We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deserving of all the high praise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oystercatcher Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Hermanus, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Deserving of all the high praise”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We spent two nights here, the location is wonderful and rather remote. Immaculately clean with seamless service. We stayed in room 6 which is on the ground floor and a few meters from the sea and watched both whales and dolphins from the bed. Very private and quiet. The shower and bathroom were more than adequate that we didn't miss having a bath. It was a very peaceful stay. I recommend you pack a few snacks, as it is quite out of the way.

Room Tip: Room 6 is on the ground level, which made the room feel bigger and it is a few paces away form the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueShelleyPoint, Owner at Oystercatcher Lodge, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Kathryn
Thanks for your kind comments regarding your stay at the Oystercatcher last week-end. We enjoyed meeting you and Jake and hope you found the right road home through Stellenbosch etc.

Kind regards
Luc and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    17
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
126
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Heist-op-den-Berg, Belgium
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We loved this guesthouse! It is a little bit remote, but worth it! It's situated in a safety area, there is a securitygate at the entrance, and the sea is nearby. All the rooms have a very nice seaview. The first thing I saw when I wake up, was the ocean! The owners were very hospitality and proud to have this beautifull guesthouse. The room and bathroom were very clean and cosy. The best breakfast we ever had in South-Africa was here. They make their own bread. They have plenty of choice, this is very good when you stay a couple of day's. The owner gives you also advice if you search a place to eat or to see something. We had diner in Paternoster and took the gravel road between Paternoster and Shelley Point. This road is a bad way, but the shortest. It took us about 30 minutes to drive from our guesthouse to Paternoster. And I think we had better listen to the owners advice, because the food in Voorstrand was not good :(

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah_and_Pieter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueShelleyPoint, Owner at Oystercatcher Lodge, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear Sarah and Pieter
Thanks for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay at the Oystercatcher Lodge. We really appreciate the feedback and hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Luc and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty's Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

What a fantastic place. Professional, immaculately run. Breathtaking, uninterrupted view of the dunes and Atlantic Ocean. Perfect bed and beautiful, crisp, white linens (a big plus for us). Spacious modern bathroom with smart fixtures and heated towel rails. Superb breakfast, beautifully made. Even underfloor heating throughout, which only added to the comfort. Excellent wifi connection (often dicey in parts of the West Coast). Every little detail was thought out immaculately. Even when we accidentally left our coats behind after departing, Susan called us immediately and Luc had them into a box and shipped to our home the very same day. Thank you, Luc and Susan. You made yourself two big fans.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmywayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueShelleyPoint, Manager at Oystercatcher Lodge, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay. Do hope we will be able to welcome you back for a longer stay next time. Hope the jacket arrived safely.
Kind regards Luc and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I spent two nights here and it as fabulous. One of the most luxurious B&Bs I'd stayed in - stunning sea views, well appointed room, immaculately clean and superb breakfast (home made museli was particularly good). Stars at night were incredible and had an excellent view of the Milky Way. A good spot to get away from it all - with the added advantage of a hotel with spa and restaurant facilities nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed in the honeymoon suite for 2 nights, using it as base for exploring the west coast. The room was immaculately appointed with good linens and trimmings. Being an early winter break, we appreciated the underfloor heating in the room itself and also the heated towel rails in the bathroom. Spending time in our room, either in bed or in our comfy chairs was a pleasure as we always had a view of the ocean.

Luc and Sue (owners / hosts) were always keen to help make our stay or trip special and recommended sites to visit and restaurants to try out. Their advice was spot on in all cases. Breakfast was very good, ranging from continental style buffet foods to a cooked breakfast that was plated up with a keen eye to detail that made the food look great. Coffee or tea was also available to order, from cappuccino all the way to rooibos tea by the pot.

The lodge is situated within a security estate, so parking outside the lodge was perfectly safe. The lodge is also well situated for long walks on the beautiful beach.

There was no TV in the room, but we knew this ahead of time and for the sake of rest and relaxation with the sound and view of the ocean, I regard the absence of TV as a positive! No in-room fridge, which is not a huge problem as the lodge has a well-stocked honesty bar, but a small fridge to cool your own drinks or special bottle of wine would be nice.

Room Tip: Choose a room on "1st floor". They all have good sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScubaZorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We went for a long weekend away and chose OysterCatcher lodge due to the great reviews.
We were unfortunately disappointed as we felt the service was lacking, no one to help carry bags or assist with umbrellas in the rain. Breakfast was the same for 3 days in a row and had very little variety. St Helena Bay is industrial with nothing to do, so friendly and hospitable accommodation would be welcome. Grabbing a snack is even a challenge as one had to drive quite a distance and the only food option at the lodge is breakfast- or a packet of crisps from the honesty bar. A bowl of fruit or rusks would have been a treat.

We were quite surprised as there are no TVs in the rooms or a small bar fridge.

In summary, a very expensive weekend away for a pretty view. The price is not justified as the location only offers a sea view and very little hospitality. We have since explained our unhappiness to the hosts and hope that they can improve the lodge for future visitors. We, however, will not be returning.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Megbigood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

From start to finish this is a perfect place to stay,helpful hosts,clean and tastefully decorated rooms breakfast cooked to order and a beautiful location.what more could you wish for.

SImply put the best of the best.....

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nomadHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena Bay
8.1 mi away
Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel
21.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Saldanha Bay
2.3 mi away
Absolute Beach Accommodation
Absolute Beach Accommodation
#2 of 5 in St. Helena Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Goblin's Creek Manor House
Goblin's Creek Manor House
#3 of 5 in St. Helena Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
8.2 mi away
Baywatch Villa Collection
Baywatch Villa Collection
#4 of 16 in Paternoster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
8.1 mi away
ah! Guest House
ah! Guest House
#1 of 19 in Paternoster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oystercatcher Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oystercatcher Lodge

Property: Oystercatcher Lodge
Address: ERF 5397 | FIRST AVENUE, St. Helena Bay, Saldanha Bay Municipality 7382, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Saldanha Bay Municipality > St. Helena Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in St. Helena Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Oystercatcher Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Oystercatcher Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing