We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blissful relaxation in paradise. This is our 5th visit. We'll return forever.”
Review of Bungalows Solecito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bungalows Solecito
Reviewed 10 March 2011

We’ve been coming to Solecito since it was built 6 years ago and it is our favorite destination in Zihuatanejo. In fact we’ve kinda kept it a secret, for fear of losing our ability to get a reservation. But it’s time to share this gem. Solecito is perfect for a quiet, completely relaxed getaway. It doesn’t take long to lose track of what day it is as you swing in the hammock, cool breezes blowing in off the Pacific, rustling the palm trees overhead. Owners, Manuel and Blanca are really friendly and responsive and take great pride in the design, comfort and quality of their perfect little paradise.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kdoumani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
There are newer reviews for Bungalows Solecito
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2011

Barra de Potosi is a secluded, idyllic, pristine, gently curving beach, several miles long -- the kind you dream about but rarely ever find. And, Solecito, set directly on the beach, is the best place to stay in Barra. The gardens are beautiful and tranquil, immaculately maintained and there are a variety of accommodation from bungalows (kitchen, bath, bedroom, patio (with hammock, tables, chairs, loungers) to rooms with balconies. There is a lovely pool and restaurant at pool side that serves three meals a day. Manuel and Blanca, the owner/managers, are delightful, helpful and attentive. If you are looking for beauty, tranquility and first rate accommodations and do not require night clubs and souvenir shops, come to Solecito.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Solecito4Us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

We visited Barra de Potosi in 2009 and while walking the beach discovered Solecito. When we decided to return in January 2011, we booked 2 weeks there. How do you describe a place that is perfect. Beautiful gardens, a beach that goes on and on, and bungalows that are beautifully maintained. Blanca, Manuel and their staff were friendly , helpful and just plan nice.
They will prepare meals for you on request and we had a wonderful dinner one night served in the garden. Barra is a small fishing village that you can walk to from Solecito. You can get most of the things you need, or take a 20 minute trip into Zihut for additional items. If you're looking for big hotels, nightlife and fancy restaurants don't go to Solecito in Barra de Potosi. If you truly want a wonderful experience, friendly people, gorgeous scenery and beach this is your place. It really lets you unwind and totally relax. We loved it there so much we've already booked a trip for next year. A wonderful place.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveljunkie94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

We arrived without a reservation and immediately felt welcome. The place is outstanding, comfortable, with great ocean views, well kept rooms and great ocean sounds that gently put you to sleep at night. The pool is very nice and so is the friendly service. We enjoyed every minute of our relaxing stay. Great beach for walking... I wish I was still there.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caapsula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2010

This place is probably really great, except that they kicked us out as soon as we got there.

My mom had stayed at this place before and made a reservation 1 year prior to our stay for bungalow #5, allegedly the best room. When we got there, we were assigned bungalow #1. Upon asking about this discrepancy, we were told we could either "take #1 or leave." We walked back to the room a bit stunned as to this welcoming, and the man followed us to the room, asking us what we were going to do. When I asked how long the people in #5 would be staying he said "I think you should leave."

We would have been happy to stay in #1, just wanted to have a conversation as to why there was a mix-up, but after having been treated so rudely and kicked out, we were left on our own in a remote part of Zihua with no where to go.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank meganci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2010

My wife and I have been here three times in the last four years and every time we go we always go for a longer period of time.

If you are looking for action or nightlife, this is not the place for you. It is quiet, a place for you to unwind, relax and get rejuvenated. The staff is wonderful and friendly, headed by the owner Manuel. You have many choices for dining: you can cook yourself if you stay in one of the bungalows, you can have breakfast or dinner perpared for you by the staff, or have lunch at one of the many emeradas at the south end of the beach.

There is a wonderful pool on the premises or you can take dip in the ocean, steps away from the bungalows.

I highly recommend this place if you are trying to get away from the stresses of the world.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACMan53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2010

We were a group of women friends down for a celebration of "mature" birthdays. Solecito is the perfect place to enjoy a beautiful beach, tranquil and well maintained accommodations with simple services. If you need an active nightlife and exotic eateries, this place is not for you. If you are looking for quiet solitude in a beautiful setting with accommodating staff, then you will enjoy your time at Solecito as we did.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riveright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barra de Potosi
6.7 mi away
Puerta Paraiso Hotel Boutique
Puerta Paraiso Hotel Boutique
#29 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
37 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#12 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
435 reviews
9.2 mi away
Bungalows Arena Dorada
Bungalows Arena Dorada
#61 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,398 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hacienda La Rusa B&B
Hacienda La Rusa B&B
#1 of 5 in Barra de Potosi
82 reviews
9.2 mi away
Catalina Beach Resort
Catalina Beach Resort
#34 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalows Solecito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalows Solecito

Address: Playa Blanca 54 | Barra de Potosi, Barra de Potosi, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Barra de Potosi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Barra de Potosi
Price Range: £104 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best beach cottages in the Pacific Ocean.Where you can still enjoy the swim at the ocean, and eat at the fishermans restaurants within walking distance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bungalows Solecito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bungalows Solecito Barra De Potosi, Mexico - Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing