We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modest but by far best value & relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Royale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Royale
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Broadbeach
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
1 review
“Modest but by far best value & relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

I rated it excellent evn though the accomodation is modest (not 5 star luxury) is set in an ideal location that has a balance of being close to the beach but not too close to traffic and people noise as it's set back. It has great views over the ocean and can hear the waves at night....sooo relaxing. The management is excellent (Yvonne in particular) ensure the whole place has a really relaxed vibe and nothing's a hassle. on top of all that, the rates for the accommodation here make it by far the best value on the Gold Coast that I've come across...and I've stayed in a lot of places on the Gold Coast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Sunlover Holidays

Helpful?
Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceanroy, Manager at Ocean Royale, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thanks for your great review. Glad you had a relaxing stay, and it's nice to see people using all the facilities(i.e sauna) during their stay.
We look forward to hosting you when you next feel like a relaxing weekend on the Gold Coast.
Regards Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    51
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
45
46
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
lesley.berthaly@bigpond.com
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

hat a great time. My wife and I are over 65 but the help from maureen and yvonne was nothing short of wonderful. I decided not to hire a car so I relied upon the advice given by these lovely ladies on each occassion they were spot on reagrarding bus times where to catch them and orgainizing tours. I will certainly be returningto this hotel/resort and will have our children think about the time that we spent there . We stayed in room 44 and it was fully self contained with kitchen, washing machine dryer and internet. What more can you ask for.Surfers paradise No No No
Bravo Maureen and Yvonne

Room Tip: Try for a ocean room view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poppima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceanroy, Manager at Ocean Royale, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate all feedback. We're glad you had a great stay and we look forward to hosting you in the future. You don't need to ask for Ocean views as all apartments face the ocean with lovely views. See you next time
Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide Hills, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Seven family and friends stayed in a penthouse suite for 9 nights from the 1st August. This was to coincide with my 60th birthday and our son's desire to get me on all the Gold Coast theme park rides before I am "too old".

Our stay was very good and was made even better by a week of absolutely perfect weather that even the locals admitted was "out of the box". The location of this block is near perfect being just one street back from the foreshore and while there are taller blocks around, your views of the ocean and across the suburbs to the Hinterland are pretty much unimpeded. A major shopping centre and supermarket are within easy walking distance which is very handy for stocking up as the apartments are fully self contained and self catering. There are also many restaurants and cafes in the same complex in case you don't feel like cooking every night.

I am only guessing but I estimate the building to be around 30 years old and has been maintained in very good condition. Sure there are the odd signs of wear and tear but when you consider the pounding these buildings take from their coastal environment, the odd blemish can be overlooked. The grounds and public areas are also clean and well maintained. Our contact with staff was minimal and limited to on site management and we found them to be helpful, cheerful and pleasant.

Our penthouse lacked any real wow factor to distinguish it as a penthouse and as far as we knew it could have been just another apartment on the top floor. Having said that, the apartment was very spacious over two levels and included several balconies, a sauna and plunge pool and large out door area overlooking the beach. It was clean, comfortable and very well equipped which in reality is all we look for. Our only gripe was the lack of and inconsistent water pressure. This was both hot and cold and didn't matter if one shower or all three were being used at the same time. On occasions it could blast you and on others there was hardly a dribble. Still, we had water and survived.

All in all, a very pleasant 9 nights in comfortable and well presented surroundings. Would not hesitate to recommend to friends or family.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zaccy321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceanroy, Manager at Ocean Royale, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you for your in depth review of Ocean Royale. Your estimate of the buildings age is spot on at 30 , we do strive to maintain the building to the best it can be,and keep it looking clean and shiny.
The staff you did see are the only staff, the management team run everything to do with the building , so thanks for the kind words.
We will check why your water pressure was so erratic, and do apologize for this anomaly.
We look forward to hosting you in the future.
Regards Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Thank you so much for a great weekend away. The unit was clean with amazing ocean views. Staff was super friendly. Great value for your dollar at this place. Just a short walk to cafes and shops and easy transport around the corner to take you straight to the casino (the Lumi Air show was a huge hit). Safe basement parking for the car with easy access to lifts. Both an outdoor pool and an indoor heated pool with spa, and tennis courts you could book which looked in great condition. I highly recommend Ocean Royale!

Room Tip: We stayed in unit 25 on level 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan_and_Erika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceanroy, Manager at Ocean Royale, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Thanks for your wonderful review, glad you had a great weekend away. Now you know were we are we hope to see you back again.
Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed her for a long weekend. LOVED it. Locations dn views are amazing. Apartment was well fitted out and quite spacious really. Very clean, very neat. Even the gardens were lovely. Short walnto lots of restaurants etc. and a wonderfully warm indoor pool (which is great for cold beans like me). You'll love staying here.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AnneM2085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceanroy, Manager at Ocean Royale, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Thanks for your review , we really appreciate you taking the time to write it. Glad you got to enjoy our facilities, especially the heated indoor pool. Always a hit !
Look forward to you returning !
Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed for three nights recently and would definitely go back. So close to the beach as well as restaurants. Great views and facilities within the property. The staff were welcoming and also very helpful. I would absolutely recommend this property to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceanroy, Manager at Ocean Royale, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thanks Jess, appreciate your great review of our Resort. Come back and see us again. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Just had two nights here in a 1 bed apartment. Lovely view, good quality amenities. Close to pac fair and 40 metre walk to the patrolled beach so great location! Will definitely recommend to others as a great value beach getaway!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patrickdrak3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceanroy, Manager at Ocean Royale, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thanks for you nice review, we are glad you enjoyed your short stay with us at Ocean Royale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Broadbeach hotels
0.6 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
0.5 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,511 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pacific Resort Broadbeach
Pacific Resort Broadbeach
#15 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Grande Apartments
La Grande Apartments
#14 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.3 mi away
ULTIQA Beach Haven on Broadbeach
0.6 mi away
Aruba Surf Resort
Aruba Surf Resort
#13 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Royale

Property: Ocean Royale
Address: Ocean Royale 4 Britannia Ave, Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Broadbeach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Royale 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Royale offers both 1 and 2 bedroom fully self contained apartments, overlooking the beach. Easy walking to the Casino, local shopping centre and the light rail. We are across the road from the patrolled beaches of the Gold Coast. Our pools are lovely to relax around and enjoy your BBQ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Ocean Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Royale Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing