We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location , Great Owners .”
Review of Aruba Sands Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aruba Sands Resort
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at Aruba Sands. The location is brilliant with only a short walk to Pacific Fair , Jupiters , Beach , Surf Club & Restaraunts . Barbara & Bruce ( the owners ) are extremley obliging and go out of there way to make your stay as comfortable and as pleasant as possible . Our unit was very clean and tidy and well equipped. It was also very quiet considering how close it is all the great amenities. We would definitly recommend this resort to anyone

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharon a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara K, Owner at Aruba Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

We thank you for posting a review on your stay and are very pleased that you had a lovely time and also enjoyed your apartment and location. We value the feedback that we get from our guests and do hope that we may see you some time in the future.
Barbara & Bruce Keane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2013

The location of Aruba Sands is superb, only a short walk to Pacific Fair and Crown. Owners are extremely friendly, however on arrival we noticed a cigarette smell in the entranve and though the units were functional they seemed not to be properly cleaned. It was also very noisy. But overall, we didn't spend much time at the apartment so the location really was a big plus.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurenkate12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara K, Owner at Aruba Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a Review. It is a shame that you did not come and advise us of what the problem was with the Unit and we could of seen it first hand and rectified the matter immediately, as we say we would not put anyone in an apartment that we would not stay in ourselves. As regards the smoking issue - we are a non-smoking complex and try and monitor if anyone smokes in the stairwells - we can assure they do not smoke in their units as we would know and they would be charged accordingly and this has not happened for years, once again it was a shame that you did not bring this to our attention. Yes we totally agree it is a great location everything at your finger tips and that is why so many people come back to stay.
Barbara & Bruce Keane - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Avoid units 35a & 35b.
After paying nearly $1000 for 5 nights we were really underwhelmed by the conditions we found at Aruba Sands. Even though we were assured the floors had been vacuumed they were dirty. My wife and I slept poorly on the most uncomfortable mattress we have ever encountered. Every morning we awoke tired with sore backs. Showering was impossible with faulty taps in our bathroom. Even a visit from a local plumber failed to rectify the problem during our stay. Dated worn furniture , broken door locks and general lack of maintenance ensured value for money is not met.
We are not smokers and therefore struggled with the constant smell of cigarette smoke ever present outside our entry door.
Unfortunately, complaints were met with denials without solutions.
The location is great but for the price you would be better off elsewhere!
Won't be back !!!

Room Tip: Choose a room at another resort .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara K, Owner at Aruba Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

We are are not surprised by this Review as we were told on checkout that he would have the last say and are pleased now to advise our side of this Review. This was a family of 5 staying in a split level apartment that we have never ever had a complaint about before and if Kearney was being truthful this Review all come about by at least 16 of their friends were staying across the road in apartments that did not have a Spa Pool or heated swimming pool and they thought that they could come to our place and use our Kearney mentioned if he was there with them why couldnt they and it was explained to him that it was only for our Paying Guests and from there on in the complaints come - 2 days after their checkin. As regards the moneys paid for 5 people for 5 nights $190.00 per night - $38.00 per person per night which is not excessive for 2 lots of air con, 2 lots of cable tv in a split level apartment. There was according to the guest a problem with the hot water (not the taps as he has mentioned) Origin were here in less than an hour to check it out and found nothing wrong. Beds are peoples own preference and we realise this - we did offer a foam egg shell to put on the bed but it was refused so if it was as bad as mentioned why would one not use it. Smoke at the entrance doors - people are allowed to smoke outside the complex and if this had been an issue we are sure that we would have heard about it before now. There is no smoking in stairwells or apartments. All our apartments are cleaned and checked by Management and we could not see a problem with the carpet although we offered to run the vac over it again if they wanted - this was refused. They wanted supplied with a vac which was done straight away. The broke door lock - yes this was mentioned on checkout as being the toilet door - we have since checked it and cannot see a problem.
We are proud to say that we have many repeat guests that come to Aruba and have made a lot of good friendships from their stays and everyone can see from the reviews that the good ones out do the bad ones. We have over the past 9 years realize that there is always a reason for everything and we are more than happy to take the good with the bad when it is due, but in this case we feel it is not.
Barbara & Bruce Keane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I stayed with my 3 year old daughter for two nights over a long week-end. Barbara and Bruce were very accommodating, I was worried about my little one on a high floor and at my request they organised a ground floor unit. Everything was clean, fresh, and comfortable, we settled in right away and wish we could have stayed on....thanks so much :)

Room Tip: If you're worried about stairs or young children on high balconies, request ground floor apartme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charls73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara K, Owner at Aruba Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, yes we have found in the past if you have a young family the lower levels are better all around and the north facing units do have a larger balcony for the children which is safe. We hope to see you some time in the future.
Barbara & Bruce Keane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Can not fault the location, we were able to walk everywhere! The mall, beach, casino and lots of great cafe's and restaurants.
We stayed 4 nights and stayed up on the top floor, please be aware there are lots of steps. But on the up side great exercise to burn off all the holiday food. We found it nice and quite here.
There is a pool but didn't get a chance to use it.
The room was tidy but did find we had to rewash the glasses and cutlery. Does have laundry facilities which is a great extra for longer stays.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara K, Manager at Aruba Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

We are sorry to hear that you had a problem with the glasses/cutlery, you should have let us know in reception and we could have attend to the problem for you immediately. We have spoken to our housekeeping about this and advise that all units are checked before new guests arrive after they have been cleaned - so this must have slipped past our quality control and we apologize for this.
We have just mentioned in the previous review that it can be a problem for some guests who are unaware that we do not have a lift and are more than happy to place people on their preferred level if they have requested same.
We totally agree such a great location and so many cafes, bars and shopping options right here within a five minute walk.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we may see you some time in the future
Barbara & Bruce Keane - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in January 2013 and loved it. We were on a budget as it was a last minute trip away and this resort was very affordable. We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment on the first floor and the room was very big. There was everything in this room from a washing machine, dryer, very well equipped kitchen, dinning table, air-con and fans. There is free secure undercover parking but no lift which wasn't a problem as we were on the 1st level. The grounds and pool/spa area were very clean. The location was amazing for the price of a room in this resort, right near a beach, shops, restaurants, bars, shopping center, casino, Draculas ,bus stops and more. I have and will keep recommending this resort to anyone heading to the gold coast for a holiday.

Room Tip: We stay on the first floor in a room facing the beach way which was great as there is no lift so we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amanda19jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara K, Manager at Aruba Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and yes if you are not familiar with our Resort we are a three story WALKUP which some times can be a problem if you are on the Top Level and are unaware that we have no lifts. The apartments we also think are very spacious and the location is just wonderful close to everything that you require.
We do thank you for spreading the word about our Resort and hope to see you some time again in the future, and if so let us know if you have a preference as to what level you would like to be.
Barbara & Bruce Keane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Once again I tied the horse up out front of this great little resort. Not as busy as the big apartment buildings and Barb always welcomes you back, unlike the big apartment buildings. I just find it more relaxing here without the busy roads and people around.

I am always put up on the third floor (Thanks Barb). This seems to block a lot of the passing noise which is good. Bed was great and room was neat. Well worth the stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara K, Owner at Aruba Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post another review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we do try to ensure that all guests get their preferred location of Apartment - so many of our repeat guests have preferences where they want to be and we find this wonderful as it clearly states that they like the place. Hope to see you again some time in the future.
Barbara & Bruce Keane - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Broadbeach hotels
0.1 mi away
Aruba Surf Resort
Aruba Surf Resort
#5 of 7 in Broadbeach
214 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Grande Apartments
La Grande Apartments
#6 of 7 in Broadbeach
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
0.1 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 7 in Broadbeach
3,276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aruba Beach Resort
Aruba Beach Resort
#22 of 51 in Broadbeach
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aruba Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aruba Sands Resort

Address: 11 - 17 Philip Ave, Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Broadbeach
Price Range: £51 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aruba Sands Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Aruba Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aruba Sands Resort Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing