We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our fourth visit”
Review of Aruba Surf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aruba Surf Resort
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Broadbeach
Woodend, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“our fourth visit”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Excellent location, rooms are excellent with great facilities and are well looked after. Staff are very obliging and friendly. Pool and spa are excellent. Would highly recommend this place as a base to stay during Blues On Broadbeach

Room Tip: we prefer rooms facing Anne Ave
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobsher97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise M, Manager at Aruba Surf Resort, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Aruba Surf Resort, so pleased that you keep returning to Aruba Surf Resort as that can be for the 1 reason that we can offer the services that you require with your accommodation. The Blues on Broadbeach is a amazing event as our location is a short stroll from all the activity it makes it all that more enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back to Aruba Surf Resort on your 5th visit to Broadbeach. Kind Regards Denise & Stuart McNeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    70
    29
    5
    6
See reviews for
40
110
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was our first visit to Aruba Surf and we can't speak highly enough of the accommodation. Such a great location, easy walking distance to all the shopping and activities. The rooms are well equipped and kept clean and tidy. Our hosts Denise and Stuart were incredibly friendly and only too happy to help with any queries we had. We will definitely be staying again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lani01486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise M, Manager at Aruba Surf Resort, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you so much for a great review. Wow it seems that we ticked all the boxes during your stay which is such a great reward. We are situated in a great position in Broadbeach within a short stroll to the cafes restaurants, beach of course the great shopping centres Pacific Fair and Oasis. Our interaction with the guests is what makes us love what we do, so pleased we were welcoming and could be of help to you during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Aruba Surf Resort on your next visit to Broadbeach. Kind Regards Denise & Stuart McNeil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Aruba surf was perfectly central to everything in Broadbeach. All the major tourist spots an restaurants. Hotel nice an clean an management were very friendly an helpful.
Would stay again on next holiday .

Room Tip: There isn't a lift so if unable to walk stairs ask for a ground unit ..rooms were still very nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laci0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise M, Manager at Aruba Surf Resort, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time in leaving a review. It is wonderful to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay. We take such great pleasure in ensuring that we can assist and advise our guests on the sites of Broadbeach. As you mentioned all guests are welcome to request a ground floor apartment on booking and we will always try to accommodate your request. We do hope you return to Aruba Surf Resort on your next visit to Broadbeach. Kind Regards Denise & Stuart McNeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Had some concerns after reading some of the reviews. These were totally unwarranted as I thoroughly enjoyed my weeks stay. Location is excellent close to Oasis shopping centre, the beach and Jupiters Casino where the conference was that I was attending. My room was on the third floor and yes I had to carry my bag up and down the stairs but a small inconvenience.

Loved the spa. Even though Beoadbeach Blues Festival was on during my stay the noise didn't penetrate my room.

Apartment was very clean and had everything I needed to cook meals.

Did bring my own washing powder, detergent etc a there was only a small amount of each supplied.

Would definitely stay again when visiting the Gold Coast.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wattle99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise M, Manager at Aruba Surf Resort, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you so much for reviewing Aruba Surf Resort. We are pleased that you stay was enjoyable, the spa is great way to recharge the batteries after a busy day. The Blues Festival is a great event held yearly at Broadbeach and although a busy event you can come back to your apartment and unwind. We are just a short stroll to the heart of Broadbeach where the cafes shopping and restaurants are situated and of the course the beach at the end of the street always worth a visit. The 3rd floor is great once you have your bags in your room, we are always available to lend a hand if you wish. We would like to welcome you back to Aruba Surf Resort on your next visit to Broadbeach. Kind Regards Denise & Stuart McNeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed at the Aruba Surf early April 2014. It was our forth stay there so I guess that says alot. My wife and I have holidayed on the gold Coast 15 times in the last 10 years so we have had a good look at various properties in the area. The Aruba Surf is just so user friendly. It is affordable for couples or families alike. It is only minutes from the beach or the Oasis Mall where most of the great restaurants are. Also close by are Pacific Fair, Jupiters Casino, Draculas, even the Local tavern.
The rooms are clean and tidy with all appliances supplied. The pool, spa and BBQ area are fanastic and because its a low rise complex there is no wait for lifts.
Finally, the managers are great. Nothing is a problem and all enquiries or requests dealt with very professionally. With so many choices available in Broadbeach the Aruba Surf feels like we are coming home

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkietheSparkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise M, Manager at Aruba Surf Resort, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Der Mark Thank you for taking the time to review Aruba Surf Resort and it seems that you have had some experience with comparing your accommodation on the Gold Coast, we are so pleased that you continue to return to Aruba Surf Resort. We are in such a rewarding position that we have the pleasure to make our guests holiday a great experience that holds wonderful memories. We do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Broadbeach Kind Regards Denise & Stuart McNeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Just came back from holiday with my son, staying at Aruba Surf. After busy fun filled days at the theme parks it was great to come back to such fantastic accommodation. The room was very spacious and comfortable and had everything we needed. Also such a central location with supermarket and fantastic cafés a couple minutes walk away. Hosts Denise and Stuart very friendly and helpful. My son called our room our Australian home. Thanks for helping making our holiday perfect! Megan & Lane

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Megan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise M, Manager at Aruba Surf Resort, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Megan & Lane It is with pleasure that we received your review, thank you for taking the time, we are so please that you and your son had a great holiday. It was great to see a smile on Lane's face everyday and to catch up on his daily activities. We are situated in a great location with easy access to the beach cafes shopping and transport. We do hope that you both come back to visit us at Lane's Australian Home. Kind Regards Denise & Stuart McNeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The over riding memory is of clean stair - well actually deodorised - then realising that when you sat on the couch in the evening that the deodorising was all over the couch - when in fact all the couch needed was a good steam clean.
Overall Unit 11 was tired and need at least a spring clean (rubbish under the table when we arrived). Corners etc, toilet roll holder all need a good clean. The stove tops are very rusty, the outside of the fridge was badly marked and most of the plastic holders inside the fridge door were missing.
The sheets and duvet cover were clean - just that the deodorising penetrated into the bedroom unless you closed the door.
I had phoned 2 weeks before arriving, with a request, for extra milk as we were arriving Easter Good Friday. When we arrived, we found 4 little UHF milks.
Mentioning this at reception next day, I was told we were given 4 (Yeppee) &
we could have put in an 'on line grocery order'. I wasn't told this in the previous phone call. 'Never mind next time' I was told.
The clothes dryer has a fault in the door to start it. The Manager said he would fix it later.
The TV sound kept disappearing - when I mentioned this at the office, there was
an apology followed by a sharp 'these things do happen'. The Manager came straight away - but it continued to happen.
We get the feeling that all problems are fixed when you leave - but never actually fixed, the next person gets them.
Parking is random, no allocated places, a couple of people approached us in the garage to ask, just like we did.
Remember all units have stairs.
The place feels cheap and acts cheap.

Room Tip: Only pick room 11 if you want to be 10 seconds from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bepaElivis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise M, Manager at Aruba Surf Resort, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Brenda & Harry Thank you for your review however your comments do not surprise me as from check in to check out you endeavoured to find problems, it is with regret that we have to accommodate unpleasant guests like yourselves, and it does not matter how much we did for you, you would never be happy with the service received. We take pride in our business and are always available to attend to any issues that could arise during our guests stay.
On advice that the dryer was not working we did attend to this to find that you were not clicking the door shut, the dryer does not work unless door is fully clicked shut, this was the only problem with the dryer. As you mentioned the manager did attend to the problem with the volume on the TV straight away and ensured that Foxtel was working before leaving your apartment, as this was a fault with the Foxtel box, we called Foxtel who have changed the box, however during your stay you had full access to Foxtel.
Parking is not allocated and this is advised on checking in, there is always ample parking for all our guests. We ensured that there was milk in your room on arrival, I gave you information regarding a grocery service for stays on the Gold Coast in the future, as for the rubbish under the table this is a so untrue as I had personally checked your room when I delivered the milk. The elements do have a slight rusting as they are solid hotplates and these do rust due to overspills, I am encouraging the owners to update these to a newer model. We are advertised as a 3 storey walk up, I am confused to why this was a problem for you as you were accommodated on the ground floor.
Your comments are unwarranted and untrue and it is disappointing that have tried to discredit us in this way, however as you can read from our reviews our guests are more than happy with our service and accommodation. Please feel free to pay 5 star prices in the future as we believe we give 5 star service with 3 ½ star tariffs. Regards Denise & Stuart McNeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Broadbeach hotels
0.1 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
0.2 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,674 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santa Anne By the Sea
Santa Anne By the Sea
#15 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pacific Resort Broadbeach
Pacific Resort Broadbeach
#16 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Star Gold Coast
The Star Gold Coast
#8 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Royale
Ocean Royale
#17 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aruba Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aruba Surf Resort

Property: Aruba Surf Resort
Address: Arubra Surf 20-26 Anne Ave, Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Broadbeach
#7 Family Hotel in Broadbeach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Broadbeach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aruba Surf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located Broadbeach holiday apartments within metres of powder white beaches and close to every imaginable facility and entertainment venue Broadbeach has to offer. Just a 5 minute drive or bus ride to the centre of Surfers Paradise. Aruba Surf Resort offers fully self-contained apartments in a sun-drenched tropical garden setting within short walking distance to the Broadbeach Mall, Pacific Fair Shopping Centre, Jupiter's Casino, Dracula's and the Gold Coast Convention Centre and 100m to the patrolled beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aruba Surf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aruba Surf Hotel Broadbeach
Aruba Surf Resort Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing