We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely palm tree paradise nestled amongst the high rises.”
Review of Aruba Surf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aruba Surf Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Broadbeach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Fabulous one bedroom apartment with view of tropical pool setting from our balcony. Very reasonably priced at less than $90 per night when I rang and asked for their best price.
Our room has separate kitchen with full size oven fridge and dishwasher. Bathroom also has washing machine and dryer. This lovely unit has air con and fans, secure underground parking and gorgeous pool spa and bbq areas. We are only a block from the beach and 3 blocks from the main shopping area.
Only annoying thing is all the steps especially if you have dodgy knees and have to carry all your luggage up/down. Otherwise we have had a wonderful stay here.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ChristineBulmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise M, Manager at Aruba Surf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Christine Thank you for taking the time to review Aruba Surf Resort. Our location is great with all the attractions, shopping, cafes, restaurants and the beach within a short stroll. Staying at Aruba Surf allows you the added value of having a full sized kitchen and laundry facilities within your apartment, so pleased that you enjoyed these features. We are always happy for you to request a ground floor apartment if you wish. Pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return. Kind Regards Denise & Stuart McNeil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Our visit here was made extremely enjoyable and stress free by the manager Denise. She booked all our transfers to and from the airport and themeparks before we arrived and when we had issues with Australia zoo and their transfer service she resolved the issue and got us out money back. She was so helpful and we will definitely be staying there again on our next trip to the Goldcoast and I would recommend them to all my friends and family.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Natasha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise M, Manager at Aruba Surf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Natasha Thank you so much for taking the time to review Aruba Surf Resort. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, you were very busy making the most of your time on the Gold Coast. I am pleased that I could help with your transfers and visits to the theme parks during your stay. It was a shame that you did not manage to see Australia Zoo but great that you received a full refund. It was a pleasure to have you both stay at Aruba Surf Resort and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Broadbeach. Kind Regards Denise & Stuart McNeil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

A wee bit disappointed. Thick carpet on the floor of the unit, never experienced that before on all our trips to the Gold Coast. Good location but were on the 3rd floor, not suitable for someone contemplating knee surgery or with kids or elderly folk as no lift and no offers of assistance for getting luggage up 3 flights. My fault for not asking about a lift.Good carpark. No sharp knife to cut meat or veges, and bathroom smelt musty, shower slow to empty, Balcony looked out to grotty flats next door and no sun in apartment, so quite dark. Ask for front facing unit. Would stay again but in a different apartment and would tell friends as good value.Bed not comfortable and mattress a bit stained.

Room Tip: front facing, 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spendkidsinheritance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise M, Manager at Aruba Surf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Hi I appreciate that you have taken the time to review Aruba Surf Resort. The apartments are individually owned, this 1 apartment is a residential carpet, which is different to all the other apartments at Aruba Surf Resort. We are always clear to point out that Aruba Surf Resort is a 3 storey walk up, however if guests do request a ground floor apartment we accommodate this request. I am sorry that you were not given the options of help with your luggage, we are always here to lend a hand, and unfortunately we were on a breakaway during your stay. It is disappointing that you did not get to enjoy the sun shining on the south side of the building during your stay, I can ensure you that this side of the building does catch the sun during the day. It is a pity that the apartment was not to your standard during your stay as your concerns would have definitely been addressed at the time to ensure your stay was comfortable. I hope next time you will discuss your concerns with us at the time and please note you are more than welcome to make a request on booking. Kind Regards Denise & Stuart McNeil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I have stayed at Aruba Surf Resort three times now. I stay there in February when I go up to Broadbeach for a bridge tournament. It suits me perfectly. Super friendly and efficient service, great swimming pool and spa, beautifully kept gardens, very pleasant and spacious rooms, with good air con and lots of Foxtel channels. Comfortable beds and good kitchen facilities.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise M, Manager at Aruba Surf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Elizabeth Thank you for taking the time to write such lovely comments, it is always a pleasure that you visit Aruba Surf Resort during the Bridge Competitions and we hope to welcome you back next year. Kind Regards Denise & Stuart McNeil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We just wanted a place in Broadbeach for two nights. The only requirements we wanted were central to Broadbeach area, easy walk to the beach, off street parking, 1bedroom with shower etc and a small self contained kitchen, not that we cook on short stays. But handy to have for a cereal/fruit style breakfast, with of course, the essential tea making facilities and microwave for the Wheat Bags. This place had all that and it was quite a pleasant and clean place to stay. We had a ground floor back of the building apartment and this suited us for our short stay. We only sleep in it. Manager and wife very pleasant. Would stay there again for one or two nights. But if you wanted a view of the beach or the mountains then you would need to look elsewhere. I guess it all depends on what you are going to Broadbeach for.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macca46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise M, Manager at Aruba Surf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Hi Thank you for taking the time to review Aruba Surf Resort. We are so pleased with your comment that we had all, our apartments are well equipped, allowing the convenience of cooking, washing however with our location being in the heart of Broadbeach you can still enjoy the restaurants and cafes. We do hope that your return to Aruba Surf Resort on your next visit to Broadbeach. Kind Regards Denise & Stuart McNeil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We needed a place for a couple of nights at New year and Aruba Surf fitted the bill. Most of the decent places in Surfers and Broadbeach have a 3,5 or 7 night minimum and finding one thet would let us stay for just 2 was quite difficult.

Aruba Surf is perfect for a couple of nights and would be quite OK for longer. Our check in was smooth, the lady on reception checked us in and gave us some great advice on where to watch the New Year fireworks.

The car park is very secure but a bit of torture with all the locked gates and key entry to the hotel. Emptying your car takes a military operation.

Our room was on the top floor, being fit and able, this was not a problem but if you struggle with stairs book a room on the ground floor. The room had been recently decorated, it actually had a bit of a paint smell and we noticed masking tape still on some fixtures and the fan in the bedroom had the cover off, which I replaced. The pictures were missing from the walls and we found them in one of the wardrobes. Non of this was a problem, nice to have a very clean room. with what looked like new leather furniture and carpet. We opened the patio door and let the room air for a couple of hours and the smell went away.

We cooked a couple of times in the kitchen, everything worked and seemed quite new. Lots of plates and irons available, no need to bring your own. We used the washer and dryer extensivly during our stay, they worked well and we left with bags full of clean laundry for the rest of our trip.

The Aruba is on a street at 90 degrees to the sea and as such you do not get a true sea view. If you lean out of the balcony, you can just see the sea, "between the land and the sky". We knew this when we booked and it wasn't a problem. We had a room on the back of the hotel, which overlooks some low rise apartments. Not very pretty, if you are bothered about what you can see, ask for a room on the front, which looks out onto the road.

The hotel is situated close to a couple of big supermarkets and shopping centres so you can walk to do your shopping. The area seemed pretty safe, we were out till 2am on New Years Eve and saw no trouble at all.

Perfect stopover for a couple of 40ish travellers on amission.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back overlook other properties. If you don't fancy this, ask for a room on the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark&Nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise M, Manager at Aruba Surf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Mark & Nic It was a pleasure to receive your review advising that you enjoyed your stay at Aruba Surf Resort, how great it was for you both to bring in the New Year in Broadbeach.
I really do apologise if there was a slight paint smell and glad that the fresh air helped solve this problem, we do leave these rooms aired for 48 hours before allowing a guest to stay however as they are so fresh the paint sometimes does linger. They now have a very welcoming warm feel to the apartments.
Thank you for your detailed view on what the apartments have to offer, it is wonderful when you are overseas for a period of time and can still experience the comforts of home with a fully functional kitchen and the facilities to do your laundry with washer and dryer.
We always welcome requests from our guests for apartments that suit their needs whether it be north or south facing apartment, ground or 3rd floor apartments we are more than happy to do our best to accommodate individual request.
We do hope you enjoyed Australia, we do hope that you contact us to stay at Aruba Surf Resort on your next visit to Broadbeach Kind Regards Denise & Stuart McNeil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights and I am very happy with my stay here. Close to 2 shopping centres, Pacific Fair and Oasis, 15 minute bus journey to Surfers' Paradise and and 5 minute walk to a great selection of bars and restaurants in Broadbeach. The decor in the room is a bit 90's Spain but the fox tel in the room was superb as well as the BBQ/pool/spa areas. I know they aren't serviced apartments but I think to provide 1 bin bag for 5 nights stay isn't great but it's a small negative in an otherwise very good stay. The mangers of the apartments were very nice and helpful also.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise M, Manager at Aruba Surf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear John
Thank you for taking the time to review Aruba Surf Resort. It is a great location being able to walk to all the attractions that Broadbeach has to offer which is a great plus when holidaying!! The apartments were getting slightly dated, we have nearly finished a complete refurbishment of the complex and they do look great, it is disappointing that you did not manage to experience this, however it seems the Foxtel was enjoyed we are fortunate that we have a complete Foxtel package for our guests.
We are self-contained apartments, however we do supply rubbish bags free of charge at reception if required.
So pleased you enjoyed your stay and we do hope that on your next visit to Australia you will pop into Aruba Surf to visit. Kind Regards Denise & Stuart McNeil.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadbeach
0.1 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
0.2 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 7 in Broadbeach
3,155 reviews
0.3 mi away
ULTIQA Beach Haven on Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Star Grand at The Star Gold Coast
1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,694 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aruba Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aruba Surf Resort

Address: 20-26 Anne Ave, Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Broadbeach
#5 Family Hotel in Broadbeach
Price Range: £59 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aruba Surf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located Broadbeach holiday apartments within metres of powder white beaches and close to every imaginable facility and entertainment venue Broadbeach has to offer. Just a 5 minute drive or bus ride to the centre of Surfers Paradise. Aruba Surf Resort offers fully self-contained apartments in a sun-drenched tropical garden setting within short walking distance to the Broadbeach Mall, Pacific Fair Shopping Centre, Jupiter's Casino, Dracula's and the Gold Coast Convention Centre and 100m to the patrolled beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aruba Surf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aruba Surf Hotel Broadbeach
Aruba Surf Resort Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing