We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mantra Sierra Grand
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I recently stayed at Mantra Sierra Grand for a conference. I was looking for an apartment where I could possibly do some cooking if I so wished in relative comfort, and whilst Mantra Sierra Grand EVENTUALLY delivered this, the first evening did considerable damage to the rest of my stay.

On a positive note, the pools are nice, the gym is good, and the views are lovely. The staff are pleasant and friendly. It is in a great position for walking into Broadbeach and to the conference centre. I suspect though, that this much can be said for any hotel/apartments in this area of Broadbeach.

The first apartment I stayed in was superficially pretty clean but consistent with previous reviews the furniture was cheap and tired and the overall outlook not especially appealing. The stove was broken and completely did not work (which presumably should have been checked before I entered). Worst of all, however, was the constant (and loud!) electrical noise which kept me awake all night. I may have just been unlucky, but on the first day of the conference I felt like I had been run over by a bus. To her credit, the lady at the concierge (Caitlin) was pleasant and helpful and organised another room for me. This was in the same position near the communications cables on another floor, but the noise was much reduced. The second apartment was better appointed and the stove worked. If I had been put into this apartment straight off the bat, I think my review would have been much more favourable. Having said this, given that I had had a few issues, a courtesy call or email to see how I was getting on probably would have been well received. So in the end it achieved the aim - but if I am ever back at Broadbeach I won't be returning. Very disappointing for a hotel that purports to be 4 stars.

Additionally - only a very thin sheet on the bed and poor thick bedding. In winter, for someone who gets cold (I can't be the only one!) this seems a little silly. There ARE blankets in the cupboard but surely something could be on the bed?!

Room Tip: If I DID stay again - I would ask for a room with a view of the beach. Would be a nice view and woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank nlcook84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,099)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

828 - 834 of 1,099 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

I recently stayed in Room 2310, overlooking Pacific Fair, across to the Hinterland & up to Burleigh Heads. I had previously stayed in an ocean view room last year & was very disappointed with the cleanliness & the staff's attitude.
Twelve months later & things have improved immensely. Room 2310 was well fitted out, linen was clean as was cooking utensils. The staff was very friendly.
I am glad that I gave the Mantra another go & would not hesitate in staying there again.
Perfect location & excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Room 2310 facing the hinterland & Pacific Fair was beautiful. There was no traffic noise & t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Diane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We booked the sub penthouse on L29 which has a fabulous view overlooking Broadbeach on one side and out to the hinterland on the other.This apartment has three bedrooms,three bathrooms,laundry and a separate loungroom.It is starting to show its age and needs a spruce up but all in all it is good.$1800 for five nights was good value and the facilities are good in that there is an indoor heated pool,gym,steam room and sauna plus an outdoor pool that could do with some heating.
The location is great with Broadbeach shopping centre a few minutes walk away with lots of restaurants,supermarkets etc.My only negative would be that the reception staff ( some not all ) were a little cold - so maybe some work needs to be done here on getting the team to smile some more.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank roosterman2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

A friend and I have just spent 4 nights in this apartment. It was a 2 bed/2bath with ocean views on a higher floor. The plus side - friendly staff; fantastic position, opposite Pacific Fair and easy walking to the beach; the apartment was very spacious and well fitted out; it is excellent value for money; free parking; beds comfortable and everything was very clean. The minus - no wifi - in this day and age, surely this is a given; the air con was difficult - we called reception on 4 occasions to have it re-set. Thats it. Overall, we have stayed here on numerous occasions and would do so again, but please - Free WIFI in the future!!

Room Tip: High up with sea views, but really most windows would have view to either the sea or river and all n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 109francesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

On arrival staff and throughout our stay were very friendly. Room was nice but a little dated and had a strange smell not sure what it was. Bed comfy and slept well, couldn't hear anybody else on the same floor. Dishes dirty again and no sharp knifes which was a real pain. The bedspread stained and some of the furniture needed reading. Good location, swimming pool area was nice. The gym needs updating, 1 out of the 3 bikes worked, same for the tread mills. The weight machine was not working properly and the cables were sticking. Overall happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Qtn-Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

...that was my initial reaction when I got to our room on the 19th floor. Higher the floor the better the view!
Found the hotel easily, warm welcome, no initial escort to the room (though not really expecting it anyway), clean accommodation and building/garaging, cupboards a bit higglety-pigglety (plates in separate cupboard to cups & glasess, and illogically placed bowls, utensils, pans, etc), poor complimentaries, north views with iconic beach within sight and spitting distance!!
Our 2 teens just loved the location - beach, Pacific Fair just across the road, close driving distance to great food outlets and fabulous restaurants.
Easy access to main thorough fares for more fantastic shopping, entertainment and theme parks!
We all want to come back next year!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Zella T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

3 couples shared a 3 bedroom apartment for a weekend away. It was excellent value the apartment was clean and well designed. Good size balcony. The location is only a short walk to the heart of broadbeach shops and restaurants, which is great as you are not sleeping in the heart of the night time activity, not that this appears to be a problem in this area. Pacific Fair shopping centre is a short walk away. Beach is close by. Much better location than surfers paradise for families and people looking for a relaxing break away from the nightlife that goes on at surfers. Jupiters casino is across the road from the Mantra, so excellent if you want to go there. It is not luxury but is very good and would reommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SueK58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Broadbeach hotels
0.2 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
0.3 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 7 in Broadbeach
3,161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Star Grand at The Star Gold Coast
0.5 mi away
ULTIQA Beach Haven on Broadbeach
0.1 mi away
Aruba Surf Resort
Aruba Surf Resort
#5 of 7 in Broadbeach
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Sierra Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Sierra Grand

Address: 22 Surf Pde, Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Broadbeach
Price Range: £82 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Sierra Grand 4.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Sierra Grand offers modern and stylish One, Two and Three Bedroom Apartments all within walking distance of sidewalk cafes, superb restaurants, boutiques and specialty shops as well as The Star Casino, Gold Coast Convention Centre and Pacific Fair. The resort offers one, two and three bedroom self-contained apartments all featuring contemporary furnishings, air conditioning, wireless internet access, full kitchen and laundry facilities. All boast wide balconies. Start the day with a sauna or spa. Swim some laps. Enjoy an al fresco breakfast. Relax in the in-house theatre. Arrange a few sets of tennis. Plan a poolside barbecue with your neighbours. Visit the patrolled surf beach waiting just a few minutes walk from your door or stroll to the sidewalk cafes and boutique shops of nearby Broadbeach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mantra Sierra Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Sierra Grand Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing