main house and despite lacking air-conditioning (sorely needed during this recent heatwave), it functioned very well as a space in which to relax as well as sleep.
It was set out almost as a suite, with a separate sitting room, hallway, bathroom and then the bedroom at the back. All three rooms had windows overlooking the garden. The sitting room in particular had a high ceiling and was reasonably cool once the sun set. The bedroom was hotter (the ceiling was lower) but I imagine that's an advantage for the 10 months of the year that aren't July and August.

The bathroom was everything one could hope for (thermostatic shower over bath, mixer tap on the basin, Moulton Brown toiletries, fluffy towels and robes).

Our dinner in the restaurant took four hours, which was about an hour too long. I felt as though one more person staffing the dining room wouldn't go amiss. The food itself was of an extremely high standard, not just well prepared but inventive and seasonal. Breakfast also stood out -- the bread was memorably fresh (we could smell baked-goods wafting through our windows) as were the strawberries and the (presumably house-made) yogurt.

Simple and delicious, which really about sums up the entire place.

  • Liked — The generous room layout
  • Disliked — No air-conditioning
  • Tips/Secrets — If dining, take advantage of the Monday-Friday [shorter] menu du jour.
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank fourquartets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 May 2005

This hotel has to be the most wonderful place in Derbyshire. Yes...I may be slightly baised as we were married here on 18th June 2004.
The hotel is beautiful, decorated opulently with lovely gardens and sitting areas. The staff are fantastic, they will go out of their way to ensure you have absolutely every thing you need without being intrusive.
The wedding organisation was impeccable, bespoke to our specific needs. We didnt have to worry about a thing! Our civil reception ran smoothly and so did the following Wedding Breakfast. The meal was beautiful and we were allowed to tailor our menu to our tastes, any requests were accepted. This was defiantley not a commercial wedding venue and due to that, we felt extra special! The house has a lovely warm feel, we felt so comfortable.
Were booked to go again for our anniversary this year, this time staying in one of 'The Garden Rooms', I cant wait to be pampered again!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2005

Actually the place is delightful; well-situated, nice gardens, and the rooms, while small, verge on opulent. The staff of the inn are obviously well-trained; if anything, a tad overdeferential but I realize that is the style nowadays.

It's the Dining Room, which the inn considers its raison d'etre, that was a real letdown. The food is expensive and uninspired, and the room itself has the aura of a mausoleum. One was almost afraid to set ones dinner fork down for fear it might make a sound and disturb the resting. Even piped-in background music would be a help.

At repeated breakfasts, meanwhile, the maitresse affected the demeanor of an angry dominatrix and verged on fury when confronted with the simplest of requests. Not exactly the way to set the scene for guests, I don't think.

Enjoy the inn, avoid the restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank ConradDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baslow
0.6 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
9.2 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
4.4 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
3.4 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fischer's Baslow Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fischer's Baslow Hall

Property: Fischer's Baslow Hall
Address: Calver Road | Baslow, Baslow, Peak District National Park DE45 1RR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Baslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Baslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fischer's Baslow Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fischer's at Baslow Hall is still the foremost restaurant in the region having been placed No. 41 In a list of 50 top restaurants in the UK by the Good Food Guide 2016. Head Chef Rupert Rowley serves Michelin star modern European cuisine in the Grade II listed Manor House on the edge of the Chatsworth Estate in Baslow village. Eleven bedrooms are individually styled with an emphasis on comfort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fischer`s Baslow Hall Hotel Baslow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing